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December 1, 2020 
 

The Honorable Greg Abbott, Governor 
The Honorable Dan Patrick, Lieutenant Governor  
The Honorable Dennis Bonnen, Speaker of the House 
 
Dear Governors and Speaker: 

In accordance with Texas Labor Code §402.066, I am pleased to submit the Texas Department of 
Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation's biennial report to the 87th Texas Legislature. This 
report provides an update on the Texas workers' compensation system and a brief description of 
two legislative recommendations that I believe will improve the state’s ability to effectively and 
efficiently regulate the workers' compensation system. 

I am available to discuss any of the issues contained in the report and to provide you with technical 
assistance. Please contact Jeff Nelson, Director of External Relations, at 512-804-4405 if you have 
any questions or need any additional information. Thank you for your consideration. 
 
Sincerely, 
 

 
Cassie Brown 

Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation 
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1. Introduction  
This year brought about many unexpected 
events. The emergence of the novel coronavirus 
(COVID-19) disrupted lives, affected businesses 
and the economy, and created new concerns 
about workplace safety and medical care. As 
businesses reopen or remain open, employers 
have continuing concerns about liability if their 
employees or customers become sick. 
Employees have concerns about whether they 
will still have jobs, and if they get sick, whether 
they will have access to medical care and wage 
replacement benefits. The workers’ 
compensation community is also dealing with 
new challenges from COVID-19. Many are 
handling claims operations remotely and trying 
to answer questions about whether COVID-19 is 
an occupational disease or not.   
 
As the regulator and administrator of the Texas 
workers’ compensation system, the Texas 
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ 
Compensation (DWC) also made changes to its 
operations as a result of this pandemic. These 
changes include:  
• creating a COVID-19 resource page on its 

website with information and frequently 
asked questions tailored toward injured 
employees, health care providers, insurance 
carriers, and employers; 

• automating several business operations to 
reduce physical mail coming into the agency; 

• implementing an agency telecommuting 
plan for staff and using existing software to 
allow staff to continue to work, meet, and 
provide customer service virtually;  

• holding virtual meetings with health care 
provider groups, insurance carriers, and 
injured employee representatives to discuss 
changes to agency operations and answer 
questions about workers’ compensation and COVID-19; 

• moving all DWC dispute proceedings to a remote format (virtual or telephonic) to allow parties 

Key Findings: 
 
Workers’ Compensation Insurance Market: 
Since 2003, workers’ compensation insurance rates 
have dropped nearly 72 percent, while insurance 
companies writing in Texas averaged a 10 percent 
return on net worth. 
 
Employer Participation: 71 percent of Texas 
private-sector employers have workers’ 
compensation coverage and they employ about 81 
percent of the Texas workforce. 
    
Injury Rates and Claims: The non-fatal injury and 
occupational illness rate is down 42 percent from 
2005, but COVID-19 resulted in an increase in the 
total number of claims filed since 2019. 
 
Medical Costs: Texas’ cost per claim with 12 
months maturity is about 24 percent less than the 
median cost of the 18 states analyzed.  
 
Access to Care: Today on average, injured 
employees are waiting half as long to get their first 
non-emergency medical visit as they did in 2011. 
 
Return to Work: More injured employees 
receiving income benefits are getting back to work 
within six months - 83 percent compared to 74 
percent in 2004. 
 
Dispute Resolution: About 92 percent of claims 
are handled without the need for dispute 
resolution with DWC. Medical and indemnity 
disputes have declined significantly since 2005. 
 
COVID-19: Initial data call results show that only 
about 35 percent of COVID-19 claims filed resulted 
in a positive test or diagnosis. 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc
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to continue to move their claim disputes through the process while respecting social distancing; 
• filing an emergency rule to expand the use of telemedicine for physical and occupational 

rehabilitation services; 
• providing Texas employers and employees with virtual workplace safety consultations and 

trainings, including OSHA 10-hour and 30-hour construction training; 
• providing designated doctors with online certification training and webinars; 
• issuing a data call to workers’ compensation insurance carriers with the highest number of 

COVID-19 related claims in order to provide the legislature with a better understanding of the 
impact to the system; 

• pausing orders for injured employees to attend non-medically necessary examinations on issues 
such as impairment ratings, extent of injury, return to work, and disability in order to keep injured 
employees and staff safe, conserve personal protective equipment, and reduce the strain on 
health care providers during COVID-19; and 

• issuing several bulletins and memos with approval from the Governor’s office to waive or 
temporarily suspend certain statutory and regulatory requirements. Among these were 
requirements that restricted first responders from obtaining benefits if certain conditions were 
not met, work-search requirements for injured employees, certain medical billing requirements 
for health care providers, and training and testing requirements for designated doctors.  

 
Before the pandemic, the Texas workers’ compensation system had experienced 15 consistent years 
of positive trends and stability since House Bill (HB) 7 passed in 2005, including lower injury and 
insurance rates, fewer claims filed, lower medical costs, improved access to medical care, fewer 
disputes, and improved return-to-work rates for injured employees. Texas has been an innovative 
state for workers’ compensation administration, adopting best practices from other health care 
delivery systems like evidence-based treatment guidelines, pharmacy formularies, standardized 
billing and utilization review requirements, network certification, and medical data collection. As a 
result, other state workers’ compensation systems often look to Texas as a model.  
 
Looking ahead, DWC’s focus for the next two years is to continue efforts to improve automation and 
administrative efficiencies for both DWC and system stakeholders. This means evaluating changes 
the agency made during the pandemic to increase electronic transmission of information, streamline 
internal business processes, and eliminate outdated and unnecessary regulatory requirements, and 
making these changes permanent.   
 
Going into the 87th legislative session, DWC notes that while COVID-19 will be a focus for workers’ 
compensation legislation, this report presents system trends that allow DWC, policymakers, and 
system stakeholders to gauge the relative health of the Texas workers’ compensation system and 
consider whether additional legislative changes are necessary.  

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc
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2. Declining Insurance Rates and Premiums Make Coverage 
More Affordable for Texas Employers 
 
One measure of a successful workers’ compensation system is that employers have access to 
affordable workers’ compensation insurance to cover their employees. This concept is even more 
important in Texas since workers’ compensation insurance coverage is voluntary for private 
employers. The Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) Property and Casualty Actuarial Office 
monitors insurance rate filings and reports workers’ compensation insurance metrics as part of a 
biennial report to the Texas Legislature on the impact of the 2005 legislative reforms on insurance 
rates and premiums.1  In 2019, 312 insurance companies wrote workers’ compensation insurance in 
Texas, and the total direct written premium (the growth of an insurance company’s business during 
a given period) for the state’s workers’ compensation insurance market was about $2.5 billion. The 
top 10 insurance company groups write about 76 percent of the market. The top writer, Texas 
Mutual Insurance Company, currently has 42 percent of the market and serves as the insurer of last 
resort. 
 
Texas continues to have a healthy workers’ compensation 
insurance market, which encourages competition from 
insurance companies and allows employers to purchase 
workers’ compensation coverage at affordable rates. One 
important measure of market health is the size of the residual 
market (policies written by the insurer of last resort). In 2019, 
the residual market represented only about 0.44 percent of 
the Texas workers’ compensation insurance market.  
 
Overall, the last decade has been very profitable for insurance companies writing workers’ 
compensation insurance in Texas. In 2019, the projected accident year combined ratio for workers’ 
compensation in Texas was 98 percent.2  This means that for every dollar an insurance company 
collects, it will pay an estimated 98 cents to cover losses and expenses and keep the remainder as 
profit. Figure 1 shows the projected workers’ compensation loss ratio and the combined ratio for 
the last decade. Insurance companies writing in Texas also averaged a 10 percent return on net 
worth (net income after taxes to net worth) over the last decade, which outperforms the national 
average of 7.4 percent. 
 
 
 

 
 
1 For more information on the effect of the reforms on the workers’ compensation insurance market, see Texas Department of Insurance, 
Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group’s, Setting the Standard: An Analysis of the Impact of the 2005 Legislative Reforms 
on the Texas Workers’ Compensation System, 2020 Results. 
2 Two important measures of the market’s financial health are the loss ratio and the combined ratio. The loss ratio is the relationship between 
premium collected and the losses incurred (amounts already paid out plus those amounts set aside to cover future payments) by insurance 
companies. The combined ratio is similar, except it compares premiums collected with the losses and expenses incurred by the insurance 
company. 

 
Since 2003, workers’
compensation insurance 
rates have dropped 
nearly 72 percent. 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc
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Figure 1: Projected Ultimate Calendar Year/Accident Year Loss and Combined Ratios 

Sources: National Council on Compensation Insurance’s (NCCI) Texas - State Advisory Forums; NCCI’s Texas Financial Call; TDI’s 
compilation of the Insurance Expense Exhibit for Calendar Years Ending December 31, 2010-2018. Losses are developed to ultimate 
using the loss development factors from the NCCI Annual Statistical Bulletin, 2020 edition. 
 
