No. 2024-8614

Official Order of the Texas Commissioner of Workers' Compensation

Date: 04/17/2024

Subject Considered:

Liberty Insurance Corporation 175 Berkeley Street Boston, Massachusetts 02116-5066

Consent Order
DWC Enforcement File Nos. 33052 & 34147

General remarks and official action taken:

This is a consent order with Liberty Insurance Corporation (Respondent). The commissioner of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC) considers whether DWC should take disciplinary action against Respondent.

Waiver

Respondent acknowledges that the Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws provide certain rights. Respondent waives all of these rights, and any other procedural rights that apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.

Findings of Fact

- 1. Respondent holds a certificate of authority issued by the Texas Department of Insurance to transact the business of insurance pursuant to Tex. Ins. Code §§ 801.051-801.053 and is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance in Texas, including workers' compensation/employers' liability insurance.
- 2. Respondent was classified as "average" tier in the 2022, 2020, and 2018 Performance Based Oversight (PBO) assessments.

Commissioner's Order Liberty Insurance Corporation DWC Enforcement File Nos. 33052 & 34147 Page 2 of 8

Failure to Timely Initiate Payment of Accrued Temporary Income Benefits

File No. 33052

3. Respondent was required to pay temporary income benefits (TIBs) to an injured employee from the seven days after the first day of the pay period. Respondent failed to timely pay TIBs, as follows:

7	Payment Period	Date Due	Date Paid	Days Late
a.	to			37
b.	to			30
c.	to		_	23
d.	to	53 F 23		16
e.	to	54 d i		9
f.	to		_	2

- 4. On , Respondent paid \$ in late TIBs.
- 5. On Respondent paid \$ in interest, which was 25 days late.

Failure to Pay Initial Supplemental Income Benefits

File No. 34147

- 6. On Respondent received a Notice of Entitlement to Supplemental Income Benefits (SIBs), for the first quarter. The first quarter of SIBs began on .
- 7. Respondent's payment for the second month of the first quarter was due by the 37th day of the first quarter, or by
- 8. On Respondent paid \$ in SIBs for the second month of the first quarter, which was 28 days late.

Commissioner's Order Liberty Insurance Corporation DWC Enforcement File Nos. 33052 & 34147 Page 3 of 8

Assessment of Sanction

- 1. Failure to provide income benefits in a timely and cost-effective manner is harmful to injured employees and the Texas workers' compensation system.
- 2. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the following factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e):
 - the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act;
 - the history and extent of previous administrative violations;
 - the violator's demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify the consequences of the prohibited act;
 - the penalty necessary to deter future violations;
 - whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the delivery of benefits to an injured employee;
 - the history of compliance with electronic data interchange requirements;
 - to the extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting from the prohibited act; and
 - other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to:
 - PBO assessments;
 - o prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations;
 - o self-report of the violation;
 - o the size of the company or practice;
 - o the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and
 - evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with the Texas Workers' Compensation Act and DWC rules.
- 3. DWC found the following factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e) to be aggravating: the seriousness of the violation; the penalty necessary to deter future violations; the negative impact on the delivery of benefits to an injured employee; and Respondent's heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with the Texas Workers' Compensation Act and DWC rules.
- 4. DWC is aware of no mitigating factors pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e).
- 5. Respondent acknowledges communicating with DWC about the relevant statute and rule violations alleged; that the facts establish that the administrative

violation(s) occurred; and that the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the factors DWC considered under Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e).

6. Respondent acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e).

Conclusions of Law

- 1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code §§ 402.001, 402.00111, 402.00114, 402.00116, 402.00128, 414.002, and 414.003.
- 2. The commissioner has the authority to dispose of this case informally pursuant to Tex. Gov't Code § 2001.056, Tex. Lab. Code §§ 401.021 and 402.00128(b)(6)-(7), and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(h) and (i).
- 3. Respondent has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to which it may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, including, but not limited to, issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary action, notice of hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by the commissioner, and judicial review.
- 4. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021, the commissioner may assess an administrative penalty against a person who commits an administrative violation.
- 5. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code §§ 408.081, 409.023, and 415.002(a)(16), an insurance carrier must pay benefits weekly, as and when the benefits accrue, without order from the commissioner.
- 6. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code §§ 415.002(a)(20) and (22), an insurance carrier or its representative commits an administrative violation each time it fails to comply with a DWC rule or a provision of the Texas Workers' Compensation Act.

