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OFFICIAL ORDER
of the
TEXAS COMMISSIONER OF INSURANCE

Subject Considered:
FIRST TITLE OF LIMESTONE COUNTY, INC.
P.0. Box 229
Groesbeck, Texas 76642

CONSENT ORDER
TDI ENFORCEMENT FILE NO. 12094

General remarks and official action taken:

The commissioner of insurance considers whether disciplinary action should be taken against
First Title of Limestone County, Inc.

WAIVER

First Title of Limestone County, Inc. acknowledges that the Texas Insurance Code and other
applicable law provide certain rights. First Title of Limestone County, Inc. waives all of these
rights, and any other applicable procedural rights, in consideration of the entry of this consent
order.

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. First Title of Limestone County, Inc., firm identification number 91832, holds a title
insurance agency license issued by the Texas Department of Insurance.

2. Benjie Sims Reed is the president of First Title of Limestone County, Inc.

3. Bobby Lynn Reed, Benjie Sims Reed, Justin Elliott Reed, and Diana Kay Nabors are
employed as escrow officers for First Title of Limestone County, Inc.

4. The department requires escrow officers to complete a certain number of continuing
education hours during each reporting period.

5. The department received renewal applications from Bobby Lynn Reed, Benjie Sims
Reed, and Justin Elliott Reed on July 17, 2015, which indicated that each completed 10
hours of continuing education for the August 1, 2013, through August 1, 2015, reporting
period.
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10.

I1.

12.

13.

A First Title of Limestone County employee other than Bobby Lynn Reed, Benjie Sims
Reed or Justin Elliott Reed completed parts of the applications, including question
number four, which indicated that the applicants completed 10 total hours of continuing
education.

Bobby Lynn Reed, Benjie Sims Reed, and Justin Elliott Reed further signed the “Escrow
Officer Certification” on the renewal, certifying that they personally answered each
question and that each was true and correct.

First Title of Limestone County, Inc. signed the “Title Agent or Direct Operation
Certification,” certifying that they verified Bobby Lynn Reed, Benjie Sims Reed, and
Justin Elliott Reed completed all continuing education requirements.

The department received a renewal application from Diana Kay Nabors on July 17, 20135,
which has her certification that she did not complete continuing education requirements.

An audit of records revealed that Bobby Lynn Reed failed to complete 10 hours of
continuing education, during the applicable period.

An audit of records revealed that Benjie Sims Reed failed to complete 10 hours of
continuing education, during the applicable period.

An audit of records revealed that Justin Elliott Reed failed to complete 10 hours of
continuing education, during the applicable period.

An audit of records revealed that Diana Kay Nabors failed to complete 10 hours of
continuing education, during the applicable period.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to TEX. INS. CODE

§§ 82.051-82.056, 84.021, 2651.001, 2651.301, 2652.002, 2652.051, 2652.058,
2652.201, and 4005.102-4005.104; 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 9.1, which adopts by
reference the Texas Title Insurance Basic Manual, Procedural Rule P-28 (Basic Manual,
Rule P-28); and TEX. Gov’T CODE §§ 2001.051-2001.178.

The commissioner has the authority to informally dispose of this matter under TEX.
Gov’T CODE § 2001.056; TEX. INS. CODE § 82.055; and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 1.47.

Pursuant to TEX. INS. CODE §§ 82.052 and 2651.301, and Basic Manual, Rule P-28, the
department may discipline a title agent or direct operation for misrepresenting it verified
that its escrow officers had completed all continuing education requirements, including
fine, suspension, revocation, or cancellation of a license.

First Title of Limestone County, Inc. violated TEX. INS. CODE §§ 2651.301 and 2652.051
by misrepresenting that they verified Bobby Lynn Reed, Benjie Sims Reed, and Justin
Elliott Reed completed all of their continuing education requirements.
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The commissioner orders First Title of Limestone County, Inc. to pay an administrative penalty
of $4,000. First Title of Limestone County, Inc. must pay the penalty in full by no later than 30
days from the entry date of this consent order. The penalty must be paid by cashier’s check or
money order made payable to the “State of Texas” and sent to the Texas Department of
Insurance, Attn: Enforcement Section, Division 40111, MC 9999, P.O. Box 149104, Austin,

Texas 78714-9104.
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Beverly Rosendahl
Staff Attorney, Compliance Division
Texas Department of Insurance
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AFFIDAVIT
STATE OF __TEXAS §
§
COUNTY OF LIMESTONE §

Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared the affiant, who was duly sworn by
me and deposed as follows:

"My name is Benjie Sims Reed . T am of sound mind, capable of making this statement,
and have personal knowledge of these facts which are true and correct.

I am the representative of First Title of Limestone County, Inc. Ihold the position of
President , and I am authorized to execute this statement on behalf of the

company.

First Title of Limestone County, Inc. knowingly and voluntarily enters into this consent order.
The company agrees with and consents to the issuance and service of the consent order by the
Texas commissioner of insurance.”

AffT

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on _Feb. 28  2017.

(NOTARY SEAL) %%’%/

s §1gnature Notary Public

GBLES BETT Y ALLEN
NOTARY PUBLIC
' +] STATE OF TEXAS

4)z. 5% .«*"

1D # 583874-8
My Comm. Expires 04-22-2017






