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Texas law requires people who drive in Texas to 
pay for the accidents they cause. Most drivers 
do this by buying auto liability insurance. 
Liability insurance pays to repair or replace 
the other driver’s car and pays other people’s 
medical expenses when you are at fault in an 
accident.

If  you buy insurance to meet the state’s 
financial responsibility law, you must buy 
at least the minimum amount. The current 
minimum liability limits per accident are 
$30,000 for each injured person, up to a total 
of  $60,000 if  more than one person is injured, 
and $25,000 for property damage. This basic 
coverage is called 30/60/25 coverage.

Understanding Rates
When deciding what to charge you, insurance 
companies look at your driving record and 
other factors, including the type of  car you 
drive, where you live, your claims history, your 
insurance credit score, your age, and your car’s 
primary use (for pleasure or to drive to and 
from work).

If  you have any accidents, tickets, or claims on 
your driving record during the past three years, 
your rates may also be higher.

Auto insurance companies in Texas set their 
own rates. Although TDI doesn’t approve rates 
in advance, we can order a company to pay 
refunds to its policyholders if  we determine 
that its rates are too high.

How to Use this Guide
This guide can help you compare sample annual 
rates for companies that sell auto liability 
insurance in Texas. It includes companies in 
the top 25 insurer groups nationally and others 
that asked to be in the guide. The guide isn’t 
a complete list of  all companies selling auto 
insurance in your area, and you shouldn’t limit 
your search to only these companies.

The sample rates shown are estimates and 
aren’t the exact amount you will be quoted. 
Contact the companies or an agent for a quote 
based on your needs.

The sample rates are for minimum liability 
coverage only. Liability coverage doesn’t pay for 
damages to your own vehicle. 

You’ll need to add collision and comprehensive 
coverages to your policy to repair or replace 
your vehicle if  it’s damaged or stolen. If  you 
still owe money on your car, your lender will 
require you to have these coverages. You 
can also add coverage for medical payments, 
personal injury protection, uninsured/
underinsured motorist, towing and labor, and 
rental reimbursement to your policy for an 
additional premium.

Driver Profiles
The sample annual rates are based on driver 
profiles. The profiles may not match your 
situation exactly, but they are a way to compare 
prices. All of  the profiles are for people who 
drive their cars to work, live in a town or city, 
don’t have any traffic violations, and have 
average credit.
Driver 1: Single male, under age 25
Driver 2: Single female, under age 25
Driver 3: Single male, age 25-65

Driver 4: Single female, age 25-65
Driver 5: Married male, age 25-65
Driver 6: Married female, age 25-65
Driver 7: Single male, age 66 and older
Driver 8: Single female, age 66 and older
Driver 9: Married male, age 66 and older

Driver 10: Married female, age 66 and older

A.M. Best Rating
The A.M. Best rating shows the financial 
strength and operating performance of  each 
company. TDI has permission to reprint the 
ratings. A.M. Best’s ratings are subject to 
change and are current as of  the publication 
date. For current rating information, call A.M. 
Best at 1-908-439-2200 or visit its website at 
www.ambest.com.

Ratings Classifications
A++ and A+ mean Superior
A and A- mean Excellent
B++ and B+ mean Very Good
B and B- mean Fair
C++ and C+ mean Marginal
C and C- mean Weak
NR means the company was not rated by A.M. 
Best.

A.M. Best is not responsible for errors in 
presentation or content and does not endorse 
this publication in any way.

Complaint Index
The complaint index shows how consumer 
complaints filed against a company compare to 
other companies.

The average index is 1.00. A complaint index 
less than 1.00 means that a company received 
fewer complaints than average, and an index 
greater than 1.00 means that a company 
received more complaints than average.

A company’s complaint index can change 
throughout the year. For the current index, 

view the sample rate comparisons on our 
website at www.HelpInsure.com.

Shopping Tips
• Get price quotes from several companies 

because rates vary. Make sure the quotes are 
for the same coverages.

• Consider factors other than price, including a 
company’s financial rating, complaint index, 
and license status. Ask your agent whether 
you qualify for discounts. Discounts vary 
by company. Some companies may offer 
discounts if  you have multiple policies with 
the company, have a car alarm, or have 
completed a driver education course.

• Ask what coverages are included. Coverages 
and limits can vary from policy to policy. 
Choose a policy with the coverages you need 
and with limits that will adequately protect 
your assets.

• Consider buying more coverage. If  you are 
legally responsible for an accident, the basic 
liability limits may not be enough.

• Answer all questions on the application 
truthfully. Wrong information could result 
in an incorrect price quote or a denial or 
cancellation of  coverage.

• Don’t cancel a policy until you have a new 
policy in effect.

