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Texas law requires people who drive in Texas to 
pay for the accidents they cause. Most drivers 
do this by buying auto liability insurance. 
Liability insurance pays to repair or replace 
the other driver’s car and pays other people’s 
medical expenses when you are at fault in an 
accident.

If  you buy insurance to meet the state’s 
financial responsibility law, you must buy 
at least the minimum amount. The current 
minimum liability limits per accident are 
$30,000 for each injured person, up to a total 
of  $60,000 if  more than one person is injured, 
and $25,000 for property damage. This basic 
coverage is called 30/60/25 coverage.

Understanding Rates
When deciding what to charge you, insurance 
companies look at your driving record and 
other factors, including the type of  car you 
drive, where you live, your claims history, your 
insurance credit score, your age, and your car’s 
primary use (for pleasure or to drive to and 
from work).

If  you have any accidents, tickets, or claims on 
your driving record during the past three years, 
your rates may also be higher.

Auto insurance companies in Texas set their 
own rates. Although TDI doesn’t approve rates 
in advance, we can order a company to pay 
refunds to its policyholders if  we determine 
that its rates are too high.

How to Use this Guide
This guide can help you compare sample annual 
rates for companies that sell auto liability 
insurance in Texas. It includes companies in 
the top 25 insurer groups nationally and others 
that asked to be in the guide. The guide isn’t 
a complete list of  all companies selling auto 
insurance in your area, and you shouldn’t limit 
your search to only these companies.

The sample rates shown are estimates and 
aren’t the exact amount you will be quoted. 
Contact the companies or an agent for a quote 
based on your needs.

The sample rates are for minimum liability 
coverage only. Liability coverage doesn’t pay for 
damages to your own vehicle. 

You’ll need to add collision and comprehensive 
coverages to your policy to repair or replace 
your vehicle if  it’s damaged or stolen. If  you 
still owe money on your car, your lender will 
require you to have these coverages. You 
can also add coverage for medical payments, 
personal injury protection, uninsured/
underinsured motorist, towing and labor, and 
rental reimbursement to your policy for an 
additional premium.

Driver Profiles
The sample annual rates are based on driver 
profiles. The profiles may not match your 
situation exactly, but they are a way to compare 
prices. All of  the profiles are for people who 
drive their cars to work, live in a town or city, 
don’t have any traffic violations, and have 
average credit.
Driver 1: Single male, under age 25
Driver 2: Single female, under age 25
Driver 3: Single male, age 25-65

Driver 4: Single female, age 25-65
Driver 5: Married male, age 25-65
Driver 6: Married female, age 25-65
Driver 7: Single male, age 66 and older
Driver 8: Single female, age 66 and older
Driver 9: Married male, age 66 and older

Driver 10: Married female, age 66 and older

A.M. Best Rating
The A.M. Best rating shows the financial 
strength and operating performance of  each 
company. TDI has permission to reprint the 
ratings. A.M. Best’s ratings are subject to 
change and are current as of  the publication 
date. For current rating information, call A.M. 
Best at 1-908-439-2200 or visit its website at 
www.ambest.com.

Ratings Classifications
A++ and A+ mean Superior
A and A- mean Excellent
B++ and B+ mean Very Good
B and B- mean Fair
C++ and C+ mean Marginal
C and C- mean Weak
NR means the company was not rated by A.M. 
Best.

A.M. Best is not responsible for errors in 
presentation or content and does not endorse 
this publication in any way.

Complaint Index
The complaint index shows how consumer 
complaints filed against a company compare to 
other companies.

The average index is 1.00. A complaint index 
less than 1.00 means that a company received 
fewer complaints than average, and an index 
greater than 1.00 means that a company 
received more complaints than average.

A company’s complaint index can change 
throughout the year. For the current index, 

view the sample rate comparisons on our 
website at www.HelpInsure.com.

Shopping Tips
• Get price quotes from several companies 

because rates vary. Make sure the quotes are 
for the same coverages.

• Consider factors other than price, including a 
company’s financial rating, complaint index, 
and license status. Ask your agent whether 
you qualify for discounts. Discounts vary 
by company. Some companies may offer 
discounts if  you have multiple policies with 
the company, have a car alarm, or have 
completed a driver education course.

• Ask what coverages are included. Coverages 
and limits can vary from policy to policy. 
Choose a policy with the coverages you need 
and with limits that will adequately protect 
your assets.

• Consider buying more coverage. If  you are 
legally responsible for an accident, the basic 
liability limits may not be enough.

• Answer all questions on the application 
truthfully. Wrong information could result 
in an incorrect price quote or a denial or 
cancellation of  coverage.

• Don’t cancel a policy until you have a new 
policy in effect.

