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Goal

This program provides information on child labor laws 
pertaining to the agriculture industry in Texas.

Objective

To familiarize farmers and ranchers with the safety laws and 
regulations that affect the employment of children under the age 
of 18 in agricultural operations in Texas.

Background

In 2002, the 
U.S. Bureau of 
Labor Statistics 
(BLS) reported 20 
children under the 
age of 19 died from 
accidents directly 
related to agriculture 
operations. The BLS reported that five children died while working 
in crop production, nine while working with livestock and six 
while working in agricultural services. Ten of these children were 
age 16 or under. Although accurate injury statistics for children 
16 and younger are not available, the National Safety Council 
estimates that the agriculture-related injury rate for children is 
10 times the national agriculture injury rate for adults.

State and federal child labor laws apply to farm and ranch 
owners and operators who employ workers under the age of 16. 
Compliance with the law is the employer’s responsibility. Failure 
to comply can result in fines, legal liability, and a possible jail 
term.

Hazardous Farm Jobs

The following farm tasks have been classified as hazardous 
by the U.S. Department of Labor. Children under the age 
of 16 may not perform these jobs unless exempted by a 
training certificate or special classification. 
1. Operating tractors larger than 20 horsepower or connecting/

disconnecting implements.

2. Operating or assisting with machines, including corn pickers, 
combines, hay mowers, forage harvesters, hay balers, feed 
grinders, crop dryers, forage blowers, auger conveyors, wagon 
or trailer unloading mechanisms (powered or self-unloading), 
powered post-hole diggers, post drivers, non-walking rotary 
tillers, trenchers or earth-moving equipment, fork lifts, or power-

driven circular, band or chain saws.

  3. Working in a livestock yard, pen, or stall occupied by a bull, 
boar, sow, cow with newborn offspring, or stud horse maintained 
for breeding purposes.

  4. Working with timber.

  5. Working from ladders or scaffolds above 20 feet, including 
performing tasks that require painting, tree-pruning, or fruit 
harvesting.

  6. Riding on tractors or transporting passengers in buses, trucks, 
or automobiles.

  7. Working inside potentially oxygen-deficient or toxic storage 
structures containing fruit, forage, grain, or manure; performing 
work in an upright silo two weeks after silage has been added, 
or when the top unloading device is operating; or packing a 
horizontal silo with a tractor.

  8. The handling or application of farm chemicals that have a I or 
II classification by the Federal Insecticide, Fungicide and 
Rodenticide Act.

  9. The handling or use of blasting agents. 

10. Transportation, transference or application of anhydrous ammo-
nia.

Exemptions

Children under the age of 16 years may work on their parents’ 
farm. There are no legal restrictions for a child who works on 
a farm owned and operated by a parent, legal guardian or close 
family member. However, the law requires that the parent have 
control of the day-to-day operations of the farm and remain on 
the premises when the child is working. All legal restrictions 
apply for any other close relatives.

Can children under the age 16 work in agriculture?

Youth enrolled in a vocational agriculture program may perform 
any of the first six hazardous farm tasks, provided the tasks are 
incidental to the training, occur for short periods of time, and 
are closely supervised by a qualified and experienced instructor 
or teacher. The primary function of the work is to expand the 
student’s educational experience. Special coordination between 
employer, employee, and the school is required.

Upon completing a certified tractor or machine operation 
training course, children under the age of 16 may work in an 
agricultural job. This exemption is par t of the 4-H Federal 
Extension Service Training Program, which allows 14 and 15-
year-olds to perform hazardous tasks in the first two categories 
listed. Most courses charge a fee and can be taken at local 
extension offices, generally in the spring.
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Resources

The Texas Workers’ Department of Insurance Division 
of Workers’ Compensation (TDI/DWC) Resource Center 
offers a workers’ health and safety video tape library. Call 
(512) 804-4620 for more information or visit our web site at 
www.twcc.state.tx.us.

Disclaimer: Information contained in this training program is 
considered accurate at time of publication.

The Vocational Agriculture Training Program teaches a similar 
course through the public school system. Information about this 
course can be obtained from vocational agriculture teachers in 
the local school district in your area.

Work Hours

Children under the age of 16 can only be employed part time. 
According to the Texas Labor Code, part time is considered four 
hours per day, not to exceed 28 hours in a seven-day period. Federal 
law states that children may not work during school hours.

Penalties

Each violation of federal child labor laws carries a civil monetary 
penalty of up to $1,000. Willful violation of these laws carries an 
additional fine of up to $10,000. Second offenses, committed after 
conviction, can also result in a $10,000 fine or up to six months 
in prison. Employers can file for an exception to the law within 
15 days after receipt of the notice of violation.

Record Keeping

 Farm and ranch operators can reduce the number of children 
who are injured and killed in farm-related accidents in Texas. 
They can protect themselves from unintentional violation of child 
labor laws by keeping proof of age on file for every child under 
the age of 16 in their 
employment. A l s o 
have on f ile for each 
ch i ld:  f u l l  name, 
home address, date 
of bir th, and a copy 
of  t he  do cu me nt 
cer tifying that the 
youth has completed 
a tractor or machine 
operating t raining 
course exempting them from the f irst two provisions 
of the Child Safety in Agriculture Regulations under 
the Fair Labor Standards Act.

Review Questions

1. A child younger than 16 can work in any agriculture job if 
he or she is not a paid employee.

 True   False

2. Failure to comply with child labor laws can result in:
 a.  a fine
 b.  liability
 c.  jail term
 d.  all of the above
3. A child younger than 16 may operate a chain saw if he 

or she is working on their parents’ farm.
 True     False
4. According to Texas Labor Code, a child younger than 16 

can work part-time, four hours a day, not to exceed 
 a. 28 hours per week
 b. 30 hours per week
 c. 20 hours per week
Answers: 1. False, children under the age 16 must be 
enrolled in a vocational training program; 2. d; 3. True; 4. a
 For additional information about federal child labor laws, 
order the publication, Child Labor Bulletin No. 102, WH 
publication #1295, by contacting the local office of:

U.S. Department of Labor 
Employment Standards Administration
Wage and Hour Division
Website: http://www.dol.gov

 Specif ic questions on Texas child labor laws may 
be answered by contacting the

Texas Workforce Commission
Child Labor Representatives
101 E. 15th St., Austin, TX.  78778
Austin 512-837-9559
Statewide1-800-832-9243

Notice:  This publication is not intended to be an interpretation 
of the state and federal labor regulations, but a tool to 
develop awareness of child labor laws which apply in Texas 
agriculture.

Safety Violations Hotline
1-800-452-9595

safetyhotline@tdi.state.tx.us

The Texas Department of Insurance, 
Division of Workers’ Compensation (TDI/DWC)

E-mail resourcecenter@tdi.state.tx.us
or call 1-800-687-7080 for more information.


