No. 2024-8637

Official Order
of the
Texas Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation

Date: 4/30/2024

Subject Considered:
New Hampshire Insurance Company
175 Water Street, Floor 18
New York, New York 10038-4976

Consent Order
DWC Enforcement File Nos. 33518, 33543, 33636, and 33637

General remarks and official action taken:

This is a consent order with New Hampshire Insurance Company (Respondent). The
commissioner of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers” Compensation
(DWC) considers whether DWC should take disciplinary action against Respondent.

Waiver

Respondent acknowledges that the Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws provide
certain rights. Respondent waives all of these rights, and any other procedural rights that
apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.

Findings of Fact

1. Respondent holds a certificate of authority issued by the Texas Department of
Insurance to transact the business of insurance pursuant to Tex. Ins. Code §§
801.051-801.053 and is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance in Texas,
including workers’ compensation/employers’ liability insurance.

2. Respondent was classified as “average” tier in the 2022, 2020, and 2018
Performance Based Oversight (PBO) assessments.
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Failure to Pay Accrued Impairment Income Benefits Based on a Designated Doctor Report

File No. 33518

On , Respondent received a designated doctor (DD) report of a DD
examination performed on

hat the injured employee reached maximum medical
-, with al% impairment rating (IR).

Respondent was required to pay accrued impairment income benefits (11Bs) no later
than five days after receiving the DD report, or by

On - Respondent paid $- in 11Bs, which was 53 days late.
On _ Respondent paid - in interest, which was 18 days late.

The DD determined t
improvement (MMI) on

Failure to Pay Accrued |IBs Based on a Certifying Doctor Report

File No. 33543

10.

11.

On _ Respondent received a DWC Form-69, Report of Medical
Evaluation, from the injured employee'’s certifying doctor (CD) in connection with
a CD examination.

Thle CD determined that the injured employee reached MMI on - with
afg% IR.

Respondent was required to pay accrued IIBs no later than five days after receiving
the CD report. The deadline to pay benefits was

On _ Respondent paid $- in 11Bs, which was 14 days late.
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Failure to Pay Accrued Temporary Income Benefits Based on a DD Report

File No. 33636

12.

13.

14.

15.

16.

17.

On , a CD certified that an injured employee reached MMI on
, with aJ§% IR. Respondent suspended income benefit payments based on
this certification.

On , a second CD certified that the injured employee reached MMI
on , with al% IR. Respondent stopped paying IIBs on -

On Respondent received a DD report of a DD examination
performed on :

The DD determined that the injured employee reached MMI on _ with
afffos R

Respondent was required to pay accrued temporary income benefits (TIBs) for the
period of , through , no later than five days after
receiving the DD report. The deadline to pay benefits was

On _ Respondent paid _ in TIBs and interest, which was 66

days late.

Improperly Recouping an Overpayment of Income Benefits

File No. 33637

18.

19.

20.

On , Respondent paid IIBs to the injured employee in File No. 33636.
Respondent was required to deduct attorney fees from the injured employee’s I1Bs.

Prior to the payment of IIBs, Respondent incorrectly determined that it had
overpaid the injured employee.

Because the injured employee’s |IBs were being reduced for attorney fees, the most
Respondent could deduct to recoup an overpayment was [ill%. Furthermore, the
recoupment could not begin earlier than the second income benefit payment
made after the injured employee received written notice of the deduction.
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21.  However, on . Respondent reduced the injured employee's benefits
by an additional %, in the amount of , from the benefits checks issued to
the injured employee due to the alleged overpayment.

22.  On . Respondent sent the injured employee a plain language notice
stating benefits would be reduced due to an overpayment.

23.  Respondent imp
underpayment of

roierli reduced benefits for nine weeks leading to an

24. On , Respondent paid to the injured employee and ceased
further deductions after discovering that no overpayment actually occurred.

Assessment of Sanction

1. Failure to provide income benefits in a timely and cost-effective manner is harmful
to injured employees and the Texas workers' compensation system.

2. Improper attempts to recoup an overpayment harm injured employees and
abrogates a carrier's responsibilities under the Texas Workers' Compensation Act
and DWC Rules.

3. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the following factors
in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e):
o the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances,
consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act;
o the history and extent of previous administrative violations;
e theviolator's demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify
the consequences of the prohibited act;
o the penalty necessary to deter future violations;
e whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the delivery
of benefits to an injured employee;
e the history of compliance with electronic data interchange requirements;
¢ tothe extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting from the prohibited
act; and
e other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to:
o PBO assessments;
o prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations;

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §§402.083 and 402.092
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self-report of the violation;

the size of the company or practice;

the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and
evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with
the Texas Workers' Compensation Act and DWC rules.

0O O O O

DWC found the following factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin.
Code § 180.26(e) to be aggravating: the seriousness of the violation, including the
nature, circumstances, consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; the
history and extent of previous administrative violations; the penalty necessary to
deter future violations; and whether the administrative violation had a negative
impact on the delivery of benefits to an injured employee.

DWC is aware of no mitigating factors pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and
28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e).

Respondent acknowledges communicating with DWC about the relevant statute
and rule violations alleged; that the facts establish that the administrative
violation(s) occurred; and that the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the
factors DWC considered under Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin.
Code § 180.26(e).

Respondent acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the
factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e).

Conclusions of Law

The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code
§§ 402.001, 402.00114, 402.00116, 402.00128, 414.002, and 414.003.

