Skip to Top Main Navigation Skip to Content Area Skip to Footer
Texas Department of Insurance
Topics:   A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z All

Life insurance not exceeding $25,000

Apply for a license

Training and exam

  • You must take a five-hour training class and take and pass an exam through the life insurance company that you will work for (appointing company).
  • You do not need to take an exam if your license has been expired for more than 90 days, but less than one year.

Fingerprint background check

  • Most people who apply for a license must: (1) get a fingerprint background check from IdentoGO, and (2) send us a copy of the IdentoGO receipt showing that their fingerprints were sent to the Texas Department of Public Safety.
  • Some people can ask for an exemption from getting a fingerprint background check. To learn more, see the Texas Administrative Code.
  • You do not need to get a fingerprint background check if:
    • You live in Texas and (1) have an active license or registration with us, and (2) have already submitted fingerprints.
    • You don’t live in Texas, but do hold an active resident license in your home state. If you don’t, you must send one of the following with your application:
      • Your criminal history record from your state’s law enforcement agency, or
      • Your current Certificate of Good Standing from your state.
  • To receive your fingerprint service code and instructions, you must begin the application process on TDI’s online initial application and fingerprint portal.
  • To learn more, read the fingerprinting requirements and instructions.

Application: resident agent or agency

  • To apply for an agent license:
    • You must pass the licensing exam given by the life insurance company you will work for (appointing company) before you apply. If you apply before passing the exam, you will need to: (1) submit a new application after you pass the exam, and (2) pay the application fee again.
    • Complete your fingerprints. Go to TDI's online initial application and fingerprint portal to begin.
    • Use the Sircon website to apply.
    • The application fee is $50.
  • To apply for an agency license:
    • Apply online by using the Sircon website. Review the following tutorial before starting the application process.
      Resident life not exceeding $25k entity application (PDF)
    • The application fee is $50.
    • To complete your application, you must provide information for:
      • A Texas DRLP (designated responsible licensed producer): at least one officer or active partner who holds a Texas insurance license with the same or greater authority.
      • All executive officers, directors, or partners who administer the agency’s operations in Texas.
      • All individuals and entities in control of the agency’s operations.
      • Registration with Texas Secretary of State.
      • Proof of financial responsibility: a bond or an Errors & Omissions policy. Go to Proof of financial responsibility for important details.
      • Fingerprints for non-licensed officers, directors, etc. Go to Fingerprint background check for more information.
      • Limited partnerships and limited liability partnerships must provide a copy of your partnership agreement.
      • If using a DBA, be sure to include a copy of your certified Articles of Incorporation or Articles of Organization and include all amendments.

Questions? Call us at 512-676-6500 or email License@tdi.texas.gov.

Non-resident license

An active Life insurance not exceeding $25k license in good standing in your resident / home state is required to apply for a Texas non-resident license.

  • For an agent license:
    • Apply online by using the Sircon website
    • The application fee is $50.
  • For an agency license:
    • Apply online by using the Sircon website
    • The application fee is $50.
    • To complete your application, you must provide information for:
      • A Texas DRLP (designated responsible licensed producer): at least one officer or active partner who holds a Texas insurance license with the same or greater authority.
      • All executive officers, directors, or partners who administer the agency’s operations in Texas.
      • All individuals and entities in control of the agency’s operations.
      • Limited partnerships and limited liability partnerships must provide a copy of your partnership agreement.
      • If using a DBA, be sure to include a copy of your certified Articles of Incorporation or Articles of Organization and include all amendments.

Questions? Call us at 512-676-6500 or email License@tdi.texas.gov.

Temporary license

  • A one-time 180-day temporary license is offered for a life insurance not exceeding $25,000 license. This license is issued only once and can’t be renewed.
  • The application fee is $150. This provides you with both a temporary and a permanent license application.
  • Apply by using the Sircon website. You must scan and attach the Appointment certification for a temporary license (Form FIN700) to the Sircon application.
    • The agent, insurance company, or agency that you will work for (sponsor) must complete the Appointment certification for a temporary license (Form FIN700).
    • By signing the appointment certification form, the sponsor confirms that:
      • You are being considered for appointment as a full-time agent.
      • They would like you to have a temporary license.
      • They will supervise your training.
  • You must take at least 40 hours of training and it must:
    • Be given by the appointing company.
    • Take place no later than the 30th day after the following are delivered or mailed to us: (1) the application, (2) application fee, and (3) certificate from the appointing company.
  • If you have a temporary license and you want a permanent license:
    • You must pass the exam given by the company you will work for (appointing company) within the 180 days your license is active.
    • You must send us proof that you passed the exam by: (1) uploading it into the Sircon website, and (2) sending an email to Applications@tdi.texas.gov that tells us you passed the exam. If you don’t upload proof and send an email that you passed that exam within those 180 days, you must submit a new application and pay the application fee.
    • You don’t need to submit a new application for the permanent license if you submit your proof of passing the exam before your temporary license expires.
  • Only one temporary license will be issued to you. You can’t renew or apply for another temporary license.

Emergency license

An emergency license is not available for a life insurance not exceeding $25,000 license.

Provisional permit

A provisional permit is not offered for a life insurance not exceeding $25,000 license.

Laws: Texas Insurance Code

Laws about the life insurance not exceeding $25,000 license can be found in the Texas Insurance Code, section  4054.201.

Question? Email us at license@tdi.texas.gov.

Last updated: 7/1/2024