 
Texas employers have also seen insurance rates decline significantly over time, making insurance 
coverage more affordable. Since 2003, workers’ compensation insurance rates have dropped nearly 
72 percent. While insurance rates have continued to decline in the last decade, these rates are just 
the start of the workers’ compensation insurance pricing process. What employers pay – the 
insurance premium – reflects not only rates, but also mandated rating programs, such as experience 

ratings and premium discounts, as well as optional rating 
tools, such as schedule rating plans and negotiated 
experience modifiers.  
 
Figure 2 shows the average premium per $100 of payroll 
for policy years 2003-2018, reflecting year-to-year 
changes in premiums charged. Beginning with policy 

year    2004, the average premium per $100 of payroll began to decrease steadily as insurance 
companies lowered rates and increased the use of optional rating tools. As of policy year 2018, the 
average premium per $100 of payroll decreased to 63 cents – a 73 percent reduction since 2003. 
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Since 2003, average workers’
compensation premium costs 
per $100 of payroll declined 
about 73 percent. 
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Figure 2: Average Premium Per $100 of Payroll by Policy Year 

Source: NCCI’s Texas Financial Call and data compiled by NCCI, 2020. 

 
3. Employer Participation Rates and Employee Coverage Rates 
Remain Stable in 2020  
 
Texas is the only state that permits private-sector employers (regardless of employer size or industry) 
the option of not obtaining workers’ compensation coverage for their employees or purchasing 
alternate insurance.3 Employers who choose not to have workers’ compensation coverage (referred 
to as non-subscribers) lose the protection of statutory limits on liability and may be sued for 
negligence by their injured employees. 
 
Non-subscription rates remain an important performance measure in the workers’ compensation 

system because, in most cases, they show whether 
employers believe the benefits of participating in the 
workers’ compensation system outweigh the costs of 
obtaining the coverage.4 Overall, the percentage of 
year-round, non-subscribing, private-sector Texas 
employers has declined significantly since the 2005 
legislative reforms (from 38 percent in 2004 to 29 
percent in 2020) due primarily to lower insurance 
premiums and the increased availability of workers’ 

 
 
3 Labor Code §406.096 requires building and construction contractors who enter contracts with governmental entities to provide 
workers’ compensation coverage to their employees. 
4 Since 1993, the Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group (and its predecessor) has monitored employer participation in 
the Texas workers’ compensation system through a biennial survey of Texas employers using unemployment insurance data collected 
by the Texas Workforce Commission. In 2020, the employer survey took place during the COVID-19 pandemic. Readers are cautioned 
to keep the timing of the survey in mind when interpreting the results. 
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About 71 percent of private, year-
round employers have workers’
compensation, and they employ 
about 81 percent of the private 
workforce in Texas. 
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compensation health care networks. Employer non-subscription rates remained essentially flat from 
2018 to 2020, from 28 percent to 29 percent of Texas employers. In 2020, an estimated 117,624 
private-sector employers do not have workers’ compensation coverage, and they employ 
approximately 2.1 million private-sector employees. About 283,437 private-sector employers do 
have workers’ compensation coverage, and they employ approximately 9 million private-sector 
employees. 
 
Although employer non-subscription rates have declined over time, the percentage of Texas 
employees who work for non-subscribers has not declined at the same rate. In 2004, an estimated 
24 percent of private-sector employees worked for non-subscribing employers, compared to 19 
percent in 2020 (see Figure 3). This is the result of a continuing trend of larger employers (i.e., 500+ 
employees) becoming non-subscribers despite large workers’ compensation insurance rate 
reductions since 2005. 
 

Figure 3: Percentage of Texas Employers That Are Non-Subscribers and the 
Percentage of Texas Employees That Are Employed by Non-Subscribers 

Source: Survey of Employer Participation in the Texas Workers’ Compensation System, 1993 and 1995 estimates from the Texas Workers’ 
Compensation Research Center and the Public Policy Research Institute (PPRI) at Texas A&M University; 1996 and 2001 estimates from 
the Research and Oversight Council on Workers’ Compensation and PPRI; and 2004-2020 estimates from the Texas Department of 
Insurance, Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group and PPRI. 
 
Historically, smaller employers have had the highest non-subscription rates since these employers 
tend to have fewer resources to purchase workers’ compensation coverage for their employees (see 
Table 1).  However, about one out of every five large employers (i.e., employers with 500+ 
employees) are non-subscribers, despite the cost of workers’ compensation coverage significantly 
declining since 2005.   
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Although non-subscribing employers have opted not to provide workers’ compensation coverage 
to their employees, some of these employers (about 37 percent in 2020) provide an alternative 
occupational benefit plan for their employees in case of a work-related injury. Because larger 
employers tend to provide occupational benefits to employees compared to smaller employers, an 
estimated 59 percent of employees who work for non-subscribing employers were covered by an 
alternative occupational benefits plan in 2020. It is important to note that these non-subscriber 
benefit plans are not regulated by DWC and the benefits offered in these plans vary by employer. 
Overall, an estimated 878,000 private-sector employees in Texas do not have any employer 
coverage in the case of a work-related injury in Texas in 2020 - an increase from about 638,000 
employees in 2018. 
 

Table 1: Percentage of Texas Employers That Are Non-Subscribers 
by Employment Size 

Source: Survey of Employer Participation in the Texas Workers’ Compensation System, 1995 estimates from the Texas Workers’ 
Compensation Research Center and the Public Policy Research Institute (PPRI) at Texas A&M University; 1996 and 2001 estimates from 
the Research and Oversight Council on Workers’ Compensation and PPRI; and 2004-2020 estimates from the Texas Department of 
Insurance, Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group and PPRI. 
 

4. Compliance Efforts Regarding Reporting Requirements for 
Non-Subscribing Employers 
 
Although non-subscriber benefit programs are not regulated by DWC, non-subscribers are still 
subject to certain reporting requirements under the Labor Code and DWC rules. Non-subscribers 
must file a notice annually with DWC that they have elected not to obtain workers’ compensation 
coverage (DWC Form-005, Employer Notice of No Coverage or Termination of Coverage). Non-
subscribers that employ at least five employees must also file a notice with DWC (DWC Form-007, 
Employer's Report of Non‐Covered Employee's Occupational Injury or Disease) for each occupational 
disease and on-the-job injury that results in more than one day of lost time. Failure to follow these 
reporting requirements may result in enforcement action and administrative penalties. 
 
In 2007, the 80th Texas Legislature added an appropriation rider to TDI’s budget that requires DWC 
to submit, as part of its biennial report to the legislature, a report on the compliance of non-
subscribing employers that includes any administrative penalties levied against employers that do 

Employment Size 1995 1996 2001 2004 2006 2008 2010 2012 2014 2016 2018 2020 

1-4 Employees 55% 44% 47% 46% 43% 40% 41% 41% 43% 31% 36% 40% 

5-9 Employees 37% 39% 29% 37% 36% 31% 30% 29% 27% 19% 27% 21% 

10-49 Employees 28% 28% 19% 25% 26% 23% 20% 19% 21% 10% 16% 16% 

50-99 Employees 24% 23% 16% 20% 19% 18% 16% 19% 18% 10% 10%   9% 

100-499 Employees 20% 17% 13% 16% 17% 16% 13% 12% 14% 11% 10% 10% 

500+ Employees 18% 14% 14% 20% 21% 26% 15% 17% 19% 19% 20% 22% 
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not comply. Historically, DWC receives very few complaints about non-subscriber compliance. 
Since 2009, internal DWC monitoring efforts have generated most of the 2,859 complaints reported. 
These internal complaints resulted in more than 473 warning letters and about $93,000 in penalties 
for non-subscribers that failed to respond to requests or file required forms. In the absence of 
complaints from system participants, it is difficult to identify non-complying employers because 
the policy and employer data submitted to DWC and other state agencies is often incomplete. As 
a result, it is difficult for DWC to identify individual employers that may be non-subscribers using 
existing data and to verify reporting compliance for these employers. 
 
In an effort to increase knowledge of and compliance with employer reporting requirements, DWC 
reorganized its employer resources website to help employers better locate pertinent workers’ 
compensation and non-subscription information, automated the DWC Form-005 to make it easier 
for employers to report non-coverage to DWC, and created video tutorials to help employers fill 
out the required forms and answer frequently asked questions. 
 
