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Consent Order   
DWC  Enforcement File Nos. 33824, 33826, 33884, 33885, & 34178  

General remarks and  official action taken:  

This is a consent order with AIU Insurance Company (Respondent). The commissioner of  
the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) considers  
whether DWC should take disciplinary action against Respondent.  

Waiver  

Respondent acknowledges that the  Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws provide  
certain rights. Respondent waives all of these  rights, and any other procedural rights that 
apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.  

Findings of Fact  

1. Respondent holds a certificate of authority  issued by the Texas Department of 
Insurance to transact  the business of insurance pursuant to Tex. Ins. Code §§ 
801.051-801.053 and is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance in Texas, 
including workers’ compensation/employers’ liability insurance. 

2. Respondent was classified as “average” tier in the 2022 Performance Based 
Oversight (PBO) assessment. Respondent was  not selected  to be tiered in the 2020 
or 2018 PBO assessments. 
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Failure to Timely Pay or Dispute Initial Temporary Income Benefits (TIBs)  

File No. 33885  

3. On , Respondent received notice of an employee’s  workplace injury. 

4. The injured  employee’s first day of disability  began on 2023. The eighth 
day of disability accrued on  . 

5. Respondent was required to initiate or dispute TIBs  either 15 days after it received 
written notice of the injury or seven days after the accrual date, whichever is later. 
In this case, the latest date was  . 

6. On , Respondent initiated TIBs in the amount of $ ■ , which was 76 
days late. 

Failure to Timely Act on a Medical Bill  

File No.  34178  

7. On , a HCP provided medical services to an injured employee. 

8. On , Respondent received a completed medical bill for $  from 
the HCP. 

9. Respondent was required to act on the bill  within 45 days of receiving it. The 
deadline to act was  . 

10. On  , Respondent paid $  to the HCP, which was  95  days late. 
Respondent paid interest eight days  later on  . 

File No. 33824  

11. On , a Designated Doctor (DD) provided medical  services to an injured 
employee. 

12. On , Respondent received a completed medical bill  for  $ ■  from the 
DD. 
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13. Respondent was required to act on the bill  within 45 days of receiving it. The 
deadline to act was  . 

14. On , Respondent paid $ ■  to the DD, which  was  119  days late. 

15. On , Respondent paid interest on the medical bill  19 days late. 

File No. 33826  

16. On , a healthcare provider  (HCP) provided medical services to an 
injured employee. 

17. On , Respondent received a completed medical bill for $  from 
the HCP. 

18. Respondent was required to act on the bill  within 45 days of receiving it. The 
deadline to act was  . 

19. On  , Respondent paid $  to the  HCP,  which was  122  days late. 
Respondent paid interest one  day late-r. 

Failure to  Respond to  an Injured Employee’s Request for Reimbursement  

File No. 33884  

20. On , an  injured employee received medical treatment  in connection 
with  a  workers’ compensation claim. 

21. On  , Respondent received a request for reimbursement of $ 
for travel expenses related to the injured employee’s medical treatment. This travel 
reimbursement request was submitted by the injured employee to Respondent  on 
a form  obtained from  Respondent’s third-party administrator’s (TPA) website. 

22. The form on the TPA’s website refers to the Texas  Workers’ Compensation Act and 
describes an injured employee’s entitlement to travel reimbursement. However, 
the form does not contain any language  explaining the proper method for 
submitting travel reimbursement requests  under DWC rules. 
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23. Respondent failed to respond to the injured employee's request and failed to direct 
the injured employee to use form DWC048, Request to Get Reimbursed for Travel 
Costs. 

24. Respondent was required to respond to the in'ured em lo ee's request within five 

working days of receiving the request, or by . Respondent failed to 

respond until it paid the reimbursement request on , which was 80 days 

late. 

25. Respondent cited the injured employee's use of its own form as justification for the 
late payment. 

Assessment of Sanction 

1. Prompt payment of medical bills is imperative to DWC's goal of ensuring that 
injured employees have access to prompt, high-quality medical care. Failure to 
promptly pay medical bills harms medical providers economically, increases 
disputes and exhausts administrative resources in the workers' compensation 
system. It is a serious violation to fail to timely act on a medical bill involving DD 
services, which do not require preauthorization and which serve an essential 
function in the Texas workers' compensation system. Untimely payment can have 
a chilling effect on a DD's participation in the system. 

2. Failing to timely respond to requests by injured employees on their claims and 
hosting documents on an online platform that mislead or confuse system 
participants increases the likelihood of disputes and impedes efforts to resolve 
them promptly and fairly. 

3. Failure to provide income benefits in a timely and cost-effective manner is harmful 
to injured employees and the Texas workers' compensation system. 

4. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the following factors 
in Tex. Lab. Code§ 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code§ 180.26(e): 

• the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, 
consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; 

• the history and extent of previous administrative violations; 
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• the violator’s demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify 
the consequences of the prohibited act; 

• the penalty necessary to deter future violations; 
• whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the  delivery 

of benefits to an injured employee; 
• the history of compliance with  electronic data interchange requirements; 
• to the extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting  from the prohibited 

act; and 
• other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to: 

o PBO assessments; 
o prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations; 
o self-report of the violation; 
o the size of the company or practice; 
o the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and 
o evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with 

the Texas  Workers’ Compensation Act an d DWC rules. 

