
No.  2021-6696

Subject Considered: 

Official Order 
of the 

Texas Commissioner of Insurance 

Date:  02/26/2021

Hudson Insurance Company 
100 William Street, 5th Floor 

New York City, New York 10038-5044 

Consent Order 
TDI Enforcement File Nos. 18678 and 26546 

General remarks and official action taken: 

For six years, Hudson Insurance Company (Hudson) used unapproved forms for its 
commercial package policies and personal umbrella policies. Hudson also failed to comply 
with rate filing requirements for policies issued to purchasing groups. For nearly five years, 
Hudson also failed to file rules and fees for recoupment of state motor vehicle crime 
prevention authority fees in commercial automobile policies. Hudson has taken corrective 
measures, including filing policy forms, rates for purchasing groups, and the fees it 
recoups from policyholders for motor vehicle crime prevention. Hudson also agrees to 
pay a $625,000 administrative penalty. 

Waiver 

Hudson acknowledges that the Texas Insurance Code and other applicable law provide 
certain rights. Hudson waives all these rights, and any other applicable procedural rights, 
in consideration of the entry of this consent order. 

Findings of Fact 

Licensure and Background 

1. Hudson is a foreign fire and casualty insurance company and has held a certificate
of authority to transact business in Texas since 2003.

.
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2. Hudson writes both commercial and personal insurance.

3. Since 2003, the Texas Insurance Code has required insurers to file insurance policy
forms with the Texas Department of Insurance (TDI) for approval and to file rates
before use. For policies effective on and after September 1, 2015, insurers providing
policies through purchasing groups are required to comply with these
requirements.

Use of Unfiled Forms 

4. From 2014 through 2020, Hudson issued policies in Texas using 157 unfiled forms.
Approximately 148 of these forms were included in 1,435 commercial package
policies issued to Texas policyholders. The other nine unfiled forms were included
in 2,626 personal umbrella polices issued to Texas policyholders.

5. The unfiled forms included forms for risk purchasing groups (26%), Insurance
Services Office (ISO) forms (32%), and other altered and unfiled forms (41%). Some
states do not require insurers to file ISO forms for review and approval, but Texas
does.

6. Hudson represents that the alterations included editing exclusion forms for
“clarity” and removing from previously approved forms coverage that Hudson was
not offering. Two of the personal umbrella policy forms had never been filed, while
the remaining seven were altered versions of forms that had been filed in the past.

Use of Unfiled Rates for Purchasing Groups 

7. From September 1, 2015 through 2020, Hudson used unfiled rates for four different
purchasing groups covering approximately 2,088 Texas insureds.

Failure to Indicate Rate Filings Apply to Coverage to Purchasing Groups 

8. In a rate filing in 2019, Hudson answered “No” to the question of whether the rate
filing would be used for risk purchasing groups. This filing was inaccurate and
incomplete because the filing was used for risk purchasing groups.
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Background on the ABTPA/MVCPA Fee 

9. Before September 1, 2019, the Automobile Burglary and Theft Prevention Authority
(ABTPA) was statutorily authorized to collect a fee of $2 per motor vehicle each
year from each insurer.

10. The state increased the annual fee from $2 to $4 for automobile insurance policies
delivered, issued, or renewed on or after September 1, 2019. H.B. 2048 (86th R.S.)

11. The state also changed the name of the ABTPA to the Motor Vehicle Crime
Prevention Authority (MVCPA) and moved the statutory language for the MVCPA
to the Transportation Code. S.B. 604 (86th R.S.)

12. Texas law allows an insurer to recoup the fee from policyholders if it is properly
disclosed to each policyholder in the policy, and if the insurer has submitted a rate
and rule filing with the amount of the fee collected from policyholders.

13. All insurers are required to file certain rating information, including fees, manuals,
and supplementary rating information under Texas law. These filings must include
fees and amounts other than premium collected by an insurer in connection with
a policy, such as ABTPA and MVCPA fees.

Failure to Disclose ABTPA/MVCPA Fee Recoupment  

14. From December 1, 2014, through September 4, 2019, Hudson recouped the ABTPA
and MVCPA fees from approximately 2,600 commercial automobile policyholders
without having any rules or fees on file disclosing this recoupment to TDI.

15. Hudson represents that it disclosed the recoupment of these fees to its
policyholders on the policy declaration pages.

16. Hudson filed updated rate and rule filings for its commercial automobile insurance
business that described the recoupment of the MVCPA fees. These filings became
effective in September 2019.
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Corrective Measures 
 
17. Hudson began making filings during TDI’s investigation and represents it has since 

filed all forms and rates it presently uses in Texas. 
 

18. Hudson represents that it hired a consultant in 2019 to audit its personal umbrella 
and commercial auto lines of business. Additional lines were audited and 
completed before November 30, 2020. 
 