Visit HelpInsure.com
HelpInsure.com is a free service of  TDI and 
the Office of  Public Insurance Counsel to 
help you shop for auto insurance. The website 
lists sample rates for hundreds of  additional 
driver profiles that may more closely match 
your situation. You’ll also find information 
about discounts, detailed policy coverage 
comparisons, the percentage by which each 
company’s rates have changed over time, and 
shopping tips.
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The sample rates are estimates. Contact an agent or company for a rate quote. Visit HelpInsure.com for additional profiles and more detailed information.

Unfair Discrimination
An insurance company can’t deny, refuse to 
renew, limit or charge more for coverage, or 
unfairly discriminate because of  your race, 
color, religion, or national origin. A company 
also may not discriminate because of  your age, 
gender, marital status, geographic location, or 
disability or partial disability, unless the refusal, 
limitation, or higher rate is based on sound 
underwriting or actuarial principles. This means 
the company must have valid evidence that you 
present a greater risk for a loss than drivers it is 
willing to insure.

For More Information or  
Assistance
For answers to general insurance questions, for 
information about filing an insurance-related 
complaint, or to report suspected insurance 
fraud, call the Consumer Help Line at 1-800-
252-3439 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Central 
time, Monday-Friday, or visit our website at 
www.tdi.texas.gov.

For printed copies of  consumer publications, 
call the 24-hour Publications Order Line at 
1-800-599-SHOP (7467).

To report suspected arson or suspicious activity 
involving fires, call the State Fire Marshal’s 
24-hour Arson Hotline at 1-877-4FIRE45 (434-
7345).

The sample rates are estimates given to TDI by the 
companies listed. Your actual premium will be based 
on your individual circumstances and could be higher 
or lower than the sample rates shown. To get an exact 
premium quote, contact the company or an agent 
directly. Some companies may require you to meet 
eligibility requirements. Sample rates are provided for 
informational purposes only. TDI does not endorse any 
product, service, or company.

