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Texas Department of Insurance  
Division of Workers’ Compensation 
Medical Fee Dispute Resolution, MS-48 
7551 Metro Center Drive, Suite 100  Austin, Texas 78744-1609 

 

MEDICAL FEE DISPUTE RESOLUTION FINDINGS AND DECISION 

PART I:  GENERAL INFORMATION 

Requestor Name and Address: 
 

DR JOHN SMITH 
123 MAIN STREET 
DALLAS, TX 11111 

MFDR Tracking #: M4-11-1311-01 

DWC Claim #:  

Injured Employee:  

Respondent Name and Box #: 
 
 

ABC INSURANCE 
BOX #: 05 
 

 

Date of Injury:  

Employer Name:  

Insurance Carrier #:  

PART II:  REQUESTOR’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Requestor’s Position Summary: Claims for dates of service 04/12/2010 and 04/15/2010 were denied for timely filing on 
both 8/30/2010 and 10/13/2010…we were informed that both these claims were never received and discovered it was due 
to wrong mailing address.  We were given the correct mailing address to send the claims appropriately.  When both claims 
were denied for timely filing we attempted to appeal this decision based on the standards that we were given wrong 
information to begin with.  We appealed dates of service 04/15/2010 on 09/16/2010 and date of service 04/12/2010 on 
10/04/2010.  Upon talking to Cue Lee the patient’s adjuster, he stated that Traveler’s Peer Review is maintaining the 
original denial of timely filing and stating that there is not sufficient proof of timely filing provided.  We feel that these claims 
should be processed and paid because the claims were sent to the wrong mailing address in the first place due to 
information that was beyond our control, and when providing proof of timely filing we provided the appropriate print screen 
with original filing dates which is considered sufficient proof of filing within the time frame.     

Amount in Dispute:  $2,830.00 

PART III:  RESPONDENT’S POSITION SUMMARY 

Respondent’s Position Summary:  Billing for both dates of service was received by the Carrier on 08-12-2010, as 
documented by the attached Explanation of Benefits.  The Carrier reviewed the billing and denied the bill as untimely 
filed…Rule 133.20(b) requires the Provider submit the bill within 95 days of the date of service, and consequently the bill 
was not timely submitted.  Although the Provider alleges an earlier submission date, the only documentation presented to 
support that allegation shows only that billing was printed, not that the billing was actually mailed or faxed to a valid contact 
for the Carrier.  In fact, the Provider admits they did not mail the billing to the proper address for the Carrier.  The 
presumption of Rule 102.4(h) applies based on the later date, which is the Carrier’s received date.  As such, the 
documentation is insufficient to support timely filing, and the Carrier properly denied the medical bill.   

PART IV:  SUMMARY OF FINDINGS 

Dates of 
Service 

Disputed Services Calculations 
Amount in 

Dispute 
Amount Due 

04/12/2010 
 

 
62290 
72295 

62290-51 
72295-26 x 2 

72295-51 
 

N/A $2,830.00 $0.00 

04/15/2010 99213 

Total Due: $0.00 
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PART V:  FINDINGS AND DECISION 

This medical fee dispute is decided pursuant to Texas Labor Code §413.031 of the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act, 
and pursuant to all applicable, adopted rules of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation. 

Background  

1. 28 Tex. Admin. Code §133.307 sets out the procedures for health care providers to pursue a medical fee dispute.  

2. 28 Tex. Admin. Code §133.20 sets out the procedures for health care providers to submit workers’ compensation 
medical bills for reimbursement. 

3. 28 Tex. Admin. Code §102.4 set out the rules for Non-Commission Communications.  

4. Texas Labor Code §408.0272 set out the rules for certain exceptions for untimely submission of a claim by a health 
care provider.   

5. The services in dispute were reduced/denied by the respondent with the following reason codes: 

Explanation of benefits dated 08/30/10  

 29- The time limit for filing has expired.  Per Texas Labor Code 480.027, bills must be sent to the Carrier on a 
timely basis, within 95 days from dates of service. 

 

Explanation of benefits dated 10/08/10 & 10/18/10 

 W4-No additional reimbursement allowed after review of appeal/reconsideration. 

 

Issues  

1. Did the requestor submit the medical bill for the services in dispute timely and in accordance with 28 Tex. Admin. 
Code §133.20? 

2. Did the requestor submit documentation to support the disputed bills were submitted timely in accordance with Texas 
Labor Code, Section §408.027 and §102.4? 

3. Is the requestor entitled to reimbursement? 

Findings  

1.     28 Tex. Admin. Code §133.20(b) states in pertinent part “Except as provided in Texas Labor Code §408.0272…a 
health care provider shall not submit a medical bill later than the 95th day after the date the services are provided.” 
No documentation was found to support that §408.0272 applies to the service in dispute, for that reason, the health 
care provider and requestor in this dispute were required to send the medical bill no later than 95 days after the 
service in dispute was provided. 28 Tex. Admin. Code §102.4(h) states “Unless the great weight of evidence 
indicates otherwise, written communications shall be deemed to have been sent on: (1) the date received, if sent by 
fax, personal delivery, or electronic transmission or, (2) the date postmarked if sent by mail via United States Postal 
Service regular mail, or, if the postmark date is unavailable, the later of the signature date on the written 
communication or the date it was received minus five days. If the date received minus five days is a Sunday or legal 
holiday, the date deemed sent shall be the next previous day which is not a Sunday or legal holiday.” 

Review of the documentation submitted by the Requestor finds a copy of two medical bills with printed date 
12/08/2010 in box 31. Two EOB’s dated of 08/30/10, 10/08/10 &10/18/10 and a print screen of Requestor’s billing 
history.  No documentation was found to sufficiently support that the medical bill was submitted to the Respondent 
within 95 days from the date the services were provided.  

2.     In accordance with Tex. Lab. Code Ann. §408.027, the health care provider and requestor in this medical fee 
dispute has forfeited the right to reimbursement due to untimely submission of the medical bill for the service in 
dispute. 

Conclusion  

For the reasons stated above, the division finds that the requestor has failed to establish that reimbursement is due.   As a 
result, the amount ordered is $0.00.   
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PART VI:  ORDER 

Based upon the documentation submitted by the parties and in accordance with the provisions of Texas Labor Code 
§413.031, the Division has determined that the requestor is entitled to $0.00 reimbursement for the disputed services. 

       

 Authorized Signature  Medical Fee Dispute Resolution Officer  Date  

PART VII:  YOUR RIGHT TO REQUEST AN APPEAL 

Either party to this medical fee dispute has a right to request an appeal.  A request for hearing must be in writing and it 
must be received by the DWC Chief Clerk of Proceedings within 20 (twenty) days of your receipt of this decision.  A 
request for hearing should be sent to:  Chief Clerk of Proceedings, Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers 
Compensation, P.O. Box 17787, Austin, Texas, 78744.  Please include a copy of the Medical Fee Dispute Resolution 
Findings and Decision together with other required information specified in Division rule at 28 Tex. Admin. Code 
§148.3(c). 
 
Under Texas Labor Code § 413.0311, your appeal will be handled by a Division hearing under Title 28 Texas 
Administrative Code Chapter 142 rules if the total amount sought does not exceed $2,000.  If the total amount sought 
exceeds $2,000, a hearing will be conducted by the State Office of Administrative Hearings under Texas Labor Code 
§413.031. 
 
Si prefiere hablar con una persona en español acerca de ésta correspondencia, favor de llamar a 512-804-4812. 

 