Commissioner's Order Liberty Insurance Corporation DWC Enforcement File Nos. 33052 & 34147 Page 5 of 8

Failure to Timely Initiate Payment of Accrued TIBs

File No. 33052

- 7. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code §§ 408.081, 408.082, and 409.021 and 28 Tex. Admin. Code §§ 124.3 and 124.7, an insurance carrier is required to initiate payment of TIBs no later than the 15th day after it receives written notice of the injury or the seventh day after the accrual date, unless the insurance carrier notifies DWC and the injured employee in writing of its refusal to pay.
- 8. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 409.021; 415.002(a)(16), (20), and (22); and 28 Tex. Admin. Code §§ 124.3 and 124.7 each time Respondent failed to timely initiate payment of TIBs.

Failure to Timely Pay Interest

File No. 33052

- 9. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.064 and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 126.12(b), accrued but unpaid income benefits and interest shall be paid in a lump sum.
- 10. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(20) and (22) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 126.12(b) each time Respondent failed to timely pay interest with accrued but unpaid income benefits.

Failure to Pay Initial Supplemental Income Benefits

File No. 34147

- 11. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.144, SIBs are calculated quarterly and paid monthly.
- 12. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.145, an insurance carrier must pay SIBs no later than the seventh day after the employee's impairment income benefit period expires and must continue to pay the benefits in a timely manner.
- 13. Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 130.107, an insurance carrier must make the first payment of SIBs for the first quarter by the 10th day after receiving a DWC

Commissioner's Order Liberty Insurance Corporation DWC Enforcement File Nos. 33052 & 34147 Page 6 of 8

determination of entitlement or the seventh day of the quarter. An insurance carrier must make the second payment by the 37th day of the quarter and the third payment by the 67th day of the quarter.

14. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 408.145, 409.023; 415.002(a)(20) and (22); and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 130.107 by failing to timely pay SIBs for the second month of the first quarter.

Commissioner's Order Liberty Insurance Corporation DWC Enforcement File Nos. 33052 & 34147 Page 7 of 8

Order

It is ordered that Liberty Insurance Corporation must pay an administrative penalty of \$7,500 within 30 days from the date the Commissioner signs the order.

After receiving an invoice, Liberty Insurance Corporation must pay the administrative penalty by electronic transfer using the State Invoice Payment Service, company check, cashier's check, or money order and make it payable to the "State of Texas." Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas Department of Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement Section, MC AO-9999, PO Box 12030, Austin, Texas 78711-2030.

Jeff Nelson Commissioner

TDI, Division of Workers' Compensation

Approved Form and Content:

Stephen Jewell

Stephen 11. Jewell

Staff Attorney, Enforcement Compliance and Investigations

TDI, Division of Workers' Compensation

Commissioner's Order Liberty Insurance Corporation DWC Enforcement File Nos. 33052 & 34147 Page 8 of 8

Unsworn Declaration

STATE OF TEXAS	§
	5
COUNTY OF Colin	§

Pursuant to the Tex. Civ. Prac. and Rem. Code § 132.001(a), (b), and (d), my name is MCISSE Hanning. I hold the position of Team Manager and am thee authorized representative of Liberty Insurance Corporation. My business address is:

7900 Windrose Ave. Plane Collin Tx, 75024

(Street) (City) (County) (State) (ZIP Code)

I am executing this declaration as part of my assigned duties and responsibilities. I declare under penalty of perjury that the facts stated in this document are true and correct.

Declarant

Executed on march 26, 2024.

Delmise marten

Denise W Martin
My Commission Expires
04/23/2025
ID No. 5470803