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SUBCHAPTER H.  CANCELLATION, DENIAL, AND NONRENEWAL OF CERTAIN 
PROPERTY AND CASUALTY INSURANCE COVERAGE 

28 TAC §§5.7001, 5.7002, AND 5.7009  
 

1.  INTRODUCTION.  The Texas Department of insurance adopts amendments to 28 

Texas Administrative Code §§5.7001, 5.7002, and 5.7009, concerning cancellation, 

denial, and nonrenewal of certain property and casualty insurance coverage.  The 

amendments are adopted with changes to the proposed text as published in the July 20, 

2012, issue of the Texas Register (37 TexReg 5402).   

 

2.  REASONED JUSTIFICATION.  The amendments are necessary to clarify when an 

insurer may send a notice of cancellation to the insured for nonpayment of premium 

under Insurance Code Chapter 551, Subchapter C.  The amendments also update 

§§5.7001, 5.7002, and 5.7009 for consistency with Insurance Code Chapter 551, 

Subchapter C.  Additionally, the amendments update statutory references resulting from 

nonsubstantive revisions of the Insurance Code, amend existing text for clarification, 

correct grammar, and update internal references. 

 Amendments to §5.7001 conform the applicability provisions for consistency with 

Insurance Code §551.101 and §551.102.  An amendment to §5.7001(a)(2) changes 

“homeowners or farm and ranch owners policies” to “homeowners or farm or ranch 

owners policies” for consistency with Insurance Code §551.102(2).  Amendments to 

§5.7001(a)(3) add standard fire policies insuring the contents of an apartment as 

provided under Insurance Code §551.102(3)(B).  Amendments to §5.7001(a)(4) delete 

outdated terms, move pertinent text, and reword language for consistency with 
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Insurance Code §§5.7001(a)(4)(A) - (D).  Amendments to §5.7001(a)(4) add insurance 

policies covering property and casualty coverage, other than a fidelity, surety, or 

guaranty bond, to governmental units under the applicability listing as provided under 

Insurance Code §551.102(4).  Amendments to §5.7001(a)(4) also add 

§5.7001(a)(4)(C)(ix) to include “a communication district” in the list of political 

subdivisions of this state subject to Insurance Code Chapter 551, Subchapter C, as 

provided under Insurance Code §551.102(4)(C)(ix).  Amendments to §5.7001 add 

subsection (d) to clarify the meaning of “insurer” and “company” used throughout 

Subchapter H for the purpose of the listed policies under subsection (a).  The 

amendments to §5.7001(a) also update statutory references resulting from 

nonsubstantive revisions of the Insurance Code, amend existing text for clarification, 

and correct grammar.  

 Amendments to §5.7002 conform the cancellation provisions for consistency with 

Insurance Code §551.104.  The amendment to §5.7002(a) updates the statutory period 

in which an insurer may cancel a personal automobile policy for the reasons provided in 

Insurance Code §551.104(b)(1-3) and (d).  Insurance Code §551.104(g) provides that 

an insurer may cancel a personal automobile insurance policy if it has been in effect for 

less than 60 days.  Thus, an insurer may only cancel a personal automobile policy if it 

has been in effect for more than 59 days, for the reasons listed in Insurance Code 

§551.104(b)(1-3) and (d).   

 The amendment to §5.7002(a)(3) adds “or any other law governing the business 

of insurance in this state” for consistency with Insurance Code §551.104(b)(3).  As an 
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additional reason that an insurer may cancel a policy after the specified number of days, 

the amendment to §5.7002(a) adds subsection (4) to provide “the insured submits a 

fraudulent claim” for consistency with Insurance Code §551.104(b)(2).  Amendments to 

§5.7002(a) also amend existing text for clarification, correct grammar, and update 

internal references.    

 The amendment to §5.7002(b) updates the statutory periods in which an insurer 

may cancel a homeowners policy and other listed types of policies under Insurance 

Code §551.102 and 28 TAC §5.7001(a) for the reasons provided under subsection (c) 

of §5.7002.  Section 5.7002(b) does not apply to a personal automobile policy.  

Insurance Code §551.104(g) provides that an insurer may cancel any insurance policy, 

other than a personal automobile or homeowners insurance policy, if the policy has 

been in effect for less than 90 days.  Thus, other than a personal automobile policy or 

homeowners insurance policy, an insurer may only cancel a policy listed under 

Insurance Code §551.102 and 28 TAC §5.7001(a), if it has been in effect for more than 

89 days, for the reasons listed under Insurance Code §551.104(b) and (c).   

