
  

 

 
  

 

 
 

 

 
 
 

 

 

 
 

GUARANTY FEE FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

Updated March 2008 

1.	 Why is TDI’s name not on the notice and why are they not involved?  Texas Title 
Insurance Guaranty Association (“TTIGA”) has the right and the responsibility to set, 
collect, and spend Guaranty Fees under Chapter 2602 (formerly Article 9.48) of the 
Texas Insurance Code (the “Code”). The proper collection and reporting of Guaranty 
Fees is part of Texas Department of Insurance (“TDI”) audits. 

2.	 When did it come into effect? The Texas Title Insurance Guaranty Act (“Act”) became 
effective September 1, 1975 creating the TTIGA and authorizing it to collect a policy 
guaranty fee (the “Guaranty Fee”). Guaranty Fees were collected from January 1, 1988 
to March 31, 1992. The fee was reinstated effective January 1, 2004 at $1.00 and has 
now been raised to $5.00 effective April 1, 2008.  The Guaranty Fee can be raised or 
lowered at the direction of the TTIGA Board of Directors annually or more often with a 
maximum of $5.00. 

3.	 For what are the funds used?  Chapter 2602 authorizes Guaranty Fees to be used only to 
pay covered claims resulting from shortages in the trust funds or escrow accounts of an 
impaired agent, certain expenses of receivers or conservators, and the expenses of TDI’s 
title examiners. 

4.	 Are the Insurance Commissioner and TDI involved with the Guaranty Fee? The 
Commissioner of Insurance and TDI are aware of the collection of the Guaranty Fee, and 
assist in the answering of questions relating to the accounting and reporting of the fees. 
TDI has also posted all notices and the remittance form on their website.  The 
Commissioner of Insurance oversees the activities of TTIGA and appoints its Board of 
Directors. 

5.	 Should a separate trust account be set up for the fees?  The Guaranty Fees have to be put 
into an escrow or trust account.  It is highly recommended that a special escrow account 
be set up for the fees. The agent could probably leave the fees in their regular escrow 
account if this is an issue. The main thing is that the fees cannot be deposited into (or run 
through) an agency operating account. 

Section V, Minimum Standards of Audit, of the Basic Manual has a section titled “Policy 
Guaranty Fee and Guaranty Assessment Recoupment Charge” that says the “agent’s 
policy fee escrow account…should be audited annually.”  It also says the “…fees must be 
deposited directly into an escrow or trust account…”  This section indicates that 
Guaranty Assessment Recoupment Charge fees and Guaranty Fees should be treated the 
same way. 

6.	 How is the Guaranty Fee reported? The fee should be reported on the Guaranty Fee 
Remittance Form on a quarterly basis with one form and one check submitted to TTIGA. 
The form is approved by the TTIGA Board of Directors.  If you need a form, please call 
(512) 474-1587 to request one be sent to you via email or fax.  The current Title Basic 
Manual forms (TDI Form No. PC023 and Basic Manual No. T-G1) are both currently out 
of date. Please do not use these forms. 
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There are two annual reports that Texas title agents are required to submit to TDI.  The 
Texas Title Agent Statistical Report (stat report) and the annual audit of the escrow 
accounts are prepared by an outside CPA. 

The Guaranty Fee relates to the two reports as follows: 

1. Stat Reports. 

Administrative Rule G.1.(II)(D) states, “No policy guaranty fee shall be reported to the 
TDI as an expense of operation for the purpose of establishing title insurance rates.” 

Since the stat report information is used to set rates, the Guaranty Fees are not allowed to 
be included on the stat report. This should generally not be a problem since the fees are 
maintained and remitted from an escrow account and the expenses reported on the stat 
report are expenses paid from the operating account. 

2. Annual Escrow Audit Reports. 

Section 2651.151 of the Code requires all title agents to submit the annual escrow audit 
report. The Exhibits used for the annual escrow audit report are found in Section V of the 
Basic Manual. Exhibit B shows Guaranty Fees on line 7 as a liability, so that indicates 
that they should also be at the top (part of line 1) as an asset.  Any “special” escrow 
account established to maintain the Guaranty Fees should be shown on Exhibit C along 
with the regular escrow accounts. 

7.	 What date determines the collection date?  The closing date determines when the 
Guaranty Fee is collected. The fee should be collected at closing. 

8.	 Can an agent just pay the fee without collecting it?  No. Administrative Rule G.1 (II.A.) 
from Section VI of the Basic Manual states, “…each policy guaranty fee shall be 
collected directly from the purchaser of each owner and mortgage policy at the closing of 
the transaction and such itemized charge shall be disclosed on the settlement 
statement…” 

9.	 If an agent issues both owner and mortgagee policies in the same transaction, do they 
collect for both?  If a transaction involves both a mortgagee policy and an owner policy, 
then the agent collects $2 for the transaction ($1 for each policy). 

10.	 What rules do TDI have that are consistent with Section 6 (d) of Chapter 2602? 
Administrative Rule G.1 (II.A.) – from Section VI of the Basic Title Manual states that 
“Each policy guaranty fee shall be collected directly from the purchaser of each owner 
and mortgagee policy at the closing of the transaction and such itemized charge shall be 
disclosed on the settlement statement…” 

11.	 Is the Guaranty Fee to be collected from the Buyer or Seller?  Section VI of the Basic 
Manual states that “Each policy guaranty fee shall be collected directly from the 
purchaser of each owner and mortgagee policy at the closing of the transaction…” 

12.	 Where on the HUD would the Guaranty Fee be disclosed?  The Guaranty Fee should be 
shown on line 1111, 1112, or 1113. RESPA rules indicate these lines are for “other title 
charges not already itemized.” 
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13.	 Does this fee fall in the category with the allowable fees for “title insurance” under 
Section 342 of the Finance Code? Administrative Rule G.1 (II.A.) – from Section VI of 
the Basic Manual states that “Each policy guaranty fee shall be collected directly from 
the purchaser of each owner and mortgagee policy at the closing of the transaction and 
such itemized charge shall be disclosed on the settlement statement…”  The fee should be 
shown on line 1111, 1112, or 1113. RESPA rules indicate these lines are for “other title 
charges not already itemized.” 

14.	 Because the Guaranty Fee is changing, what amount do we charge for a transaction that 
closes in March 2008 but does not fund until April 2008?  The Guaranty Fee is 
determined by closing, or more significantly, what is reflected on the HUD (See also 
FAQ No. 7, above).  For example, if a transaction closing on March 29 but does not fund 
until April 1, the fee to be collected is $1.00.  If it closes April 1 or later, the fee to be 
collected is $5.00. 

15.	 If my title agency has three offices (or three escrow accounts), can we submit three 
separate checks for the Guaranty Fees each quarter - one for each office (or account)? 
No. Administrative Rule G-1 requires that: “Each Title Insurance Agent/Direct 
Operation shall report and remit the fees for all of its offices on a single remittance form 
and payment.” 

16.	 Is the Guaranty Fee collected on Interim Construction Binders?  No. Only on owners 
and mortgagee policies. 

17.	 Can I submit multiple checks with the report?  No. The rule is one form, one check. 
There should be one reporting form for all licensed locations of the agency (See also 
question No. 15) and one check for all collected fees from all locations. 
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