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Texas law requires people who drive in Texas to 
pay for the accidents they cause. Most drivers 
do this by buying auto liability insurance. 
Liability insurance pays to repair or replace 
the other driver’s car and pays other people’s 
medical expenses when you are at fault in an 
accident.

If  you buy insurance to meet the state’s 
financial responsibility law, you must buy 
at least the minimum amount. The current 
minimum liability limits per accident are 
$30,000 for each injured person, up to a total 
of  $60,000 if  more than one person is injured, 
and $25,000 for property damage. This basic 
coverage is called 30/60/25 coverage.

Understanding Rates
When deciding what to charge you, insurance 
companies look at your driving record and 
other factors, including the type of  car you 
drive, where you live, your claims history, your 
insurance credit score, your age, and your car’s 
primary use (for pleasure or to drive to and 
from work).

If  you have any accidents, tickets, or claims on 
your driving record during the past three years, 
your rates may also be higher.

Auto insurance companies in Texas set their 
own rates. Although TDI doesn’t approve rates 
in advance, we can order a company to pay 
refunds to its policyholders if  we determine 
that its rates are too high.

How to Use this Guide
This guide can help you compare sample annual 
rates for companies that sell auto liability 
insurance in Texas. It includes companies in 
the top 25 insurer groups nationally and others 
that asked to be in the guide. The guide isn’t 
a complete list of  all companies selling auto 
insurance in your area, and you shouldn’t limit 
your search to only these companies.

The sample rates shown are estimates and 
aren’t the exact amount you will be quoted. 
Contact the companies or an agent for a quote 
based on your needs.

The sample rates are for minimum liability 
coverage only. Liability coverage doesn’t pay for 
damages to your own vehicle. 

You’ll need to add collision and comprehensive 
coverages to your policy to repair or replace 
your vehicle if  it’s damaged or stolen. If  you 
still owe money on your car, your lender will 
require you to have these coverages. You 
can also add coverage for medical payments, 
personal injury protection, uninsured/
underinsured motorist, towing and labor, and 
rental reimbursement to your policy for an 
additional premium.

Driver Profiles
The sample annual rates are based on driver 
profiles. The profiles may not match your 
situation exactly, but they are a way to compare 
prices. All of  the profiles are for people who 
drive their cars to work, live in a town or city, 
don’t have any traffic violations, and have 
average credit.
Driver 1: Single male, under age 25
Driver 2: Single female, under age 25
Driver 3: Single male, age 25-65

Driver 4: Single female, age 25-65
Driver 5: Married male, age 25-65
Driver 6: Married female, age 25-65
Driver 7: Single male, age 66 and older
Driver 8: Single female, age 66 and older
Driver 9: Married male, age 66 and older

Driver 10: Married female, age 66 and older

A.M. Best Rating
The A.M. Best rating shows the financial 
strength and operating performance of  each 
company. TDI has permission to reprint the 
ratings. A.M. Best’s ratings are subject to 
change and are current as of  the publication 
date. For current rating information, call A.M. 
Best at 1-908-439-2200 or visit its website at 
www.ambest.com.

Ratings Classifications
A++ and A+ mean Superior
A and A- mean Excellent
B++ and B+ mean Very Good
B and B- mean Fair
C++ and C+ mean Marginal
C and C- mean Weak
NR means the company was not rated by A.M. 
Best.

A.M. Best is not responsible for errors in 
presentation or content and does not endorse 
this publication in any way.

Complaint Index
The complaint index shows how consumer 
complaints filed against a company compare to 
other companies.

The average index is 1.00. A complaint index 
less than 1.00 means that a company received 
fewer complaints than average, and an index 
greater than 1.00 means that a company 
received more complaints than average.

A company’s complaint index can change 
throughout the year. For the current index, 

view the sample rate comparisons on our 
website at www.HelpInsure.com.

Shopping Tips
• Get price quotes from several companies 

because rates vary. Make sure the quotes are 
for the same coverages.

• Consider factors other than price, including a 
company’s financial rating, complaint index, 
and license status. Ask your agent whether 
you qualify for discounts. Discounts vary 
by company. Some companies may offer 
discounts if  you have multiple policies with 
the company, have a car alarm, or have 
completed a driver education course.

• Ask what coverages are included. Coverages 
and limits can vary from policy to policy. 
Choose a policy with the coverages you need 
and with limits that will adequately protect 
your assets.

• Consider buying more coverage. If  you are 
legally responsible for an accident, the basic 
liability limits may not be enough.

• Answer all questions on the application 
truthfully. Wrong information could result 
in an incorrect price quote or a denial or 
cancellation of  coverage.

• Don’t cancel a policy until you have a new 
policy in effect.