In 2016 and 2017, DWC provided a grace period for non-subscribers in an effort to increase 
employer reporting compliance, and this effort increased the number of DWC Form-005 filings with 
DWC. When DWC did not provide a grace period to employers in 2018, DWC Form-005 filings 
dropped (see Figure 4). Despite these efforts to increase employer education and compliance, 
overall non-subscriber reporting compliance remains low and has declined since 2016. DWC 
estimates that about 12 percent of non-subscribers complied with the DWC Form-005 filing 
requirement in 2020, compared to an estimated 19 percent in 2018 and 35 percent compliance rate 
in 2016.  
 
Even when filings of DWC Form-005 increased in 2016, filings of the non-subscriber injury report, 
DWC Form-007, did not increase proportionately. In fact, filings of these injury reports decreased 
after Fiscal Year 2011 and have fluctuated in recent years. It is impossible to calculate a compliance 
rate for the DWC Form-007 filings since DWC has no information on how many injuries non-
subscribing employers have until they are reported.   
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Figure 4: Total Number of DWC Form‐005 and DWC Form‐007 Received by DWC, 
Fiscal Years 2010‐2019 

 
   Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation, 2020. 
 
 
 

5. DWC Fraud Unit Secures More Than $1.1 Million in 
Restitution for Workers’ Compensation System 
In May 2016, the commissioner of workers’ compensation transferred workers’ compensation fraud 

investigations back to DWC from TDI and 
established a dedicated workers’ compensation 
fraud unit. This allows DWC to pursue criminal 
fraud actions and use existing resources to 
detect and prosecute fraud. Following this 
transfer, the 85th Legislature passed HB 2053, 
which clarified DWC’s existing statutory 
authority to conduct fraud investigations, 

provided subpoena authority, and authorized DWC’s ability to provide litigation assistance to local 
prosecutors in workers’ compensation fraud cases. The 85th Legislature also authorized a budget 
rider for DWC to establish a workers’ compensation fraud prosecutor in the Travis County District 
Attorney’s Office.  
 
Since 2016, the DWC Fraud Unit and prosecution teams have been actively investigating fraud 
referrals, pursuing prosecutions, and to date, have obtained 48 indictments, secured 34 convictions, 
and obtained orders for restitution exceeding $1.1 million for workers’ compensation system 
participants. The DWC Fraud Unit also collaborates with federal agencies and insurance carrier 
special investigative units on more complex health care provider and premium fraud cases. 
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Since 2016, the DWC Fraud Unit and
prosecution teams obtained orders for 
restitution exceeding $1.1M for 
workers’ compensation system 
participants. 
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6. Injury Rates Continue to Decline, But COVID-19 Affects 
Claim Frequency Trends  
 
Prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, Texas continued to 
experience a steady decline in both the non-fatal 
occupational injury and illness rate and the overall number 
of reportable workers’ compensation claims filed with 
DWC. However, COVID-19 has interrupted these claim 
frequency trends, at least in 2020. Since the 2005 
legislative reforms, the non-fatal occupational injury and 
illness rate in Texas decreased 42 percent, from 3.6 to 2.1 
injuries per 100 full-time employees. The 2019 national 
rate remained at 2.8. Workplace injury and illness rates 
vary widely by industry. Industries such as arts/entertainment/recreation, transportation/ 
manufacturing, and agriculture/forestry/fishing/hunting have the highest injury rates in Texas. 
Overall, Texas’s non-fatal occupational injury and illness rate has consistently been lower than the 
national rate (see Figure 5). The non-fatal occupational injury and illness rates for 2020 will not be 
available until next November so it remains to be seen whether the pandemic will affect these overall 
injury rates. 
 

Figure 5: Texas and U.S. Non‐Fatal Occupational Injury and Illness Rates Per 100 
Full‐Time Employees, Private-Sector (2005‐2019) 

 
Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation and U.S. Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, 
Annual Survey of Occupational Injuries and Illnesses, 2020. 
 
Despite the consistent reduction in the non-fatal occupational injury and illness rate in Texas over 
the past 15 years, the number of fatal occupational injuries continues to fluctuate. Texas saw 
between 527-545 workplace fatalities each year from 2014-2017. In 2018, the number of workplace 
fatalities declined 9 percent from 534 fatalities in 2017 to 488 workplace fatalities in 2018. 
Transportation incidents continue to be the leading cause of work-related fatalities. In 2018, the 
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The non-fatal occupational 
injury and illness rate in 
Texas has decreased 42 
percent since 2005. Overall, 
Texas’ rate continues to be 
lower than the national rate. 
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industry sector in Texas with the highest number of fatal occupational injuries was 
trade/transportation/utilities, followed by construction. The occupation category with the highest 
number of fatalities was driver/sales workers and truck drivers. 
 

The number of workers’ compensation claims 
reported to DWC also declined steadily from 2005-
2019 (a 34 percent reduction). This decline, however, 
has begun to slow in recent years. The emergence of 
COVID-19 in 2020 resulted in an increase in the total 
number of claims filed since FY 2019 (as of September 
2020), which will continue to grow as more claims are 
filed (see Figure 6). DWC continues to monitor the 

impact of COVID-19 on workers’ compensation claims, benefits, and disputes. 
 

Figure 6: Number of Workers’ Compensation Claims Reported to DWC, by Fiscal 
Year of Injury, 2015‐2020 

 
Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation, 2020. 
Note: Data as of October 2020. Fiscal years begin on September 1 and end on August 31. For example, Fiscal Year 2020 began on 
September 1, 2019, and ended on August 31, 2020. These numbers include the claims that are required to be reported to DWC, 
including fatalities, occupational diseases, and injuries with at least one day of lost time. Medical-only claims are not required to 
be reported to DWC. Data for 2019 and 2020 should be viewed with caution since the number of claims per calendar year will 
continue to grow as injuries for that calendar year are reported or as “medical-only” injuries begin to lose time away from work. 
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The emergence of COVID-19 in 
2020 resulted in an increase in the 
total number of claims filed since 
FY 2019, which will continue to 
grow as more claims are filed. 
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7. Medical Costs Continue to Decline, Inpatient Hospital Costs 
Increasing 
In 2005, the Texas Legislature made several statutory 
changes to address Texas’ high medical costs and poor 
injured employee outcomes, including adopting evidence-
based treatment guidelines, creating a pharmacy closed 
formulary, and certifying workers’ compensation health 
care networks. Since then, total medical payments have 
declined in the system, primarily due to fewer claims 
needing treatment and a reduced amount of medical care 
received by injured employees per claim. From 2013 to 
2019, total medical payments (for professional, hospital, and pharmacy services combined) 
decreased by about 14 percent, while pharmacy payments decreased by 50 percent (see Table 2).  
These payment declines do not account for medical inflation that occurred during this time. 

 

Table 2: Total Medical Payments, Service Years 2013 and 2019 

Medical Cost Categories 2013 2019 % Change from 2013-
2019 

Professional Services $638,182,620 $539,825,347 -15% 

Hospital Services $363,362,580 $361,695,669   -5% 

Pharmacy Services $125,398,786   $62,430,311  -50% 

Total Medical Payments $1,126,945,999   $963,953,346  -14% 
          Source:  Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation, 2020. 
 
One area that has changed significantly since the 2005 reforms is the use of certified health care 
networks. There are currently 30 networks covering all 254 Texas counties and certified by TDI. The 
percentage of new workers’ compensation claims treated in networks has grown from about 20 
percent of new claims in 2010 to about 48 percent in 2020, but network participation rates have not 
increased in the last few years.   
 

Initially, medical costs per claim were higher in 
certified networks because networks tended to use 
more health care services per claim in the first six 
months post-injury. In 2014, the trend changed and 
now networks on average have lower medical costs 
than non-network claims (see Figure 7).  As employers 
and insurance carriers continue to use health care 
networks to deliver medical treatment to injured 
employees, the cost and outcomes of these networks 

 
From 2013 to 2019, total
medical payments 
decreased by about 14 
percent, while pharmacy 
payments decreased by 
50 percent. 

 
In 2020, network medical costs 
were about 9 percent lower per 
claim at 18 months post-injury 
compared with non-network 
claims. 
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will play a larger role in determining the overall efficiency of the Texas workers’ compensation 
system. 
 

Figure 7: Average Medical Cost Per Claim at 18 Months Maturity, Network Report 
Card Years 2011‐2020 

 
Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group, 2020 
 
 
Compared with other states, Texas experienced 
significant reductions in medical costs per claim because 
of legislative reforms to the workers’ compensation 
system. In 2001, Texas was among the highest nationally 
in terms of medical costs per claim, according to a multi-
state comparison by the Workers’ Compensation 
Research Institute. Now, Texas’ cost per claim with 12 
months maturity is about 24 percent less than the median 
cost of the 18 states analyzed, which included Florida, Pennsylvania, Louisiana, and Illinois (see 
Figure 8). 
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Texas’ medical cost per 
claim is about 24 percent 
less than the median cost 
of an 18-state comparison. 
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Figure 8: Average Medical Cost for Claims with More Than Seven Days of Lost 
Time (All Services), 12 Months and 36 Months Average Maturity 

 
 Source: Workers’ Compensation Research Institute, CompScope™ Medical Benchmarks for Texas, 21st Edition, 2020. 
 