The commissioner has the authority to dispose of this case informally pursuant to
Tex. Gov't Code § 2001.056, Tex. Lab. Code §§ 401.021 and 402.00128(b)(6)-(7), and
28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(h) and ().

Respondent has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to which it

may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, including, but not limited
to, issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary action, notice of

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092
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hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by the commissioner,
and judicial review.

Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021, the commissioner may assess an
administrative penalty against a person who commits an administrative violation.

Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(20) and (22), an insurance carrier or its
representative commits an administrative violation each time it violates a DWC rule
or a provision of the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act.

Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code §§ 408.081, 409.023, and 415.002(a)(16), an insurance
carrier must pay benefits weekly, as and when the benefits accrue, without order
from the commissioner.

Failure to Pay Accrued |IBs Based on a DD Report

File Nos. 33518

7.

Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.0041(f), an insurance carrier must pay benefits
based on the opinion of the DD during any pending dispute.

Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 127.10(h), an insurance carrier must pay all
benefits in accordance with the DD report for the issues in dispute no later than
five days after receiving the report.

Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 409.023 and 415.002(a)(16), (20), and (22);
and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 127.10(h) by failing to timely pay accrued income
benefits in accordance with the DD report no later than five days after receiving
the report.

Failure to Pay Accrued IIBs Based on a CD Report

File No. 33543

10.

Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.121(b), an insurance carrier must pay |IBs no later
than five days after the insurance carrier receives the CD's report certifying MMI.

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092



2024-8637

Commissioner’s Order

New Hampshire Insurance Company

DWC Enforcement File Nos. 33518, 33543, 33636, and 33637
Page 7 of 10

11.

12.

Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 130.8, an insurance carrier must pay benefits in
accordance with the treating doctor's medical evaluation report no later than five
days after receiving the treating doctor's medical evaluation report when MMl is
not disputed.

Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 408.121(b), 409.023 and 415.002(a)(16), (20),
and (22) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 130.8 by failing to timely pay accrued income
benefits within five days of receiving the CD report.

Failure to Pay Accrued TIBs on a DD Report

File No. 33636

13.

14.

15.

Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.0041(f), an insurance carrier must pay benefits
based on the opinion of the DD during any pending dispute.

Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 127.10(h), the insurance carrier must pay all
benefits in accordance with the DD report for the issues in dispute no later than
five days after receiving the report.

Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 408.0041(f); 409.023; 415.002(a)(16), (20),
and (22); and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 127.10(h) by failing to timely pay accrued
income benefits in accordance with the DD report no later than five days after
receiving the report.

Improperly Recouping an Overpayment of Income Benefits

File No. 33637

16.

17.

Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.0815(a)(1), the commissioner by rule shall
establish a procedure by which an insurance carrier may recoup an overpayment
of income benefits from future income benefit payments.

Pursuant 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 126.16(b)(1), if an insurance carrier determines that
it has overpaid income benefits to an injured employee, the insurance carrier may
recoup the overpayment from future income benefit payments after the insurance
carrier notifies the injured employee in writing that it will begin withholding

benefits to recoup an overpayment.
Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092
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18.

19.

Pursuant 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 126.16(b)(2), if the injured employee's income
benefits are concurrently being reduced to pay approved attorney's fees or to
recoup a division approved advance, the insurance carrier may recoup the
overpayment under this subsection in an amount not to exceed 10% of the income
benefit payment to which the injured employee is entitled. The insurance carrier
may not begin recoupment of the overpayment earlier than the second income
benefit payment made after the written notice has been sent to the injured
employee.

Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 415.002(a)(20); and 28 Tex. Admin. Code §
126.16(b)(1) and (2) by failing improperly recouping overpayments of income
benefit.

Failure to Timely Pay Interest

File No. 33518

20.

21.

Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.064 and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 126.12(b), accrued
but unpaid income benefits and interest shall be paid in a lump sum.

Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 408.064 and 415.002(a)(20) and (22) and 28

Tex. Admin. Code § 126.12(b) each time Respondent failed to timely pay interest
with accrued but unpaid income benefits.

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092
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Order

It is ordered that New Hampshire Insurance Company must pay an administrative penalty
of $10,000 within 30 days from the date the Commissioner signs the order.

After receiving an invoice, New Hampshire Insurance Company must pay the
administrative penalty by electronic transfer using the State Invoice Payment Service,
company check, cashier's check, or money order and make it payable to the “State of
Texas.” Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas Department of Insurance, Attn: DWC
Enforcement Section, MC AO-9999, PO Box 12030, Austin, Texas 78711-2030.

Jeff Nelson
Commissioner
TDI, Division of Workers" Compensation

Approved Form and Content:

%@« /M.M

Stephen Jewell

Staff Attorney, Enforcement
Compliance and Investigations

TDI, Division of Workers" Compensation

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092
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Unsworn Declaration

STATE OF NEW JERSEY §
§
COUNTY OF HUDSON §

Pursuant to the Tex. Civ. Prac. and Rem. Code § 132.001(a), (b), and (d), my name is
Peter H. Macdonald. | hold the position of Vice President and am the authorized
representative of New Hampshire Insurance Company. My business address is:

30 Hudson Street, Jersey City, Hudson,  NJ, 07302.

(Street) (City) (County) (State) (ZIP Code)

| am executing this declaration as part of my assigned duties and responsibilities. | declare
under penalty of perjury that the facts stated in this document are true and correct.

Declarant

March 10
Executed on ,2024.

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092