Company Name 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
A.M. Best 

Rating
Complaint 

Index
Phone Number

21st Century Centennial Insurance Co. $1,965 $1,640 $674 $630 $622 $666 $650 $625 $710 $693 A 2.38 1-877-310-5687
AAA Texas County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,226 1,106 512 514 481 482 541 532 524 516 A+ 1.95 1-866-487-4222
AIG Property Casualty Co. 1,501 1,501 697 697 697 697 593 593 593 593 A 0 1-877-638-4244
Allstate County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,829 1,606 863 821 846 831 602 602 819 819 A+ 0.83 1-800-255-7828
Allstate Fire And Casualty Insurance Co. 630 544 284 294 254 262 280 280 280 280 A+ 0.85 1-800-255-7828
Amica Mutual Insurance Co. 6,012 4,208 1,352 1,352 1,526 1,526 1,293 1,293 1,459 1,459 A++ 1.49 1-800-242-6422
Charter General Agency 3,448 2,821 919 898 890 873 944 929 915 899 A- 4.90 1-800-456-1919 
Criterion (GEICO) 1,283 1,548 1,283 1,364 1,440 1,629 1,612 1,364 1,558 1,672 A+ 0.10 1-800-841-3000
Direct General Insurance Co. 1,991 1,947 396 387 330 347 367 359 296 307 B 1.14 1-855-538-1853
Encompass Indemnity Co. 5,512 4,605 1,637 1,637 1,427 1,427 1,539 1,539 1,441 1,441 A+ 2.65  1-847-402-5000 
Esurance Insurance Co. 5,182 4,080 1,394 1,370 1,202 1,144 1,586 1,356 1,272 1,264 A+ 0.92 1-800-378-7262
Esurance 4,748 3,748 1,300 1,278 1,126 1,074 1,474 1,266 1,190 1,184 A+ 1.75 1-800-378-7262
Farm Bureau County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,695 2,093 809 809 809 809 809 809 809 809 A 0 1-800-772-6535 
Farmers Texas County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,159 1,848 561 556 458 454 559 467 518 386 A 1.04 1-800-327-6377
Fireman's Fund Insurance Co. 1,734 1,495 641 658 571 548 620 620 620 620 A 0 1-800-227-1700
Foremost County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,472 1,259 710 710 545 536 568 564 467 466 A 0.57  1-616-942-3000 
Garrison Property and Casualty Insurance Co. 1,936 1,687 506 506 439 447 502 494 472 476 NR 1.59  1-800-531-8111 
GEICO Advantage Insurance Co. 1,246 1,307 1,246 1,324 1,398 1,581 1,278 1,324 1,512 1,622 A++ 0.32 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Choice Insurance Co. 1,275 1,502 1,275 1,350 1,603 1,756 1,564 1,350 1,394 1,689 A++ 0.18 1-800-861-8380
GEICO County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,725 1,880 379 414 361 361 368 398 368 368 A++ 0 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Indemnity Co. 1,465 1,207 567 584 528 550 567 601 567 578 A++ 1.15 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Secure Insurance Co. 1,509 1,906 1,509 1,601 2,034 2,098 1,878 1,601 1,665 2,139 A++ 1.41 1-800-861-8380
General Automobile Insurance Co., Inc., The 3,254 2,804 1,048 919 827 781 1,517 993 947 956 A- 10.46 1-800-280-1466
Government Employees Insurance Co. 1,677 1,188 272 256 240 240 298 269 253 253 A++ 1.20 1-800-861-8380
Hartford Fire General Agency Program 2,108 2,028 630 630 614 613 604 602 610 608 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Hartford Underwriters General Agency 3,406 3,108 2,186 2,038 1,990 1,968 1,554 1,486 1,482 1,486 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Hartford of Texas General Agency 3,122 2,860 1,468 1,468 1,424 1,424 1,412 1,424 1,406 1,416 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Kemper General Agency 1,656 1,408 603 601 555 564 584 554 561 529 NR 1.75  1-800-792-3224 
Liberty County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,239 2,086 712 735 661 691 821 773 743 724 A 1.72 1-800-344-0197 
Lone Star General Agency - Nationwide 3,030 2,333 904 886 839 839 839 839 791 754 A+ 0.10 1-800-882-2822 
Loya Insurance Co. 2,598 1,978 1,026 958 770 694 982 814 802 682 NR 3.05 1-800-554-0595
Leader Managing General Agency 2,828 2,471 737 746 599 597 841 780 692 631 A 0.15 1-800-782-2040
Merastar Insurance Co. 2,768 2,146 738 706 666 666 666 634 634 600 A- 0  1-800-637-2782
Mercury County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,762 2,332 806 818 680 668 864 794 726 678 A- 3.78 1-800-503-3724
Metropolitan Lloyds Insurance Co. of Texas 2,075 1,691 804 612 612 598 596 596 652 524 A 7.40 1-800-422-4272
National General Assurance Co. 2,221 2,110 819 967 707 594 855 836 623 468 A- 7.98 1-800-462-2123
National General Insurance Co. 3,497 2,941 1,169 1,137 936 936 1,178 957 763 579 A- 7.11 1-800-526-0332 
National Surety Corporation 1,315 1,133 486 499 433 415 470 470 470 470 A 0 1-800-227-1700
Nationwide Agribusiness Insurance Co. 2,456 1,887 643 643 600 586 600 593 565 529 A+ 0 1-800-882-2822 
Progressive County Mutual - Direct Rates 2,900 2,521 637 665 583 594 632 637 585 575 A+ 1.15 1-800-776-4737 
Progressive County Mutual Insurance Co. 3,219 2,848 598 605 502 510 572 562 505 468 A+ 1.15 1-800-776-4737
Safe Auto Insurance Co. 2,192 2,016 652 652 544 550 896 690 642 570 NR 0 1-800-723-3288
Safeco General Agency - Safeco 4,902 4,233 696 682 655 604 692 612 715 539 NR 1.75 1-800-792-3224
State Farm County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,522 1,954 757 757 757 757 656 656 656 656 A++ 1.46 1-800-252-1932 
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co. 2,121 1,643 637 637 637 637 552 552 552 552 A++ 0.53 1-800-252-1932
Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association 2,188 1,703 757 757 757 757 757 757 757 757 NR 0 1-866-321-9154
Texas Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co. 1,857 1,442 557 557 557 557 557 557 557 557 A- 0.94 1-800-772-6535 
Titan Insurance Services, Inc. - Nationwide 1,948 1,613 896 896 747 715 832 753 752 591 NR 1.75 1-800-848-2687
Trinity Universal Insurance Co. 1,642 1,343 708 726 689 689 596 596 602 596 A- 1.23 1-800-321-5344
Titan Insurance Services, Inc. 3,090 2,485 1,021 1,073 904 849 814 752 888 760 A+ 0.10 1-800-848-2687
Travelers Quantum Automobile 1,595 1,241 720 618 661 632 610 577 633 600 NR 0.78 1-800-676-5603 
United Services Automobile Association 998 871 325 325 284 289 323 318 304 306 A++ 0.79 1-800-531-8722
USAA Casualty Insurance Co. 1,313 1,145 405 405 352 358 402 396 378 381 A++ 0.76 1-800-531-8111
USAA General Indemnity Co. 1,522 1,327 502 502 453 461 481 473 469 473 A++ 1.21 1-800-531-8111
Unitrin Direct General Agency 2,576 2,138 872 872 834 834 872 872 834 834 A- 4.90 1-800-456-1919 
Unitrin Direct P&C 2,768 2,260 714 696 692 624 1,200 974 960 864 A- 1.75 1-800-792-3224 
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