 In addition, Insurance Code §551.104(g) provides that an insurer may cancel a 

homeowners insurance policy, if the policy has been in effect for less than 60 days, for 

the reasons provided under Insurance Code §551.104(g)(1) and (2).  Thus, an insurer 

may only cancel a homeowners insurance policy, if it has been in effect for more than 

59 days, for the reasons listed under Insurance Code §551.104(b) and (c).   

 An amendment to §5.7002(b) moves paragraphs (1) – (3) to new subsection (c) 

of §5.7002 to list the reasons that an insurer may cancel any of the policies under 
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§5.7002(b) for consistency with Insurance Code §551.104(b) and (c).  An amendment to 

paragraph (2) of §5.7002(c) adds language for consistency with Insurance Code 

§551.104(c).  The amendment to paragraph (3) of §5.7002(c) adds “or any other law 

governing the business of insurance in this state” for consistency with Insurance Code 

§551.104(b)(3).  New §5.7002(c)(4) is added for consistency with Insurance Code 

§551.104(b)(2) by providing, as an additional reason that an insurer may cancel a policy 

after the specified number of days, “the insured submits a fraudulent claim.”   

 Additionally, the amendment to §5.7002 adds new subsection (d) to provide that 

“an insurer may not date or send the notice of cancellation for nonpayment of premium 

until after the premium due date” for consistency with Insurance Code §551.104(e).   

This amendment also clarifies when an insurer may give notice of a cancellation for 

nonpayment of a premium. 

 Insurance Code §551.104(e) provides that cancellation of a policy under 

subsection (b), (c), or (d) does not take effect until the 10th day after the date the 

insurer mails notice of the cancellation to the insured.  This amendment clarifies that an 

insurer may not give notice of a cancellation for nonpayment of a premium if the 

premium payment from the insured is not yet due.  Insurance Code §551.104(b)(1) 

permits an insurer to cancel a policy for nonpayment of the premium.  If an insurer 

wishes to cancel a policy for nonpayment of a premium, it must separately mail the 

insured notice to inform the insured of the cancellation only after the insured has failed 

to timely pay the premium.  The cancellation of a policy is not effective until the 10th day 

after the date the insurer mails the notice of the cancellation to the insured.  
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Amendments to §5.7002(b) also amend existing text for clarification, correct grammar, 

and update internal references.  

 Amendments to §5.7009 are necessary to update statutory references resulting 

from nonsubstantive revisions of the Insurance Code, amend existing text for 

clarification, correct grammar, and update internal references.   

 The department has made nonsubstantive changes to the proposed language in 

the text of the rule as adopted.  These changes made to the proposed text do not 

materially alter issues raised in the proposal, introduce new subject matter, or add costs 

or requirements to persons other than those previously on notice. 

 Amendments to §5.7001(b) make nonsubstantive changes to the proposed 

language in the text of the rule as adopted.  These changes delete unnecessary and 

repetitive use of the phrase “of this title” and internal references to the titles of sections 

identified in subsection (a). 

 Amendments to §5.7001(b)(1) make nonsubstantive changes to the proposed 

language in the text of the rule as adopted.  These changes delete unnecessary and 

repetitive use of the phrase “of this title” and internal references to the titles of sections 

identified in subsection (b).   

 An amendment to §5.7001(b)(2) makes a nonsubstantive change to the 

proposed language in the text of the rule as adopted.  This change deletes a repetitive 

internal reference to the title of a section identified in subsection (a).  

 Amendments to §5.7001(c) also make nonsubstantive changes to the proposed 

language in the text of the rule as adopted.  Amendments to §5.7001(c) delete 
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unnecessary and repetitive use of the phrase “of this title” and internal references to the 

titles of sections identified in subsection (a).  These changes replace “board” with 

“Texas Department of Insurance” to update internal references.     

 

3.  HOW THE SECTIONS WILL FUNCTION.  Section 5.7001 establishes which 

insurers are subject to the subchapter.  Section 5.7002 establishes the statutory period 

for cancellation, the reasons for cancellation, and the time period for when an insurer 

may give notice of a cancellation for nonpayment of a premium.  Section 5.7009 

addresses Insurance Code Chapter 4051, Subchapter H, concerning companies and 

their agents.   

 

4.  SUMMARY OF COMMENTS AND AGENCY RESPONSE. 

Section 5.7002(d) 

Comment:  A commenter states that most businesses, including insurers, are 

increasingly moving to the use of electronic communications with their customers for 

ease of doing business.  The commenter references Insurance Code Chapter 35, 

enacted by House Bill 1951, 82nd Legislature, Regular Session (2011), and 

Commissioner’s Bulletin No. B-0002-02, which address electronic commerce.  The 

commenter states that the rulemaking for §§5.7001, 5.7002, and 5.7009 provides an 

opportunity to begin implementing Chapter 35 by adding language that electronic notice 

is permissible.  Specifically, the commenter recommends adding “in accordance with 



12-0765 
TITLE 28.  INSURANCE Adopted Sections 
Part I.  Texas Department of Insurance Page 7 of 15 
Chapter 5.  Property and Casualty Insurance. 
 