Visit HelpInsure.com
HelpInsure.com is a free service of  TDI and 
the Office of  Public Insurance Counsel to 
help you shop for auto insurance. The website 
lists sample rates for hundreds of  additional 
driver profiles that may more closely match 
your situation. You’ll also find information 
about discounts, detailed policy coverage 
comparisons, the percentage by which each 
company’s rates have changed over time, and 
shopping tips.
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The sample rates are estimates. Contact an agent or company for a rate quote. Visit HelpInsure.com for additional profiles and more detailed information.

Unfair Discrimination
An insurance company can’t deny, refuse to 
renew, limit or charge more for coverage, or 
unfairly discriminate because of  your race, 
color, religion, or national origin. A company 
also may not discriminate because of  your age, 
gender, marital status, geographic location, or 
disability or partial disability, unless the refusal, 
limitation, or higher rate is based on sound 
underwriting or actuarial principles. This means 
the company must have valid evidence that you 
present a greater risk for a loss than drivers it is 
willing to insure.

For More Information or  
Assistance
For answers to general insurance questions, for 
information about filing an insurance-related 
complaint, or to report suspected insurance 
fraud, call the Consumer Help Line at 1-800-
252-3439 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Central 
time, Monday-Friday, or visit our website at 
www.tdi.texas.gov.

For printed copies of  consumer publications, 
call the 24-hour Publications Order Line at 
1-800-599-SHOP (7467).

To report suspected arson or suspicious activity 
involving fires, call the State Fire Marshal’s 
24-hour Arson Hotline at 1-877-4FIRE45 (434-
7345).

The sample rates are estimates given to TDI by the 
companies listed. Your actual premium will be based 
on your individual circumstances and could be higher 
or lower than the sample rates shown. To get an exact 
premium quote, contact the company or an agent 
directly. Some companies may require you to meet 
eligibility requirements. Sample rates are provided for 
informational purposes only. TDI does not endorse any 
product, service, or company.