5. DWC found the following factors in  Tex. Lab.  Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. 
Code § 180.26(e) to be aggravating: the seriousness of the violation, including the 
nature, circumstances,  consequences,  extent,  and gravity of the prohibited act; the 
history and extent of previous administrative violations; the penalty necessary to 
deter future violations; whether the administrative violation had a negative impact 
on the delivery of benefits to an injured  employee; and other matters that justice 
may require, including  evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to 
comply with the Texas  Workers’ Compensation Act an d DWC rules.  In case 33884, 
Respondent’s refusal to accept its own form  as a valid request for reimbursement 
lacked good faith. 

6. DWC found the following factors in Tex.  Lab.  Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. 
Code § 180.26(e) to be mitigating:  the violator’s demonstration of good faith, 
including actions it took to rectify the consequences of the prohibited act. 

7. Respondent acknowledges communicating with DWC about the relevant statute 
and rule violations alleged; that the facts establish that the administrative 
violation(s) occurred; and that the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the 
factors DWC considered under Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. 
Code § 180.26(e). 
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8. Respondent acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the 
factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e). 

Conclusions of Law  

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this  matter pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code 
§§ 402.001, 402.00111,  402.00114, 402.00116,  402.00128, 414.002, and 414.003. 

2. The commissioner has  the authority to dispose of this  case informally pursuant to 
Tex. Gov’t Code § 2001.056, Tex.  Lab. Code §§  401.021 and 402.00128(b)(6)-(7), and 
28 Tex. Admin. Code §  180.26(h) and (i). 

3. Respondent has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to  which it 
may have been entitled regarding the entry of  this order, including, but not limited 
to, issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary action, notice  of 
hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by the commissioner, 
and judicial review. 

4. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021,  the commissioner may assess an 
administrative penalty  against a person who commits an administrative violation. 

5. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(20), an insurance  carrier or its 
representative commits an administrative violation each time  it violates a DWC rule. 

6. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(22), an insurance  carrier or its 
representative commits an administrative violation each time it fails to comply with 
a provision of the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act. 

Failure to Timely  Pay or Dispute Initial  Temporary Income Benefits  (TIBs)  

File No.33885  

7. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code §§ 408.081; 408.082; 409.021; and 28 Tex. Admin. Code 
§§ 124.3 and 124.7, an insurance carrier is required to initiate payment of TIBs no 
later than the 15th day after it receives written notice of the injury or the seventh 
day after the accrual date, unless the insurance carrier notifies DWC and the injured 
employee in writing of its refusal to pay. 
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8. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 409.021; 415.002(a)(16), (20), and (22); and 
28 Tex. Admin. Code §§ 124.3 and 124.7 by  failing to timely pay or  dispute initial 
TIBs. 

Failure to Timely Act on a Medical Bill  

File Nos. 33824 & 33826  

9. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.027 and 28 Tex. Admin. Code  § 133.240, an 
insurance carrier is required to timely process  and take final action on a  completed 
medical bill within 45 days of receiving the bill. 

10. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code  §§ 408.027;  415.002(a)(20) and (22); and 28 
Tex. Admin. Code § 133.240 by failing to pay, reduce, deny, or determine to audit 
a completed medical bill within 45 days of receiving the bill. 

Failure to  Respond  an Injured Employee’s Request for Reimbursement  

File No. 33884  

11. Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin Code § 102.4(f), when a claimant contacts an insurance 
carrier and requests a response on their claim, the  response must be verbally 
provided or sent in writing by the insurance carrier within five working days of 
receiving the request,  unless the request is redundant, or the response duplicates 
information previously  provided. 

12. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 415.002(a) (20); and 28 Tex.  Admin Code § 
102.4(f)  by failing to timely respond to a request for reimbursement  by an  injured 
employee. 
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Order  

It is ordered that AIU Insurance Company must pay an administrative penalty of $9,000  
within 30 days  from the date the Commissioner signs the order.  

After receiving an invoice, AIU Insurance Company must pay the administrative penalty  
by electronic transfer using the State Invoice  Payment Service, company check, cashier’s  
check, or money order  and make it payable to  the “State of Texas.” Mail the administrative  
penalty to the Texas Department of Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement Section, MC AO-
9999, PO Box 12030, Austin, Texas 78711-2030.  

__________________________________________ 
Jeff Nelson 
Commissioner 
TDI, Division of Workers’ Compensation 

Approved Form and Content: 

________________________________________ 
Dan Garcia 
Staff Attorney, Enforcement 
Compliance and Investigations 
TDI, Division of Workers’ Compensation 
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Peter Macdonald. 

30 Hudson Street Jersey City Hudson 

April 22 
Executed  on____________________,  2024.  

Vice President 

NJ 07302 

___________________________________ 
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Unsworn Declaration 

STATE  OF NEW JERSEY §  
§  

COUNTY  OF HUDSON §  

Pursuant to the Tex. Civ. Prac. and Rem. Code § 132.001(a), (b), and (d), my name is 

I hold the position of and am the authorized 

representative of AIU Insurance Company. My business address is: 
, , , , . 

(Street) (City) (County) (State) (ZIP Code) 

I am executing this declaration as part of my assigned duties and responsibilities. I 
declare under penalty of perjury that the facts stated in this document are true and 

correct. 

Declarant 
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