Skip to Top Main Navigation Skip to Left Navigation Skip to Content Area Skip to Footer
Texas Department of Insurance
Topics:   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All

Review Requirements Checklist – Commercial Multi-Peril

Updated 11/16/2021 - Return to Index

Refer to Property & Casualty Filings Made Easy for required documentation.

Forms

Filing Standards
Review requirements Reference Comments
Policy Forms and Endorsements Chapter 2301.001(2),  Insurance Code Policy forms and endorsements may not be unjust, unfair, inequitable, misleading or deceptive.
Prior Approval Chapter 2301, Subchapter A,  Insurance Code An insurance policy form or endorsement may not be delivered or issued for delivery in this state unless the form has been filed with and approved by the commissioner. Each filing shall be made not later than the 60th day before the date of any use or delivery for use.
Large Risk Exemption §2301.004, Insurance Code Policy forms for use with large risks are exempt from filing for prior approval if the forms are to be used with a "large risk". "Large Risk" is defined as an insured that has total insured property values of $5 million or more; an insured that has total annual gross revenues of $10 million or more; or an insured that has a total premium of $25,000 or more for property insurance, $25,000 or more for general liability insurance, or $50,000 or more for multiperil insurance.
Disapproval of Forms; Withdrawal of Approval §2301.007, Insurance Code The commissioner may disapprove a form filed under §2301.006 or withdraw approval of a form if the form (1) violates any law, including a rule adopted under the Texas Insurance Code, or (2) contains a provision or has a title or heading that is unjust or deceptive, encourages misrepresentation, or violates public policy.
Review Requirements
Review requirements Reference Comments
Review Requirements   Requirements follow those requirements found in the corresponding mono line checklists. Please refer to these checklists for details.
Vendors' Single Interest and Lenders Collateral Protection Chapter 2301, Subchapter A, Insurance Code If the Vendors' Single Interest includes automobiles and watercraft (a nonregulated Inland Marine class), this must be filed as Commercial Multi-Peril. The same would apply if, as an example, Vendors' Single Interest is combined with Lenders Collateral Protection.
Cancellation & Nonrenewal
Review requirements Reference Comments
Cancellation & Nonrenewal of Certain Liability Insurance Coverage §§551.051-551.055 and §551.004, Insurance Code Cancellation and nonrenewal of certain liability insurance policies.
Voiding Coverage Chapter 705, Subchapter A, Insurance Code "Void Coverage" language must comply with Chapter 705, Subchapter A, and the misrepresentation must be material
Toll Free Information
Review requirements Reference Comments
Notice of Policyholder Complaint Procedures §521.005, Insurance Code A brief written notice of suggested procedure to be followed by the policyholder in the event of a dispute concerning a policyholder's claim or premium.
Toll-Free Information & Complaint Number §§521.051 - 521.056, Insurance Code Toll-Free number for the Texas Department of Insurance.
Insurer's Toll-Free Information & Complaint Number §§521.101 - 521.103, Insurance Code Insurer's requirement to maintain toll-free number to provide information concerning policies issued by the insurer and to accept complaints from policyholder. Article contains an exception for insurers whose gross initial premium receipts collected in this state are less than $2 million a year or to an insurer with regard to fidelity, surety, or guaranty bonds.
Notice of Toll-Free Telephone Numbers and Information & Complaint Procedures 28 TAC §1.601 & §1.602, Texas Administrative Code and Commissioner's Order 3952 To satisfy requirements for §521.005, §§521.051 - 521.056, and §§521.101 - 521.103 noted above.
Rebating or Discrimination
Review requirements Reference Comments
Indicates new addition since last update. Political Affiliation and Expression Chapter 544, Subchapter M, Insurance Code Except as provided by Section 544.603, a person may not refuse to insure or provide coverage to an individual, refuse to continue to insure or provide coverage to an individual, limit the amount, extent, or kind of coverage available for an individual, or charge an individual a rate that is different from the rate charged to other individuals for the same coverage because of the individual's political affiliation or expression.

Rates

Filing Standards
Review requirements Reference Comments
File & Use With Exception and Multi-Peril Policies Defined, Filing Requirements Chapter 2251, Insurance Code and
28 TAC §, Texas Administrative Code
Each insurer shall file with the Commissioner all rates, supplementary rating information, and reasonable and pertinent supporting information for risks written in this state. Exception: Lloyds or reciprocals may qualify to make reduced, informational filings under provisions in §5.5101.

Rules

Filing Standards
Review requirements Reference Comments
File & Use Chapter 2301 & Chapter 2251, Insurance Code Manual rules should reflect specific requirements for usage of policy forms, endorsements, and disclosures.

Fees

Filing Standards
Review requirements Reference Comments
Fees for Paper Checks Prohibited §116.002, Business and Commerce Code An insurer or agent may not charge a fee for issuing payment via a paper check.

For more information, contact: PropertyCasualty@tdi.texas.gov

Last updated: 7/2/2024