19. Hudson investigated all claims made on both the commercial package policies and 
the personal umbrella policies containing the unfiled forms and represents it found 
that no policyholders were harmed by its use of the unfiled forms.  
 

20. For all Texas policyholders who were issued altered personal umbrella policy forms, 
Hudson represents it has replaced those altered forms with approved forms.  

 
21. Hudson further represents it has hired three additional staff to implement an 

improved, ongoing internal audit process and assist with monitoring, filing, and 
implementing rates and forms. 
 

22. Hudson further represents it has contracted with third party vendors and 
implemented two programs, FilingRamp and ISO’s Mozart Form Composer, to 
better manage and track filings and approved forms. 
 

Conclusions of Law 
 
1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter under TEX. INS. CODE §§ 82.051–

82.055, 84.021–84.051, and 801.051–801.053. 
 

2. The commissioner has the authority to informally dispose of this matter as set forth 
in TEX. GOV’T CODE § 2001.056, TEX. INS. CODE §§ 36.104 and 82.055, and 28 TEX. ADMIN. 
CODE § 1.47. 
 

3. Hudson has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to which it may 
have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, including, but not limited to, 
issuance and service of notice of intention to institute disciplinary action, notice of 
hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, rehearing by the commissioner, 
and judicial review. 
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4. Hudson violated TEX. INS. CODE § 2301.006 and Title 28, Chapter 5, Subchapter M, 

Division 5 of the Texas Administrative Code, by delivering or issuing for delivery in 
this state, forms for use in writing insurance that had not been filed with and 
approved by the commissioner.   
 

5. Hudson violated TEX. INS. CODE § 2251.101 and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 5.9337 by 
failing to fully comply with the rate and rule filing requirements described in Title 
28, Chapter 5, Subchapter M, Division 6 of the Texas Administrative Code, when 
providing coverage through purchasing groups.   
 

6. Hudson violated 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 5.9334(b), by failing to file with TDI its rules 
and fees for the recoupment of the $2 ABTPA fee or $4 MVCPA fee from 
policyholders per motor vehicle each year. 
 

Order 
 

It is ordered that Hudson Insurance Company must contract with a third party, at its own 
expense, to perform an independent audit to be completed by April 30, 2021, of its issued 
policies and form and rate filings to verify and confirm compliance with TEX. INS. CODE 
§§ 2301.006 and 2251.101, applicable rules, and all of the commitments made in this 
order. The auditor’s report must be submitted to TDI no later than May 1, 2021, and must 
be sent electronically to EnforcementReports@tdi.texas.gov. 
 
It is further ordered that Hudson must pay an administrative penalty of $625,000 within 
30 days from the date of this order. The penalty must be paid by cashier’s check or money 
order made payable to the “State of Texas,” or by electronic wire transfer as instructed by 
TDI in the penalty invoice. Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas Department of 
Insurance, Attn: Enforcement Division 60851, MC 9999, P.O. Box 149104, Austin, Texas 
78714-9104.  
 
This consent order pertains solely to the resolution of the department’s allegations 
against Hudson specifically described in this order. This consent order does not: resolve 
any allegations or violations with respect to any other pending or anticipated Enforcement 
investigations; address or impact other department sections’ and divisions’ actions,  
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proceedings, examinations, investigations, or duties; or, limit the authority of the 
commissioner or the department to initiate any action with respect to any other pending 
or anticipated Enforcement investigation. 

Commissioner of Insurance 
 
 
 
       By:  _______________________________ 
       Doug Slape 
       Chief Deputy Commissioner 
       TEX. GOV’T CODE § 601.002

Commissioner's Order No. 2018-5528 

Recommended and reviewed by: 

_____________________________________ 
Leah Gillum, Deputy Commissioner 
Enforcement Division 

_____________________________________ 
Amanda Atkinson Cagle, Staff Attorney 
Enforcement Division 
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Affidavit 

STATE OF _________________ § 
§ 

COUNTY OF ______________ § 

Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared ______________________________, 
who being by me duly sworn, deposed as follows: 

“My name is __________________________________. I am of sound mind, capable of making this 
statement, and have personal knowledge of these facts which are true and correct. 

I hold the office of _______________________________ and am the authorized representative of 
Hudson Insurance Company. I am duly authorized by said organization to execute this 
statement. 

Hudson Insurance Company has knowingly and voluntarily entered into the foregoing 
consent order and agrees with and consents to the issuance and service of the same by 
the commissioner of insurance of the state of Texas.” 

___________________________________ 
Affiant 

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on ________________________, 2021. 

(NOTARY SEAL) 

__________________________________________ 
       Signature of Notary Public 
 
       __________________________________________ 
       Printed Name of Notary Public 

________________
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Cameron Gourlay

February 17

Cameron Gourlay

VP,Compliance

Hudson Insurance Company

Karin L. Zimmerly

New York

New York
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