Company Name 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
A.M. Best 

Rating
Complaint 

Index
Phone Number

21st Century Centennial Insurance Co. $2,333 $1,943 $794 $741 $731 $784 $764 $735 $836 $816 A 2.38 1-877-310-5687
AAA Texas County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,296 1,169 541 543 509 509 573 562 553 546 A+ 1.95 1-866-487-4222
AIG Property Casualty Co. 1,525 1,525 687 687 687 687 577 577 577 577 A 0 1-877-638-4244
Allstate County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,669 1,465 788 749 772 759 549 549 747 747 A+ 0.83 1-800-255-7828
Allstate Fire And Casualty Insurance Co. 714 616 323 333 289 298 319 319 319 319 A+ 0.85 1-800-255-7828
Amica Mutual Insurance Co. 5,032 3,522 1,130 1,130 1,278 1,278 1,081 1,081 1,222 1,222 A++ 1.49 1-800-242-6422
Charter General Agency 4,308 3,496 1,142 1,114 1,115 1,091 1,175 1,151 1,147 1,124 A- 4.90 1-800-456-1919 
Criterion (GEICO) 1,360 1,630 1,360 1,443 1,515 1,705 1,698 1,443 1,639 1,748 A+ 0.10 1-800-841-3000
Direct General Insurance Co. 2,476 2,421 492 482 410 431 456 446 368 381 B 1.14 1-855-538-1853
Encompass Indemnity Co. 5,035 4,206 1,496 1,496 1,304 1,304 1,406 1,406 1,317 1,317 A+ 2.65  1-847-402-5000 
Esurance Insurance Co. 5,190 4,088 1,396 1,372 1,204 1,144 1,586 1,358 1,272 1,266 A+ 0.92 1-800-378-7262
Esurance 4,752 3,748 1,304 1,278 1,126 1,074 1,474 1,268 1,190 1,186 A+ 1.75 1-800-378-7262
Farm Bureau County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,770 2,152 833 833 833 833 833 833 833 833 A 0 1-800-772-6535 
Farmers Texas County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,000 1,713 519 515 424 420 516 432 479 356 A 1.04 1-800-327-6377
Fireman's Fund Insurance Co. 1,640 1,413 607 622 540 519 587 587 587 587 A 0 1-800-227-1700
Foremost County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,565 1,337 755 754 577 568 601 597 494 493 A 0.57  1-616-942-3000 
Garrison Property and Casualty Insurance Co. 1,958 1,706 510 510 443 451 507 498 476 480 NR 1.59  1-800-531-8111 
GEICO Advantage Insurance Co. 1,319 1,377 1,319 1,400 1,469 1,654 1,347 1,400 1,590 1,696 A++ 0.32 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Choice Insurance Co. 1,351 1,582 1,351 1,429 1,685 1,837 1,648 1,429 1,467 1,765 A++ 0.18 1-800-861-8380
GEICO County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,913 2,087 410 450 390 390 397 432 397 397 A++ 0 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Indemnity Co. 1,512 1,245 585 603 544 568 585 620 585 597 A++ 1.15 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Secure Insurance Co. 1,593 2,008 1,593 1,687 2,139 2,196 1,980 1,687 1,745 2,237 A++ 1.41 1-800-861-8380
General Automobile Insurance Co., Inc., The 3,159 2,722 1,017 892 803 759 1,473 964 919 928 A- 10.46 1-800-280-1466
Government Employees Insurance Co. 1,696 1,401 290 273 243 243 317 287 256 256 A++ 1.20 1-800-861-8380
Hartford Fire General Agency Program 2,180 2,101 653 656 633 635 628 629 634 636 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Hartford Underwriters General Agency 2,303 2,216 686 686 667 666 656 655 663 662 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Hartford of Texas General Agency 3,330 3,064 1,544 1,544 1,490 1,490 1,484 1,496 1,476 1,488 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Kemper General Agency 1,814 1,541 657 655 605 614 637 605 613 576 NR 1.75  1-800-792-3224 
Liberty County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,507 2,338 789 813 733 766 907 857 821 802 A 1.72 1-800-344-0197 
Lone Star General Agency - Nationwide 2,635 2,032 799 782 741 741 741 741 700 668 A+ 0.10 1-800-882-2822 
Loya Insurance Co. 3,018 2,294 1,170 1,090 870 778 1,118 922 910 766 NR 3.05 1-800-554-0595
Leader Managing General Agency 3,267 2,851 851 862 692 690 971 901 799 728 A 0.15 1-800-782-2040
Merastar Insurance Co. 2,712 2,106 728 692 652 652 652 620 620 588 A- 0  1-800-637-2782
Mercury County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,840 2,400 828 838 698 686 888 814 744 694 A- 3.78 1-800-503-3724
Metropolitan Lloyds Insurance Co. of Texas 2,653 2,159 1,029 785 785 761 759 759 829 669 A 7.40 1-800-422-4272
National General Assurance Co. 2,097 1,992 773 913 668 561 807 789 588 442 A- 7.98 1-800-462-2123
National General Insurance Co. 3,465 2,914 1,159 1,127 927 927 1,167 948 756 573 A- 7.11 1-800-526-0332 
National Surety Corporation 1,243 1,071 460 472 410 393 445 445 445 445 A 0 1-800-227-1700
Nationwide Agribusiness Insurance Co. 2,931 2,247 755 755 704 688 704 696 662 620 A+ 0 1-800-882-2822 
Progressive County Mutual - Direct Rates 3,493 3,021 720 755 653 666 713 720 655 642 A+ 1.15 1-800-776-4737 
Progressive County Mutual Insurance Co. 3,464 3,074 642 651 539 549 613 605 541 505 A+ 1.15 1-800-776-4737
Safe Auto Insurance Co. 2,574 2,368 768 768 638 646 1,054 812 754 670 NR 0 1-800-723-3288
Safeco General Agency - Safeco 5,405 4,666 770 754 724 667 764 676 790 596 NR 1.75 1-800-792-3224
State Farm County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,504 1,940 752 752 752 752 651 651 651 651 A++ 1.46 1-800-252-1932 
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co. 2,106 1,632 632 632 632 632 548 548 548 548 A++ 0.53 1-800-252-1932
Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association 2,604 2,028 901 901 901 901 901 901 901 901 NR 0 1-866-321-9154
Texas Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co. 1,760 1,367 528 528 528 528 528 528 528 528 A- 0.94 1-800-772-6535 
Titan Insurance Services, Inc. - Nationwide 1,744 1,447 797 800 663 636 745 671 674 530 NR 1.75 1-800-848-2687
Trinity Universal Insurance Co. 1,752 1,433 755 775 735 735 635 635 642 635 A- 1.23 1-800-321-5344
Titan Insurance Services, Inc. 3,262 2,612 1,075 1,122 950 892 860 799 928 795 A+ 0.10 1-800-848-2687
Travelers Quantum Automobile 1,741 1,353 694 666 709 681 654 622 677 645 NR 0.78 1-800-676-5603 
United Services Automobile Association 1,086 948 351 351 306 311 348 343 328 331 A++ 0.79 1-800-531-8722
USAA Casualty Insurance Co. 1,324 1,155 407 407 354 361 405 398 380 383 A++ 0.76 1-800-531-8111
USAA General Indemnity Co. 1,575 1,373 518 518 467 476 496 488 484 488 A++ 1.21 1-800-531-8111
Unitrin Direct General Agency 2,890 2,400 872 872 834 834 872 872 834 834 A- 4.90 1-800-456-1919 
Unitrin Direct P&C 3,188 2,592 780 758 754 674 1,352 1,086 1,070 956 A- 1.75 1-800-792-3224 
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