 
Sec. 35.003, Tex. Ins. Code, the required notice may be provided in writing or 

electronically” to the amended language in §5.7002(d).  

Agency Response:  The department agrees with the comment; however, a change in 

the text is not necessary because §5.7002(d) does not limit the notice to mail or require 

delivery of a paper notice.  The section only provides the notice must comply with the 

period specified in that section.  Insurance Code §35.002(b) provides that to the extent 

of any conflict between another provision of the Insurance Code and a provision of 

Chapter 35, the provision of Chapter 35 controls.  Thus, the insurer may mail the notice 

as provided in Insurance Code §551.104(e) or, if the insurer and its policyholder have 

agreed to transact business electronically, the insurer may send the notice electronically 

in compliance with Insurance Code, Chapter 35 and department rules implementing 

Chapter 35. 

 

5.  NAMES OF THOSE COMMENTING FOR AND AGAINST THE PROPOSAL. 

For with changes:  Nationwide Insurance and Financial Service. 

 

6.  STATUTORY AUTHORITY.  The amendments are adopted pursuant to Insurance 

Code §551.112 and §36.001.  Section 551.112 provides that the commissioner may 

adopt rules relating to the cancellation and nonrenewal of insurance policies.  Section 

36.001 provides that the commissioner of insurance may adopt any rules necessary and 

appropriate to implement the powers and duties of the department under the Insurance 

Code and other laws of this state. 



12-0765 
TITLE 28.  INSURANCE Adopted Sections 
Part I.  Texas Department of Insurance Page 8 of 15 
Chapter 5.  Property and Casualty Insurance. 
 
 
 

7.  TEXT. 

§5.7001.  Applicability. 

 (a)  Sections 5.7002 - 5.7012 of this title (relating to Cancellations; Calculation of 

Time Period; Certain Acts Regarded as Cancellation; Special One-Year Rule Applicable 

Only to Personal Automobile Policies; Discontinuing the Writing of Certain Lines or 

Classes, Withdrawing from a Geographical Area, or Withdrawing from an Agency; 

Renewal of Policies; Records Required; Insurance Code Chapter 4051, Subchapter H; 

Endorsement Forms; Violations; and Reason for Declination, Cancellation, or 

Nonrenewal) apply to companies or insurers writing the following types of insurance 

policies which become effective on or after February 1, 1972, and to no other policies, 

except as otherwise provided in this section: 

  (1)  personal automobile policies.  Except for §5.7012 of this title, these 

sections do not apply to any automobile policy written through the Texas Automobile 

Insurance Plan;  

  (2)  homeowners or farm or ranch owners policies;  

  (3)  standard fire policies insuring:  

   (A)  a one-family dwelling or a duplex; or 

   (B)  the contents of a one-family dwelling, a duplex, or an 

apartment; or 

  (4)  insurance policies providing property and casualty coverage, other 

than a fidelity, surety, or guaranty bond to governmental units.  A governmental unit 
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means the State of Texas and all of the several agencies of government which 

collectively constitute the government of the State of Texas, specifically including:  

   (A)  this state;  

   (B)  an agency of this state; 

   (C)  a political subdivision of this state, including: 

    (i)  a municipality or county; 

    (ii)  a school district or junior college district; 

    (iii)  a levee improvement district, drainage district, or 

irrigation district; 

    (iv)  a water improvement district, water control and 

improvement district, or water control and preservation district;  

    (v)  a freshwater supply district; 

    (vi)  a navigation district; 

    (vii)  a conservation and reclamation district; 

    (viii)  a soil conservation district; 

    (ix)  a communication district;   

    (x)  a river authority; and  

    (xi)  councils and courts; or  

   (D)  any other governmental agency whose authority derives from 

the laws and constitution of this state.   

 (b)  Sections 5.7004, 5.7008, 5.7009, 5.7010, 5.7011, 5.7013 of this title (relating 

to Notice Requirements for Cancellation and Nonrenewal for General Liability and 
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Certain Automobile Insurance Policies), and §5.7014 of this title (relating to Exceptions 

to Cancellation and Nonrenewal Notice Requirements for General Liability and Certain 

Automobile Insurance Policies) are applicable to companies or insurers writing the 

following types of insurance policies which become effective on or after April 7, 1986, 

and to no other policies, except as otherwise provided in this section.  

  (1)  General liability policies including, but not limited to, excess liability 

policies, excess loss liability policies (umbrella), errors and omissions liability policies, 

and all miscellaneous liability policies.  Section 5.7013 and §5.7014 of this title are not 

applicable to any general liability policy written through the Texas Medical Liability 

Insurance Underwriting Association pursuant to the Texas Insurance Code, Article 

21.49-3.   

