Texas Medical Liability Insurance Underwriting Association Board of Directors (JUA Board)

Purpose: To provide medical liability insurance to health care providers who cannot get insurance on the open market.

Name	Member Type	Term	Board	Employer
		Expires	Position	
Min Choi	Insurer Representative (NAMIC)	09/30/2023		Germania Insurance
Jarrett Hill	Insurer Representative (AAI)	09/30/2023		Texas Farm Bureau Mutual
Jeremy Bryan	Insurer Representative (Unaffiliated Co)	09/30/2023	Secretary/ Treasurer	State Farm Mutual Auto Ins. Company
Steve Simmons	Insurer Representative (TX Domestic Co)	09/30/2023		MedPro Group
Ty Simmons	Insurer Representative (APCIA)	09/30/2023	Vice Chair	Union Standard Ins. Co
Dr. Douglas Curran	Texas Medical Association Representative	09/30/2023		Texas Medical Association
Tess Frazier	Texas Hospital Association Representative	09/30/2023	Chair	Texas Hospital Insurance Exchange
Denise Miller	Public	09/30/2024		St. David's Hospital - RN
Kenneth McDaniel	Public	09/30/2023		TDI (retired)

In accordance with Texas Insurance Code Section 2203.052, the board shall consist of nine members:

- 1. one physician member appointed by the Texas Medical Association or a successor to that association,
- 2. one hospital member appointed by the Texas Hospital Association or a successor to that association;
- 3. two public members appointed by the Commissioner of Insurance; and
- 4. five members representing insurers that are required to be association members and selected by JUA members.

Terms: Members serve one-year terms beginning on October 1st of each year.