As Figure 9 indicates, while other states have seen dramatic medical cost increases in their workers’ 
compensation systems, Texas’ costs have stabilized. This stabilization, coupled with reduced injury 
rates, enabled insurance carriers to lower workers’ compensation insurance rates and encouraged 
more employers to provide workers’ compensation coverage to their employees. 
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Figure 9: Average Medical Cost for Claims with More Than Seven Days of Lost 
Time (All Services), 12 Months Average Maturity, 1996‐2018 

 
Source: Workers’ Compensation Research Institute, CompScope™ Medical Benchmarks, for Texas, 21st Edition, 2020.  
Note: “MCC” means medical cost containment. In 2001 and 2005, the legislature passed reforms, which added new medical 
cost containment tools for workers’ compensation claims, such as preauthorization requirements for spinal surgery, physical 
and occupational therapy, treatment guidelines, and networks. 

 
Although Texas’ medical costs have declined since the legislative reforms and look favorable 
compared to other states, hospital costs have increased in recent years, indicating the need for 
further monitoring. In 2018, inpatient hospital costs increased about 24 percent due to several 
factors, including changes in injury severity and the mix of surgeries being performed in an inpatient 
setting,5 as well as changes in the Medicare inpatient prospective payment system, which may have 
resulted in higher reimbursement rates for certain diagnostic related groups (see Figure 10).   
 
 
 

 
 
5 Less severe claims and less complicated procedures are now being done in an outpatient hospital setting compared to inpatient, resulting 
in more severe claims being associated with inpatient costs. Network claims tend to utilize outpatient hospital procedures more than 
inpatient hospital procedures, compared to non-network claims. 
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Figure 10: Average Hospital Cost for Claims with More Than 7 Days of Lost Time,  
12 Months Average Maturity, 2004‐2018 

 
    Source: Workers’ Compensation Research Institute, CompScope™ Medical Benchmarks for Texas, 21st Edition, 2020. 
 

8. Access to Care Improves for Injured Employees   
Making sure injured employees have adequate access to medical care is an important system goal.  
Without sufficient access, studies show necessary medical care is delayed, which increases medical 
and income benefit costs, and unnecessarily adds to time off work for injured employees. 
 
An analysis of medical billing and payment data collected by 
DWC shows a net increase in the number of physicians 
(medical doctors or MDs and doctors of osteopathy or DOs) 
actively participating in Texas workers’ compensation since 
the 2005 reforms (from almost 17,656 physicians in 2005, to 
more than 17,981 in 2019). In contrast, the number of claims 
needing treatment dropped 34 percent during this time. 
 
In addition to physicians, other types of health care providers, such as chiropractors, physician 
assistants, nurse practitioners, and physical and occupational therapists also provide medical care to 
injured employees. Like other health care delivery systems, the use of physician extenders (i.e., 

 
Texas saw a net increase in 
the number of physicians 
treating injured employees 
since 2005. 
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physician assistants and nurse practitioners) has increased in the Texas workers’ compensation 
system in the last few years, especially for initial medical visits. As Table 3 illustrates, the number of 
physician extenders and physical and occupational therapists treating injured employees has steadily 
increased since 2015, even though the number of workers’ compensation claims needing treatment 
declined during this time. The number of chiropractors treating injured employees declined from 
about 1,316 to 957 and the number of MDs providing non-emergency medical care to injured 
employees declined from 17,293 to 16,518. 
 

Table 3: Number of Texas Licensed Health Care Providers Treating Injured 
Employees, by Provider Type, 2015-2019 

Provider Type Calendar Year 
2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 

Doctor of Medicine 17,293 17,019 16,674 16,906 16,518 

Doctor of Osteopathy 1,440 1,457 1,446 1,485 1,463 

Doctor of Chiropractic 1,316 1,164 1,130 1,056 957 

Doctor of Dentistry/Optometry/Podiatry 780 767 716 762 777 

Physician Assistant 1,553 1,631 1,702 1,820 1,885 

Nurse Practitioner 3,012 3,338 3,547 3,941 4,138 

Physical Therapist/Occupational Therapist 2,800 2,929 3,105 3,290 3,395 

Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation, 2020. 
Note: Health care providers included in this table provided at least one non-emergency medical treatment to an injured employee in 
each year, regardless of whether the treatment was paid. Impairment rating examinations were excluded from this analysis. 
 

The timeliness of care has also improved for Texas injured 
employees in the last decade. The average number of days 
from the date of injury to the first non-emergency medical 
visit was reduced by half from 2011 to 2020 (from 10.4 days 
to 4.9 days for non-network claims and 8.0 days to 4.0 days 
for network claims). Injured employees in networks 
consistently receive non-emergency medical care faster than 
non-network claims (see Figure 11). 

 

 
Average number of days 
from the date of injury to 
the first non-emergency 
medical visit was reduced 
by half from 2011 to 
2020. 
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Figure 11: Average Number of Days from Date of Injury to Date of First Non-
Emergency Treatment 2011-2020, Six Months Post-Injury 

 
      Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group, 2020. 
 

In 2020, the Workers’ Compensation Research and 
Evaluation Group in conjunction with Texas A&M University, 
Public Policy Research Institute surveyed 3,157 injured 
employees to collect injured employees’ experiences with 
their medical care (access to care, satisfaction with care, and 
health-related outcomes), as well as information about their 
experiences returning to work after their work-related 
injuries.6 These survey results were compared with results 
from injured employees surveyed in 2005. Almost two-
thirds (65 percent) of employees surveyed in 2020 reported 

“no problem” getting the medical care they felt they needed for their work-related injury, compared 
to 52 percent of employees surveyed in 2005 (see Figure 12).  

 
  

 
 
6 Injured employees were surveyed at about 12 to 24 months post-injury.   
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In 2020, almost two-thirds 
(65 percent) of employees 
surveyed reported “no 
problem” getting the 
medical care they felt they 
needed for their work-
related injury. 
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Figure 12: Percentage of Injured Employees Who Reported Having Problems 
Getting Medical Care for Their Injury 

  
Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group, Survey of Injured Employees 2005, 2008, 
2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018, and 2020. 
 

As Table 4 illustrates, injured employees who received medical care from networks generally had 
better perceptions about their access to care. A higher percentage of most network injured 
employees said they either “always” or “usually” got medical care as soon as they thought they 
needed it, compared to non-network injured employees. 

Table 4: Since You Were Injured, How Often Did You Get Care as Soon as You 
Wanted When You Needed Care Right Away? 

How often did you get care? Always Usually Sometimes/Never 
Non-Network 55% 16% 29% 
504-Alliance  62%* 16%  22%* 
Corvel 57% 20% 24% 
Coventry 57%  13%* 30% 
First Health  64%*  11%* 25% 
IMO  61%* 16%  23%* 
Liberty 51% 17% 32% 
Sedgwick  50%*   21%* 29% 
Travelers  61%* 15%  24%* 
WorkWell  63%*  12%*  25%* 
Other Networks  58%* 17%  25%* 

Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group, 2020. 
Notes: Asterisks (*) indicate that the differences between the network and non-network are statistically significant. The figures 
presented above are adjusted for risk factors such as injury type, type of claim, and age differences that may exist between the groups. 
Percentages for each network may not add up to 100% because of rounding. 
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9. Return-To-Work Rates Improve for Injured Employees 
Effective return-to-work programs help reduce the economic and psychological impact of a work-
related injury on an injured employee, reduce income benefit costs, and curb productivity losses for 
Texas employers. Prior to the 2005 legislative reforms, Texas had higher medical costs and lower 
return-to-work rates per claim compared to other states. In recent years, return-to-work rates have 
improved and stabilized, allowing the majority of injured employees to return to work after their 
injuries.  
 
In 2007, about 78 percent of injured employees receiving temporary income benefits (TIBs) went 

back to work within six months, compared to about 83 
percent of injured employees in 2017. 7  At one year 
post-injury, about 9 out of 10 injured employees 
returned to work (see Figure 13). As expected, injured 
employees who work for larger employers and in the 
public administration sector generally have the highest 
return-to-work rates. Overall, in the last decade, return-
to-work rates have improved across all employer size 
categories and almost all industry sectors. 
 