  (2)  Automobile policies except personal automobile, automobile physical 

damage single interest, automobile mechanical breakdown, and mobilowners policies.  

Except for §5.7012 of this title, these sections are inapplicable to any automobile policy 

written through the Texas Automobile Insurance Plan.  

 (c)  Section 5.7006 and §5.7012 of this title apply to all property and casualty 

policies regulated by the Texas Department of Insurance pursuant to the Texas 

Insurance Code, Chapter 5.   

 (d)  For the purpose of subsection (a) of this section, “insurer” and “company” 

have the same meaning as assigned to “insurer” in Insurance Code §551.101.   

 

§5.7002.  Cancellations. 
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 (a)  An insurer may cancel a personal automobile policy if it has been in effect for 

more than 59 days for only the following reasons:   

  (1)  the failure of the insured to discharge his or her obligation in the 

payment of premium for the policy or any installment thereof, whether payable directly 

to the company or its agent or indirectly under any premium finance plan or extension of 

credit;  

  (2)  the suspension or revocation of the driver's license or motor vehicle 

registration of the named insured or of any other operator who either resides in the 

same household or customarily operates an automobile insured under the policy.  

Provided, however, a company may not cancel if the policyholder consents to the 

attachment of an endorsement eliminating coverage when the driver whose license is 

suspended or revoked is operating the vehicle; 

  (3)  the department determines that the continuation of the policy would 

violate or place the company in violation of the Insurance Code or any other law 

governing the business of insurance in this state; or  

  (4)  the insured submits a fraudulent claim.  

 (b)  An insurer may cancel a homeowners insurance policy if it has been in effect 

for more than 59 days for only the reasons provided under subsection (c) of this section.  

An insurer may cancel any of the following policies that have been in effect for more 

than 89 days for only the reasons provided under subsection (c) of this section: 

  (1)  farm or ranch owners policies;  

  (2)  standard fire policies insuring:  
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   (A)  a one-family dwelling or a duplex; or 

   (B)  the contents of a one-family dwelling, a duplex, or an 

apartment; or 

  (3)  insurance policies providing property and casualty coverage, other 

than a fidelity, surety, or guaranty bond, to:   

   (A)  this state;  

   (B)  an agency of this state; 

   (C)  a political subdivision of this state, including: 

    (i)  a municipality or county; 

    (ii)  a school district or junior college district; 

    (iii)  a levee improvement district, drainage district, or 

irrigation district; 

    (iv)  a water improvement district, water control and 

improvement district, or water control and preservation district;  

    (v)  a freshwater supply district; 

    (vi)  a navigation district; 

    (vii)  a conservation and reclamation district; 

    (viii)  a soil conservation district; 

    (ix)  a communication district;   

    (x)  a river authority; and  

    (xi)  councils and courts; or  
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   (D)  any other governmental agency whose authority derives from 

the laws and constitution of this state.   

 (c)  An insurer may cancel any of the policies under subsection (b) of this section 

for only the following reasons:  

  (1)  the failure of the insured to discharge his or her obligation in the 

payment of premium for the policy or any installment thereof, whether payable directly 

to the company or its agent or indirectly under any premium finance plan or extension of 

credit;  

  (2)  increase in hazard within the control of the insured which would 

produce an increase in the premium rate of the policy;  

  (3)  the department determines that the continuation of the policy would 

violate or place the company in violation of the Insurance Code or any other law 

governing the business of insurance in this state; or 

  (4)  the insured submits a fraudulent claim.  

 (d)  An insurer may not date or send the notice of cancellation for nonpayment of 

premium until after the premium due date.    

 

 

§5.7009.  Insurance Code Chapter 4051, Subchapter H.  Insurance Code Chapter 

4051, Subchapter H, deals with the relations between companies and their agents.  

Insurance Code Chapter 4051, Subchapter H, also contains provisions relative to 

cancellations and renewals of policies written through agencies which are subsequently 
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terminated.  All provisions of these sections shall be interpreted so as to give full effect 

to Insurance Code Chapter 4051, Subchapter H.  Insurance Code Chapter 4051, 

Subchapter H, shall not be interpreted to impair any obligations which the company 

owes to the policyholder, even though the agent has no authority to act on behalf of the 

company. 

 

CERTIFICATION.  This agency certifies that legal counsel has reviewed the adoption 

and found it to be a valid exercise of the agency’s legal authority.  

 

Issued at Austin, Texas, on  September 18, 2012. 

  

 

The commissioner orders the adoption of the amendments to §§5.7001, 5.7002, and 

5.7009. 
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