N2019 6095

# OFFICIAL ORDER of the

# TEXAS COMMISSIONER OF WORKERS' COMPENSATION

Date: SEP 2 7 2019

Subject Considered:

#### TRANSPORTATION INSURANCE COMPANY

9500 Arboretum Boulevard, Suite 145 Austin, Texas 78759-6307

# CONSENT ORDER

TDI-DWC ENFORCEMENT FILE NO. 20952

#### General remarks and official action taken:

The commissioner of workers' compensation (commissioner) considers whether disciplinary action should be taken against Transportation Insurance Company (Transportation).

## WAIVER

Transportation acknowledges that the Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws provide certain rights. Transportation waives all of these rights and any other applicable procedural rights in consideration of the entry of this consent order.

#### FINDINGS OF FACT

The commissioner makes the following findings of fact:

- Transportation holds a certificate of authority issued by the Texas Department of Insurance
  to transact the business of insurance pursuant to Tex. Ins. Code §§ 801.051-801.053, and
  is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance, including workers'
  compensation/employers' liability.
- Transportation was classified as "average" tier in 2007 and 2009 Performance Based Oversight (PBO) assessments. Transportation was not selected to be tiered in the 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, or 2018 PBO assessments.

#### FAILURE TO TIMELY INITIATE PAYMENT OF TEMPORARY INCOME BENEFITS

| 3. | On   | Transportation received notice of an injury to an injured employee. |                  |
|----|--|---|------------------|
| 4. | The first day of disability for the injured employee began on a day of disability accrued on |   | , and the eighth |

5. Transportation was required to initiate or dispute temporary income benefits (TIBs) the later of 15 days after Transportation's written notice of the injury or seven days after the accrual date, which in this case was on

6. Transportation did not file a dispute of disability with the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers' Compensation (DWC) and issued the initial TIBs payment on which was 54 days late.

#### ASSESSMENT OF SANCTION

- Failure to provide appropriate income benefits in a manner that is timely and cost-effective is harmful to injured employees and to the Texas workers' compensation system.
- In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC appropriately and fully considered the following factors set forth in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e):
  - the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act;
  - the history and extent of previous administrative violations;
  - the demonstrated good faith of the violator, including actions taken to rectify the consequences of the prohibited act;
  - · the penalty necessary to deter future violations;
  - whether the administrative violation has negative impact on the delivery of benefits to an injured employee;
  - the history of compliance with electronic data interchange requirements;
  - other matters that justice may require, including but not limited to:
    - o PBO assessments;
    - the promptness and earnestness of actions to prevent future violations;
    - o self-report of the violation;
    - o the size of the company or practice;
    - o the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and
    - evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with the Texas Workers' Compensation Act and DWC rules; and
  - to the extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting from the prohibited act.
- 9. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC found the following factors set forth in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e) to be aggravating: the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; the history and extent of previous administrative violations; the penalty necessary to deter future violations; whether the administrative violation has negative impact on the delivery of benefits to an injured employee; the history of compliance with electronic data interchange requirements; and other matters that justice may require including the size of the company or practice.
- 10. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC found the following factors set forth in Tex. LAB. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e) to be mitigating: other matters that justice may require, including the promptness and earnestness of actions to prevent future violations.

COMMISSIONER'S ORDER
Transportation Insurance Company
TDI-DWC Enforcement File No. 20952
Page 3 of 5

- 11. Transportation acknowledges that DWC and Transportation have communicated regarding the relevant statutes and rules violated; the facts establishing that the administrative violation occurred; and the appropriateness of the proposed sanction, including how DWC considered the factors under Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e).
- Transportation acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the factors set forth in Tex. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e).

### CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The commissioner makes the following conclusions of law:

- The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE §§ 402.001, 402.00111, 402.00114, 402.00116, 402.00128, 414.002, 414.003, 415.002, and 415.021.
- The commissioner has authority to informally dispose of this matter as set forth under TEX. GOV'T CODE § 2001.056, TEX. LAB. CODE § 402.00128(b)(7), and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(h).
- Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021, the commissioner may assess an administrative penalty against a person who commits an administrative violation.
- Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(20), an insurance carrier or its representative commits an administrative violation each time it violates a DWC rule.
- Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(22), an insurance carrier or its representative commits an administrative violation each time it fails to comply with a provision of the Texas Workers' Compensation Act.
- 6. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code §§ 408.081, 408.082, and 409.021 and 28 Tex. Admin. Code §§ 124.3 and 124.7, insurance carriers are required to initiate payment of TIBs not later than the 15th day after the date on which the insurance carrier receives written notice of the injury, or the seventh day after the accrual date, unless the insurance carrier has notified DWC and the injured employee in writing of its refusal to pay.
- Transportation violated Tex. LAB. Code §§ 415.002(a)(20), 415.002(a)(22), and 409.021 when it failed to timely initiate payment of TIBs.

COMMISSIONER'S ORDER Transportation Insurance Company TDI-DWC Enforcement File No. 20952 Page 4 of 5

2019 6095

## **ORDER**

Transportation Insurance Company is ORDERED to pay an administrative penalty of \$6,000 within 30 days from the date of this Order.

The administrative penalty must be paid by company check, cashier's check, or money order made payable to the "State of Texas." Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas Department of Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement, MC 9999, P.O. Box 149104, Austin, Texas, 78714-9104.

Cassie Brown

Commissioner of Workers' Compensation

Approved as to Form and Content:

Glen Imes

Staff Attorney, DWC Enforcement Texas Department of Insurance COMMISSIONER'S ORDER Transportation Insurance Company TDI-DWC Enforcement File No. 20952 Page 5 of 5

2019 6095

# **AFFIDAVIT**

| STATE OF TUINOIS §   |   |  |  |  |
|--|---|--|--|--|
| COUNTY OF Cook §   |   |  |  |  |
| Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared the affiant, who being by me duly sworn, deposed as follows:                   |   |  |  |  |
| "My name is I am of sound mind, capable of making this statement, and have personal knowledge of these facts which are true and correct. |   |  |  |  |
| I hold the office of SUP CLAM Transportation Insurance Company. I am statement.  | , and am the authorized representative of duly authorized by said organization to execute this      |  |  |  |
|  | rights provided by the Texas Labor Code and other urisdiction of the Texas commissioner of workers' |  |  |  |
| Transportation Insurance Company is volumed Insurance Company consents to the issuance Affiant   | ntarily entering into this consent order. Transportation e and service of this consent order."      |  |  |  |
| SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on Avenst 19, 2019.  |   |  |  |  |
| "OFFICIAL SEAL" JOAN A. GBUREK Notary Public, State of Illinois My Commission Expires 02/06/2021   | Signature of Notary Public  Joan A Glovek  Printed Name of Notary Public                            |  |  |  |
|  | 21612021  |  |  |  |

Commission Expiration Date