 
Figure 13: Percentage of Injured Employees Receiving TIBs Who Initially 

Returned to Work at Six Months and One Year Post‐Injury 

 
Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group, 2020. 
 

 
 
7 TIBs are paid to injured employees who have been off work for at least one week because of a work-related injury. 
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More injured employees are 
returning to work in Texas.  
 
About 9 out of 10 injured 
employees receiving temporary 
income benefits return to work 
within one year of their injury. 
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Results from the REG’s 2020 Workers’ Compensation Network Report Card also indicate that injured 
employees who receive medical care from networks 
(either certified health care networks or political 
subdivision health plans) reported higher return-to-work 
rates than injured employees with non-network claims 
(see Figures 14 and 15). The improved performance of 
most network over non-network claims may be the result 
of improved coordination between system participants, 
particularly employers who help injured employees return 
to work and network health care providers who are 

focused on releasing employees back to work quickly after a work-related injury. 
 
 

Figure 14: Percentage of Injured Employees Who Indicated That They 
Went Back to Work at Some Point After Their Injury 

 
 Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group, 2020. 
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Injured employees who 
receive medical care from 
networks reported higher 
return-to-work rates than
employees with non-network 
claims. 
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Figure 15: Average Number of Weeks Injured Employees Reported Being Off Work 

Because of Their Work-Related Injury 

 
               Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group, 2020. 
 

10. Indemnity Dispute Resolution Requests Decline: Most 
Disputes Involve Designated Doctor Opinions 
Although much of the system’s resources are spent on 
claim disputes between insurance carriers and the 
injured employees, it is important to note that only a 
fraction (4 to 8 percent) of workers’ compensation 
claims ever end up in a dispute at DWC. Along with 
reductions in the number of workers’ compensation 
claims filed with DWC over time, the number of indemnity disputes requested and concluded has 
also decreased steadily since 2005.  
 
A benefit review conference (BRC) is an informal meeting most commonly between the injured 
employee, an insurance carrier representative, and a DWC benefit review officer to discuss and 
attempt to resolve disputed issues. Any party may request a BRC. If a dispute between the parties 
cannot be resolved at the BRC level, then a contested case hearing (CCH) is held. A CCH is a formal 
administrative hearing where a DWC administrative law judge hears the case and issue a written 
decision resolving the disputed issues. If a party is dissatisfied with the CCH decision, the party may 
file an appeal of the decision to the DWC Appeals Panel, which is the final step in the administrative 
dispute resolution process. The Appeals Panel may uphold or reverse a CCH decision, or remand the 
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About 92 percent of claims are
handled without the need for
dispute resolution by DWC. 
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decision back to the DWC administrative law judge. 
Either party may appeal the Appeals Panel decision to 
district court. 
In 2005, parties requested nearly 42,000 BRCs. By 
2019, that number fell to 10,094 requests, a 76 percent 
decrease. Along with fewer requests, the number of 
concluded BRCs also decreased by more than 50 
percent since the 2005 legislative reforms (from about 
17,000 concluded in 2005 to 7,827 in 2019). Some of 
this decline can be attributed to a consistent reduction in the number of claims reported to DWC. 
However, the number of BRCs and CCHs concluded has fluctuated in recent years due to an 
increasing number of designated doctor and extent of injury disputes.8 Since 2015, the number of 
BRCs concluded declined 18 percent, while the number of CCHs concluded declined 9 percent (see 
Figure 16).9 
 

Figure 16:  Number of BRCs Requested and Number of BRCs and CCHs 
Concluded, 2015-2019 

 
Source:  Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation, 2020. 
 
Since 2011, a higher proportion of the disputes requested at the BRC and CCH levels include issues 
involving the extent of an employee’s injury, the designated doctor’s determination regarding the 
injured employee’s date of maximum medical improvement (MMI), or the impairment rating (IR) 
assigned to an injured employee’s claim by the designated doctor. In 2011, these three issues 

 
 
8 Appeals Panel decision trends have also fluctuated in recent years. In FY 2015, the Appeals Panel issued 2,548 decisions, including 
decisions to uphold or reverse the CCH decision or remand the dispute back to the CCH. This number grew to 3,079 in FY 2017 and then 
declined again to 2,433 in FY 2019.  

9 DWC appoints DDs to examine injured employees and issue opinions to resolve certain types of questions including, the extent of the 
employee’s injury, the date an injured employee reached MMI, the employee’s IR, whether the employee can return to work, and other 
similar issues. By statute, DD opinions have presumptive weight in DWC dispute proceedings. 
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The number of BRCs requested 
has declined 76 percent since 
2005, while the number of BRCs 
concluded dropped by more than 
50 percent. 
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represented about 48 percent of disputes at the BRC level but increased to about 60 percent of 
disputes in 2012. Since 2012, these three issues have represented about 60-65 percent of disputed 
issues at the BRC (61 percent in 2019).   
 
Increases in these disputed issues in the last few years coincide with several factors, including: 

• an August 2010 ruling by the Texas Supreme Court in Transcontinental Insurance 
Company v. Crump that described the burden of proof needed to show that a work-
related activity was the “producing cause” of the employee’s injury;  

• DWC’s adoption of BRC rules in 2011 clarifying that a BRC must be requested and 
scheduled to stop the statutory 90-day finality of the first valid IR or date of MMI assigned 
to an injured employee; and 

• subsequent decisions by DWC’s Appeals Panel holding that: 
1. extent of injury is a threshold issue for determining disputes related to MMI 

and IR; and  
2. medical conditions included in an MMI and IR certification that has become 

final under Labor Code §408.123 are part of the compensable injury. 

In 2019, almost half (49 percent) of injured employees with disputes at the BRC level were assisted 
by ombudsmen with the Office of Injured Employee Counsel (OIEC), 42 percent were represented 
by attorneys, and 10 percent were assisted by other lay representatives or had no representation. 
These percentages have been relatively stable in the last three years. The percentage of injured 
employees with ombudsman assistance or attorney representation at the CCH level mirrored the 
percentages at the BRC level. 
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11. Medical Disputes  
Generally, there are three types of medical disputes raised in the workers’ compensation system: 

•  fee disputes (i.e., disputes over the amount of payment for medical services); 
• preauthorization disputes/concurrent review disputes 10  (i.e., disputes about the medical 

necessity of certain medical treatments that were denied prospectively or concurrently by 
the insurance carrier); and 

• retrospective medical necessity disputes (i.e., disputes about the medical necessity of 
treatments that have already been provided and billed). 

DWC staff experienced with DWC’s medical 
billing rules, medical fee guidelines, and 
Medicare payment policies review and resolve 
medical fee disputes. Either party may appeal a 
medical fee decision by requesting a benefit 
review conference at DWC followed by a 
hearing at the State Office of Administrative 
Hearings.  
 
Medical necessity disputes are resolved by 
Independent Review Organizations (IROs) that 
are panels of doctors and other health care 
providers certified by TDI to resolve medical 

necessity disputes for workers’ compensation and group health claims. Either party may appeal an 
IRO decision to a DWC administrative law judge. 

Overall, DWC experienced a significant reduction in the number of medical disputes filed since 2005. 
From 2005-2019:  

• medical fee disputes decreased about 65 percent (from 11,697 disputes in 2005 to 4,103 in 
2019);  

• preauthorization and concurrent review disputes decreased about 20 percent (from 1,723 
disputes in 2005 to 1,372 in 2019); and  

• retrospective medical necessity disputes have completely disappeared in the system (from 
2,518 disputes in 2005 to 0 in 2019).  

 
The decrease in medical disputes is related to several factors, including:  

• fewer workers’ compensation claims filed;  
•  health care networks created in 2006 which resolve their own fee disputes; 
• DWC’s medical treatment guidelines adopted in 2007, which provide a consistent, evidence-

based medical necessity standard for health care providers and insurance carriers; and  

 
 
10 Texas Labor Code §413.014 and 28 Texas Administrative Code §134.600 include a list of medical treatments and services that require 
preauthorization by the insurance carrier before they can be provided to an injured employee. Networks are not subject to these 
preauthorization requirements and may establish their own lists of medical treatments and services that require preauthorization. See 
Texas Insurance Code §1305.351. 

 
Since 2005, medical disputes 
have declined significantly: 
- Medical fee disputes – ↓ 65 

percent 
- Preauthorization disputes – ↓ 

20 percent 
- Retrospective disputes – 

have completely 
disappeared. 
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• DWC’s adoption of new professional, inpatient and outpatient hospital and ambulatory   
surgical center fee guidelines in 2008, which provide standardized reimbursement amounts 
for the majority of medical services provided to injured employees.  

