
       
  

         

 
 

  
  

 
   

 
 

    
 

 
 

 
 

 
  

 

 

 
 

 
   

       

  
 

 

   

 

 

   

  

         

  

 

 

   
  

 

             

 

Lifetime Income Benefits (LIBs) BEN
 

Information for Injured Employees from the Division of Workers’ Compensation 

Note for All Income Benefits 

Income benefits replace a portion of wages an injured 
employee loses because of a work-related injury or illness. 
There are four types of income benefits: 

•	 temporary income benefits (TIBs); 

•	 impairment income benefits (IIBs); 

•	 supplemental income benefits (SIBs); and 

•	 lifetime income benefits (LIBs). 

Income benefits may not exceed the maximum weekly 
amount set by state law (Texas Labor Code §408.061). 
Temporary income benefits, impairment income benefits, 
and lifetime income benefits are also subject to a minimum 
amount set by state law. The maximum and minimum 
benefit amounts are based on the state average weekly 
wage (Texas Labor Code §408.061 and §408.062). 

If an injured employee is earning any extra income in addition 
to his or her workers’ compensation benefits, he or she is 
required to report it to the Texas Department of Insurance, 
Division of Workers’ Compensation (TDI-DWC) and the 
insurance carrier. It is against the law to receive temporary 
income benefits or supplemental income benefits while 
also receiving wages from an employer without informing 
the DWC and the insurance carrier (Texas Labor Code 
§408.143 and Title 28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) 
§129.4). An injured employee that fails to report extra 
income may be fined, charged with fraud, or both (Labor 
Code § 415.008). 

Income benefits do not continue after the death of an 
injured employee. In the case of an injured employee’s 
death, the injured employee’s beneficiaries may be 
eligible to file a claim for and receive death benefits if 
the injured employee’s death was due to the work-related 
injury or illness (Texas Labor Code §408.181). 

Lifetime Income Benefits (LIBs) 

The Legislature determines which workplace injuries are 

eligible for LIBs payments.
 
Injured employees may be eligible for LIBs if they incur 

one of the following injuries:


•	 total and permanent loss of sight in both eyes; 
•	 loss of both feet at or above the ankle; 

•	 loss of both hands at or above the wrist; 
•	 loss of one foot at or above the ankle and the loss 

of one hand at or above the wrist; 

•	 an injury to the spine that results in permanent and 
complete paralysis of both arms, both legs, or one 
arm and one leg; 

•	 a physically traumatic injury to the brain resulting
 
in incurable insanity or imbecility; or
 

•	 third degree burns that cover at least 40 percent of 
the body and require grafting, or third degree burns 
covering the majority of either both hands or one 
hand and the face (Texas Labor Code §408.161). 

Note: For the purposes of the above criteria, the total 
and permanent loss of use of a body part is the loss 
of that body part (Texas Labor Code §408.161). 

Amount of Lifetime Income Benefits 

LIBs equal 75 percent of an injured employee’s 
average weekly wage, with a three percent increase 
each year (Texas Labor Code §408.161). 

For example, if the average weekly wage is $500, the 
lifetime income benefits would be $375 a week 
calculated as follows: 

75 percent of $500 (.75 x $500) equals $375 

There are statutory maximum and minimum benefit 
amounts for LIBs (Texas Labor Code §408.061 and 
§408.062). The maximum benefit amount only applies to the 
first year an injured employee receives LIBs. The maximum 
benefit amount does not apply to the three percent annual 
increases. 

When Lifetime Income Benefits Begin (28 TAC 
§131.1(a)‐(e)) 

An injured employee that believes he or she is eligible 
for LIBs may submit a written request to the insurance 
carrier. The insurance carrier is required to respond 
within 60 days of receiving the request. LIBs 
payments must begin on or before the 15th day after 
the insurance carrier decides. If an insurance carrier 
denies eligibility for LIBs, the insurance carrier must 
send the injured employee a plain language notice 
(DWC Form PLN-04, Notice Regarding Eligibility for 
Lifetime Income Benefits) explaining the denial. An 
injured employee may dispute a denial by requesting a 
Benefit Review Conference. 

For further assistance, call 1-(800)-252-7031 or visit http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/employee/index.html. The rules 
and statutes are available at http://www.sos.state.tx.us/tac/index.shtml. 

http://www.sos.state.tx.us/tac/index.shtml
http://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/employee/index.html