 
Before 2005, a greater share of medical disputes involved medical treatments that were denied 
retrospectively as not medically necessary by insurance carriers. With the legislative reforms’ 
increased emphasis on preauthorization, most retrospective medical necessity disputes disappeared 
from the system and the percentage of all medical disputes involving preauthorization denials 
increased. Now, most of the remaining medical disputes in the system involve fee disputes for non-
network or out-of-network medical care. 
 
Medical fee disputes increased temporarily in 2018 (from 4,012 disputes in 2017 to 6,475 disputes in 
2018) due to a large number of compound drug disputes filed by a handful of pharmacies, but 
disputes declined again in 2019 once DWC adopted new compound drug rules (see Figure 17). In 
2019, most medical fee disputes involved fee disagreements over payments for professional medical 
services, workers’ compensation specific services (like impairment ratings and designated doctor 
examinations), pharmacy services, and hospital services. 
 

Figure 17: Number of Medical Fee Disputes from 2014 to 2019 

 
 Source:  Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation, 2020. 

 
Medical necessity disputes continue to decline each year (see Figure 18). While networks accounted 
for about half of all new claims in the last few years, non-network claims accounted for most of the 
medical necessity disputes filed (about 8 out of 10 disputes filed). 
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Figure 18: Number and Distribution of Medical Necessity Disputes by Network Status, 
2014-2019 

  
   Source: Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group, 2020. 

 
The timeliness of resolving medical disputes in the system has also improved over time. In 2005, the 
system resolved a preauthorization dispute in an average of 59 days, a retrospective medical 
necessity dispute in an average of 123 days, and a medical fee dispute in an average of 335 days. 
In 2019, preauthorization disputes were resolved in an average of 19 days and fee disputes in an 
average of 47 days (there were no retrospective medical necessity disputes in 2019). 

In terms of dispute outcomes, most medical necessity 
disputes resulted in decisions that upheld the 
insurance carrier’s utilization review denial. These 
percentages have not changed significantly since 
2005. In 2005, about 71 percent of preauthorization 
dispute decisions upheld the insurance carrier’s 
utilization review denial. In 2019, about 76 percent of 
disputes involving network claims and 81 percent of 
disputes involving non-network claims upheld the 
insurance carrier’s utilization review decision. IROs 
tended to uphold the insurance carrier’s utilization 
review decision more often for disputes involving 
non-network claims compared with network claims. 

The Labor Code requires IROs to take note of DWC’s adopted treatment guidelines when resolving 
medical necessity disputes and to document on the dispute decision why they diverged from the 
adopted treatment guidelines. 
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Since 2005, timeliness of medical 
dispute resolution has improved: 
 
- Medical fee disputes – 335 

days in 2005 to 47 days in 
2019. 

 
- Preauthorization disputes – 

59 days in 2005 to 19 days in 
2019. 
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12. Designated Doctor Opinions Continue to Be A Valuable Tool 
for Dispute Resolution 
Designated doctors (DDs) perform an important role in resolving many types of disputes about an 
injured employee’s claim. The DD examinations determine the date of an employee’s MMI, IR, extent 
of injury, ability to return to work, and other related issues. Without these expert opinions, the system 
would potentially have tens of thousands of additional disputes to resolve each year. DWC certifies 
DDs, who must complete required training and testing, and assigns them examinations based on 
the doctor’s credentials, the injured employee’s affected body parts, and the injured employee’s 
diagnosis. Because of their enhanced training and testing, 
and their role as an independent evaluator, DD opinions 
have presumptive weight in DWC dispute resolution 
proceedings.  
 
Many DD appointments requested by system participants 
involve assessments of an injured employee’s date of 
MMI and IR, followed by assessments of an injured 
employee’s ability to return to work, and the extent of the 
employee’s injury.  Figure 19 provides information for 
fiscal year 2019. This distribution of DD examinations by issue type has remained 
essentially the same for the last five years. 
 
Figure 19: Distribution of Designated Doctor Appointments by Issue, Fiscal Year 2019 

 

 
Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation, 2020.  
Note: “Other” includes disability, return-to-work/supplemental income benefits eligibility, and other related issues. 
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Because of their enhanced training 
and testing and their role as an 
independent evaluator, designated 
doctor opinions have presumptive 
weight in DWC dispute resolution 
proceedings. 
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The total number of DDs certified by DWC declined from 595 in fiscal year 2015, to 504 in fiscal year 
2019 (see Figure 20). Fewer licensed medical doctors (MDs) and doctors of osteopathy (DOs) now 
participate in the DD program, which is a concern since these doctors are qualified to evaluate nearly 
all musculoskeletal and non-musculoskeletal injuries seen in the workers’ compensation system. The 
number of chiropractors (DCs) serving as DDs has also declined, but at a lower rate than MDs and 
DOs. Despite these declines, in fiscal year 2019 more than 97 percent of injured employees saw a 
qualified DD in their county of residence, or an adjacent county. 

 
Figure 20: Number of DWC Certified Designated Doctors by License Type 

 
Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation, 2020.  
Note: “Other” includes osteopaths and podiatrists. 

 
 

During the same time frame, however, the number of DD 
appointments also declined by about 22 percent (from 
31,933 appointments in fiscal year 2015, to 24,936 
appointments in fiscal year 2019) due to a decrease in the 
number of workers’ compensation claims filed in the 
system. The distribution of DD examinations by license 
type has also changed over time, resulting in fewer 
examinations that require a MD or DO and more 
examinations where a DC can examine the injured 
employee. In fiscal year 2015, MDs performed 
approximately 56 percent of DD examinations, but by 
fiscal year 2019 MDs and DOs only performed about 33 

percent of these examinations (see Figure 21). In 2018, DWC adopted rules to provide a balanced 
appointment distribution methodology for all doctors qualified to evaluate musculoskeletal areas of 
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In fiscal year 2015, MDs and 
DOs performed 
approximately 56 percent of 
DD examinations, but by 
fiscal year 2018, MDs and 
DOs only performed about 
33 percent of these 
examinations. 
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the body. The new assignment methodology will increase the transparency of the DD assignment 
process and help retain MDs and DOs on the designated doctors list. DWC also recently implemented 
virtual DD and MMI/IR certification training to help reduce travel time and costs for doctors. 
 
 

Figure 21: Distribution of Designated Doctor Appointments by License Type 

 
Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation, 2020.  
Note: “Other” includes osteopaths and podiatrists. 

 
DWC will continue monitoring the impact of the recent rule changes and the DD training and testing 
process to ensure that an adequate number of qualified doctors remain available to perform these 
examinations. 
 

13. COVID-19 Presents New Challenges for Workers’ 
Compensation  
On March 13, 2020, Governor Greg Abbott issued a statewide disaster declaration for COVID-19. 
While state and local efforts are being made to address the pandemic, there are many unknowns 
about its ultimate impact on the Texas population and economy, and on employees and employers 
covered under the state’s workers’ compensation system.  
 
As of October 25, 2020, insurance carriers reported a total of 27,308 COVID-19 claims to DWC, 
including 118 fatalities. These totals include those with a positive test or diagnosis as well as claims 
filed for possible exposures to COVID-19. The number of COVID-19 claims in Texas began to increase 
starting in March consistent with Governor Greg Abbott’s disaster declaration. Figure 22 shows the 
number of COVID-19 claims received by insurance carriers by month of injury. Claims began to decline 
in mid-April as Texas began reopening efforts, surged again in June, and continued to increase until 
mid-July. Claims declined again in mid-July and continued to decrease through October. 
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Figure 22: Number of COVID-19 Claims Filed by Month of Injury,  
as of October 25, 2020 

 
 Source:  Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation, 2020. 
 

 
Two industry sectors – Health Care and Social Assistance and Public Administration – represent 
three quarters (75 percent) of all COVID-19 claims and 
more than half (58 percent) of COVID-19 work 
fatalities. Health Care and Social Assistance includes 
health care providers, hospitals, nursing homes, and 
other health care facilities. Public Administration 
includes correctional officers, first responders, and 
other public sector employees. Several of the counties 
with the most COVID-19 claims are also the counties 
with the most COVID-19 confirmed cases according to 
the Department of State Health Services. The top 10 counties in terms of COVID-19 claim frequency 
represent about 57 percent of all COVID-19 claims reported by insurance carriers to DWC as of 
October 25, 2020 (see Table 5). 
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Two industry sectors (Health Care 
and Social Assistance and Public 
Administration) represent 75 
percent of all COVID-19 claims and 
more than half (58 percent) of all 
COVID-19 work fatalities.  
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Table 5: Number of COVID-19 Claims Filed by County,  
as of October 25, 2020 

County 
COVID-19 Claims 

Reported 
Harris 6,087 
Dallas 1,719 
Tarrant 1,527 

Fort Bend 1,195 
Bexar 1,128 

Hidalgo 1,106 
El Paso    855 
Travis    837 

Montgomery    697 
Walker    551 

All Other Counties                   11,606 
Source:  Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation, 2020. 

 

Early in the pandemic, DWC monitored the COVID-19 claims reported by insurance carriers and 
realized that many of these claims appeared to be “exposure-only” claims, with no documentation 
of whether the injured employee tested positive for COVID-19. Many of these claims were 
investigated and either accepted or denied by the insurance carrier, based on whether the injured 
employee could provide medical evidence of a positive test or diagnosis, as well as documentation 
showing a connection between the COVID-19 infection and their work.  
 
To understand the proportion of these COVID-19 claims with a positive test or diagnosis, DWC 
issued a data call with 66 selected insurance carriers representing the State of Texas, political 
subdivisions, commercial insurance carriers, and certified self-insured employers. These insurance 

carriers represented 83-85 percent of all reportable 
claims and 90 percent of occupational diseases in 
Texas during 2017–2019. DWC requested three data 
call submissions from selected insurance carriers: data 
for claims as of June 30, 2020; data for claims as of 
September 30, 2020; and data for claims as of 
December 31, 2020. Overall, the results of the data call 

(for claims reported to the insurers as of June 30, 2020), showed that 35 percent of the COVID-19 
claims involved an injured employee who tested positive or was diagnosed with COVID-19 (see 
Table 6).  
 
Among these positive test claims, nearly half (48 percent) were accepted as work-related by 
insurance carriers, more than a third (38 percent) were denied by the insurance carriers, and 14 
percent were still under investigation.  
 

Initial data call results show that 
only 35 percent of COVID-19 
claims filed had a positive test or 
diagnosis. 
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These statistics vary across types of insurance carriers. 
COVID-19 claims being processed by the State of Texas11 
reported the highest rate of denials (72 percent). 
Commercial insurance carriers had the highest number of 
denials. Despite the number of COVID-19 claims that were 
denied, DWC’s administrative data (as of October 25, 2020), 
showed that there were only 10 COVID-19 claim disputes 
filed with DWC during this timeframe.  
 

Table 6. Number of COVID-19 Claims, Positive Test Claims, and Claim Disposition as 
of June 30, 2020, Data Call Results 

Type of Insurance 
Carrier 

# of Claims 
Reported to 

Carriers 

# and % of 
Claims with 
Positive Test 
or Diagnosis 

# and % of 
Positive 
Claims 

Accepted by 
Insurance 
Carriers 

# and % of 
Positive 
Claims 

Denied by 
Insurance 
Carriers 

# and % of 
Positive 

Claims Still 
Under 

Investigation 

Commercial carriers 3,719 2,406 
(65%) 

826 
(34%) 

1,077 
(45%) 

503 
(21%) 

Political subdivisions 6,138 1,421 
(23%) 

1,102 
(78%) 

198 
(14%) 

121 
(9%) 

State of Texas 2,448 495 
(20%) 

137 
(8%) 

358 
(72%) 0 

All insurance carriers 12,305 4,322 
(35%) 

2,065 
(48%) 

1,633 
(38%) 

624 
(14%) 

Source: Texas Department of Insurance, Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation Group, Data Call as of June 30, 2020. 
Note: “State of Texas” includes the State Office of Risk Management, the University of Texas System, the Texas A&M University System, 
and the Texas Department of Transportation. “Commercial carriers” includes licensed insurance companies and certified self-insured 
employers. 
 
At the beginning of the pandemic, many industry experts were concerned that COVID-19 claims 
costs could overburden state workers’ compensation systems and drive up insurance rates for 
employers. However, while the medical and indemnity data reported by insurance carriers to DWC 
is still immature, the data reported to date does not support these concerns.  
 
An analysis of DWC’s data for those claims reported to insurance carriers as of June 30, 2020, shows 
that as of October 8, 2020, about $12.97 million was paid in indemnity benefits to injured employees 

 
 
11 “State of Texas” includes the State Office of Risk Management, the University of Texas System, the Texas A&M University System, and 
the Texas Department of Transportation. “Commercial carriers” includes licensed insurance companies and certified self-insured 
employers. 

Despite the number of COVID-19 
claims that were denied, only 10 
COVID-19 claim disputes have 
been filed with DWC as of 
October 25, 2020. 
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with COVID-19, and that the majority of this (81 percent) was employer salary continuation that was 
paid instead of receiving income benefits (see Figure 23). In terms of medical treatment, insurance 
carriers paid about $4.44 million for these claims, and the vast majority of these payments (86 
percent) were for hospital/facility services. DWC will continue to monitor these COVID-19 claim and 
dispute resolution trends as new data becomes available. 
 

Figure 23: Total Indemnity and Medical Payments Made on COVID-19 Claims 
Reported to Insurance Carriers as of June 30, 2020 (Data as of October 8, 2020) 

  
 
 
 
 

       
 
 
 
 
 
 

       Source:  Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation, 2020. 
 

14. Concluding Remarks  
Prior to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Texas workers’ compensation system was well positioned 
compared to other states. Injury rates, claims, medical costs, indemnity disputes, and medical 
disputes are down from pre-2005 reform levels, which has lowered insurance rates and allowed for 
more affordable insurance coverage for Texas employers.  As a result, more employees have workers’ 
compensation coverage than before the reforms. There are more Texas physicians and other primary 
health care providers willing to treat injured employees and timeliness of medical care has improved. 
Return-to-work rates are up for injured employees, driven by a strong Texas economy and improved 
access to medical care.   
 
The impact of COVID-19 on these system improvements is still uncertain. Claims are up in 2020, but 
many of these claims to date are the result of exposures to COVID-19 on the job, and only a minority 
of injured employees tested positive or were diagnosed with COVID-19 according to recent data call 
results. It is premature to assess the cost of COVID-19 claims on the system, but early indications are 
that COVID-19 claims costs are much lower than what was predicted by some industry experts.   
 
The economic impact of COVID-19 presents new challenges for the Texas workers’ compensation 
system. Disruptions in non-emergency medical care during the lockdown may have negative impacts 
for injured employees, even with the availability of telemedicine. It is also uncertain how COVID-19 
will impact injured employees’ future health care needs. High unemployment rates and fewer 
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businesses will likely make it harder for injured employees to return to work after injuries. Since Texas 
is a voluntary state for workers’ compensation purposes, it is also likely that certain employers will 
weigh the economic cost of purchasing workers’ compensation coverage, even with low insurance 
rates, while others may choose to provide coverage to protect themselves from lawsuits from 
employees who allege they contracted COVID-19 on the job.  
 
At the same time, the pandemic caused state agencies, like DWC, to rethink how they do business. 
DWC quickly transitioned to remote work and automated many of its business operations, which 
allowed the agency to continue to serve system participants well during the pandemic. DWC is 
scheduled to go through Sunset review in 2023, which will provide an opportunity to reexamine 
substantive policy issues post-COVID-19. Given the timing of this upcoming review and the strong 
state of the Texas workers’ compensation system, significant legislative changes to the system are 
not recommended at this time. DWC puts forth two legislative recommendations for consideration 
by the 87th Texas Legislature: 1) to streamline certain outdated legislative reporting requirements; 
and 2) to provide flexibility to hold benefit review conferences remotely. This report also highlights 
an issue that will likely be discussed during the upcoming legislative session – COVID-19 and 
statutory barriers affecting claims handling. 
 
 

15. DWC Legislative Recommendations: 
Streamline Legislative Reporting Requirements  
 
Recommendation:  
Amend Insurance Code §1305.502 to require the Workers’ Compensation Research and Evaluation 
Group (REG) to publish the network report card biennially instead of annually, and eliminate the 
requirement to issue certain legislative reports examining the impact of the 2005 legislative reforms 
(HB 7) in Labor Code §405.0025 and Insurance Code §§1305.501 and 2053.012. The REG and DWC 
will continue to provide information on issues such as medical costs and utilization, return-to-work 
outcomes, access to medical care, the impact of networks, and other important system trends as 
part of DWC’s biennial report to the Legislature under Labor Code §402.066. 
 
Issue: 
This recommendation streamlines several legislative reporting requirements in the Insurance Code 
and the Labor Code created during the 2005 legislative reforms. These legislative reports require 
significant staff time and monetary resources to produce, which reduces the ability of DWC to allocate 
resources to research projects that may be more relevant to today’s workers’ compensation system. 
DWC spends more than $200,000 per year through an interagency contract to conduct the injured 
employee surveys needed to produce the annual network report card and the biennial report on 
the impact of the 2005 legislative reforms, and these survey administration costs are only expected 
to continue to increase over time.  

The network report card results do not change significantly from year to year, so publishing the 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc
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report card on a biennial basis will continue to allow valid medical cost and quality of care outcome 
comparisons between network and non-network claims. DWC already includes many of the same 
system performance measures (i.e., medical costs and utilization, return-to-work outcomes, access 
to medical care, the impact of networks, frequency of medical disputes) in its own biennial report 
to the legislature, which is also published by December 1 of every even-numbered year. 
 
Background:  
Labor Code §405.0025(b) and (c) and Insurance Code §1305.501 require the REG to issue a biennial 
report to the legislature by December 1 of every even-numbered year. The report must evaluate the 
impact of certified health care and political subdivision networks on medical costs and utilization of 
medical care, access to medical care, satisfaction with care, return-to-work outcomes, injured 
employee functional outcomes, network complaints, and medical disputes. Insurance Code 
§2053.012 requires TDI to issue a biennial report to the legislature by December 1 of every even-
numbered year. The report must evaluate the impact of the 2005 legislative reforms on the 
affordability and availability of workers’ compensation insurance for Texas employers, including how 
the 2005 reforms affected premium savings for employers, insurance market competition, insurer 
financial solvency, employer participation (i.e., non-subscription rates), economic development, and 
employer participation in networks. DWC and TDI fulfill these report requirements through the 
issuance of the report entitled, “Setting the Standard: An Analysis of the 2005 Legislative Reforms 
on the Texas Workers’ Compensation System,” by December 1 of every even-numbered year. 

Insurance Code §1305.502 requires the REG to publish an annual report card comparing certified 
health care networks, political subdivision networks, and non-network claims with each other. The 
report card must include a comparison of medical costs and utilization of care, return-to-work 
outcomes, access to care, satisfaction with care, and health-related functional outcomes.  

 

Provide Flexibility to Hold Benefit Review Conferences Remotely  
 
Recommendation: 
Amend Texas Labor Code §410.005 to hold Benefit Review Conferences (BRCs) by video conference 
or by phone, while providing “good cause” exceptions for a BRC to be held in person. This change 
will create cost savings for DWC, OIEC, and system participants. Injured employees will benefit by 
needing less time to set aside to attend BRC dispute proceedings at a DWC field office. This will 
reduce their travel and time away from work and may also reduce their need to arrange for childcare. 
By providing the “good cause” exception for in-person BRCs, the process will remain fair and 
accessible for everyone. 
 
This recommendation is also consistent with the Legislature’s mandate that DWC take maximum 
advantage of technological advances to provide the highest levels of service possible to system 
participants and promote communication among system participants. Labor Code §402.021(b)(9). 
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Issue: 
Texas Labor Code §410.005 requires dispute proceedings to be conducted within 75 miles of the 
injured employee’s residence unless DWC finds good cause for the “selection of a different location.” 
Due to the impact of COVID-19, DWC moved all proceedings to a virtual format citing the “good 
cause” exception and held proceedings by video or by phone. DWC has seen excellent results both 
from a process and implementation standpoint.  
 
Background: 
Dispute Process  
One of the main responsibilities of DWC is to help resolve disputes on contested claims. While 
dispute resolution is a critical function, most claims—around 92-96% of the more than 90,000 claims 
normally filed in a year—are administered without the need for DWC to hold a dispute resolution 
proceeding. Historically, dispute proceedings have been held at one of the 20 field offices that DWC 
shares with OIEC across Texas. 
 
Disputes can go through several stages, the first being a BRC. BRCs are non-adversarial, informal 
meetings at which a DWC benefit review officer explains the process and works with the parties to 
identify the issues in dispute, identify any additional information needed to resolve the dispute 
(typically additional medical reports or analyses), and reach an agreement through mediation where 
possible.   
 
If there is no agreement, the next step is a Contested Case Hearing (CCH). The CCH is a formal 
hearing that a DWC administrative law judge conducts. At a CCH, the parties may present sworn 
testimony and documents (often medical records), cross-examine the other side’s witnesses, and 
make arguments in support of their contentions. At the conclusion of the CCH the administrative 
law judge will issue a formal written decision and order to the parties. If a party is dissatisfied with 
the decision they may appeal to the DWC Appeals Panel and, if necessary, to district court. BRCs 
and CCHs have generally been in-person proceedings while the Appeals Panel is a paper review.   
 
Cost and Efficiency Savings 
Travel costs for DWC staff will be reduced as less travel is required for employees covering BRC 
dockets at remote field offices. Cases will move more efficiently and be more equally assigned and 
docketed among proceedings staff throughout Texas. Scheduling conflicts will also be reduced by 
implementing this change. As such, injured workers will benefit as disputes will be resolved more 
quickly.  
 
Dispute participants, which commonly include an injured employee and their attorney or an OIEC 
ombudsman, and a representative from the insurance carrier and their representative, will see 
efficiencies and cost savings. DWC also projects that, by implementing this recommendation, 
attorney fees associated with travel could be reduced benefiting both injured employees and 
insurance carriers.  

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc
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16. Emerging Issue:   
COVID-19 
The emergence of a novel virus, COVID-19, and the resulting world-wide pandemic has created new 
challenges for the Texas workers’ compensation system. On March 13, 2020, Governor Abbott 
issued a statewide disaster declaration for COVID-19. While the Labor Code provides coverage for 
occupational diseases, issues such as the availability and consistency of COVID-19 testing, confusion 
among stakeholders about when to report exposures involving employees, and legal issues about 
whether COVID-19 is an occupational disease have raised questions about whether certain statutory 
changes are needed to provide workers’ compensation benefits when injured employees contract 
a disease as a result of their employment.   
  
During the pandemic, Governor Abbott waived certain statutory requirements that affected COVID-
19 workers’ compensation claims. However, stakeholders continue to discuss whether these waivers 
should be permanent and whether other statutory changes should be enacted to remove perceived 
coverage barriers or create new statutory presumptions that certain diseases are work-related for 
first responders and essential workers. A few key statutes that will likely be discussed this legislative 
session include: 
 
Health and Safety Code §81.050(j) and 28 Texas Administrative Code §122.3 currently require 
emergency response providers who are exposed to certain communicable diseases to provide the 
following information to their employer:  

1) a sworn affidavit to the employer detailing the date and circumstances of the exposure; 
and  

2) within 10 days of the exposure, provide the results of a test showing that the employee 
has an absence of the disease. 

 
Governor Abbott waived these provisions on April 10, 2020. Some argue that these requirements 
should be permanently waived in situations involving a public health emergency, while others are 
concerned about the cost impact to governmental entities if this defense is waived. 
  
Labor Code §501.026 provides for workers’ compensation benefits for certain emergency volunteers 
when the governor has issued a disaster declaration. Labor Code §501.026(d) says the benefits are 
contingent on the volunteer seeking treatment for the injury within 48 hours after the occurrence 
of the injury. Although this section has not been an issue so far, there could be a question of how 
this section should be applied in situations where an emergency volunteer is exposed to a disease, 
like COVID-19, during volunteer activities. 
 
Government Code, Chapter 607, Subchapter B provides a statutory presumption to firefighters, 
emergency medical technicians (EMTs), and peace officers that certain diseases are work-related.  
These diseases include heart attacks and strokes, tuberculosis and other respiratory diseases, and 
smallpox or other diseases for which immunization is possible. Chapter 607 also provides a statutory 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc
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presumption for certain cancers for firefighters and EMTs. Certain situations must be met in order 
qualify for a presumption, including requirements that: 

• a firefighter, EMT, or peace officer must have been employed for at least five years; and 
• must have received a physical examination upon or during employment that failed to show 

evidence of the disease that is the subject of the presumption. 
 
Some argue that these statutory requirements should be permanently waived for a statewide 
disaster declaration involving a communicable disease since these requirements do not make sense 
for communicable diseases. On the other hand, others are concerned about the cost impact to 
governmental entities if a statutory presumption applies to communicable diseases like COVID-19. 
 
During the pandemic, some insurance carriers have investigated COVID-19 claims involving 
firefighters, EMTs, and peace officers under the respiratory illness presumption under Chapter 607 
(about 743 claims as of October 25, 2020). Many of these claims were subsequently denied (about 
41 percent) for a variety of reasons. One reason is that the respiratory illness presumption under 
Chapter 607 requires a “statistically positive correlation with work” as a firefighter, EMT, or peace 
officer. Since COVID-19 is a novel disease, these statistical correlations may be difficult to prove 
until more research becomes available. 
 
The statutory presumptions in Chapter 607 only apply to certain types of first responders. Some 
argue that a COVID-19 presumption should be created to cover various types of essential workers, 
who may have a higher likelihood of exposure to the disease compared to the general population. 
Others argue that creating such a presumption would significantly increase workers’ compensation 
costs and unfairly shift costs from group health to workers’ compensation. 
 

http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc
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