Visit HelpInsure.com
HelpInsure.com is a free service of  TDI and 
the Office of  Public Insurance Counsel to 
help you shop for auto insurance. The website 
lists sample rates for hundreds of  additional 
driver profiles that may more closely match 
your situation. You’ll also find information 
about discounts, detailed policy coverage 
comparisons, the percentage by which each 
company’s rates have changed over time, and 
shopping tips.
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The sample rates are estimates. Contact an agent or company for a rate quote. Visit HelpInsure.com for additional profiles and more detailed information.

Unfair Discrimination
An insurance company can’t deny, refuse to 
renew, limit or charge more for coverage, or 
unfairly discriminate because of  your race, 
color, religion, or national origin. A company 
also may not discriminate because of  your age, 
gender, marital status, geographic location, or 
disability or partial disability, unless the refusal, 
limitation, or higher rate is based on sound 
underwriting or actuarial principles. This means 
the company must have valid evidence that you 
present a greater risk for a loss than drivers it is 
willing to insure.

For More Information or  
Assistance
For answers to general insurance questions, for 
information about filing an insurance-related 
complaint, or to report suspected insurance 
fraud, call the Consumer Help Line at 1-800-
252-3439 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Central 
time, Monday-Friday, or visit our website at 
www.tdi.texas.gov.

For printed copies of  consumer publications, 
call the 24-hour Publications Order Line at 
1-800-599-SHOP (7467).

To report suspected arson or suspicious activity 
involving fires, call the State Fire Marshal’s 
24-hour Arson Hotline at 1-877-4FIRE45 (434-
7345).

The sample rates are estimates given to TDI by the 
companies listed. Your actual premium will be based 
on your individual circumstances and could be higher 
or lower than the sample rates shown. To get an exact 
premium quote, contact the company or an agent 
directly. Some companies may require you to meet 
eligibility requirements. Sample rates are provided for 
informational purposes only. TDI does not endorse any 
product, service, or company.

Company Name 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
A.M. Best 

Rating
Complaint 

Index
Phone Number

21st Century Centennial Insurance Co. $1,430 $1,200 $501 $469 $464 $495 $484 $466 $526 $514 A 2.38 1-877-310-5687
AAA Texas County Mutual Insurance Co. 845 762 351 353 331 331 375 368 362 357 A+ 1.95 1-866-487-4222
AIG Property Casualty Co. 942 942 442 442 442 442 377 377 377 377 A 0 1-877-638-4244
Allstate County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,305 1,144 615 584 602 593 429 429 583 583 A+ 0.83 1-800-255-7828
Allstate Fire And Casualty Insurance Co. 467 405 210 218 187 194 206 206 206 206 A+ 0.85 1-800-255-7828
Amica Mutual Insurance Co. 3,480 2,436 782 782 884 884 748 748 844 844 A++ 1.49 1-800-242-6422
Charter General Agency 2,261 1,848 602 589 583 573 619 608 600 589 A- 4.90 1-800-456-1919 
Criterion (GEICO) 1,028 1,231 1,028 1,086 1,130 1,259 1,281 1,086 1,219 1,289 A+ 0.10 1-800-841-3000
Direct General Insurance Co. 1,299 1,270 258 251 218 227 238 235 194 200 B 1.14 1-855-538-1853
Encompass Indemnity Co. 3,295 2,753 979 979 853 853 920 920 862 862 A+ 2.65  1-847-402-5000 
Esurance Insurance Co. 3,204 2,556 970 956 858 824 1,084 950 900 894 A+ 0.92 1-800-378-7262
Esurance 2,974 2,378 922 908 818 786 1,026 902 856 852 A+ 1.75 1-800-378-7262
Farm Bureau County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,576 1,224 472 472 472 472 472 472 472 472 A 0 1-800-772-6535 
Farmers Texas County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,540 1,319 400 397 326 323 397 333 369 274 A 1.04 1-800-327-6377
Fireman's Fund Insurance Co. 1,052 912 388 399 344 329 373 373 373 373 A 0 1-800-227-1700
Foremost County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,119 960 545 543 423 418 439 438 366 366 A 0.57  1-616-942-3000 
Garrison Property and Casualty Insurance Co. 1,398 1,219 377 377 328 334 374 368 351 354 NR 1.59  1-800-531-8111 
GEICO Advantage Insurance Co. 1,000 1,035 1,000 1,056 1,099 1,225 1,014 1,056 1,187 1,254 A++ 0.32 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Choice Insurance Co. 1,035 1,194 1,035 1,089 1,266 1,367 1,243 1,089 1,110 1,315 A++ 0.18 1-800-861-8380
GEICO County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,347 1,465 315 342 302 302 306 330 305 305 A++ 0 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Indemnity Co. 1,040 857 403 415 375 391 403 427 403 411 A++ 1.15 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Secure Insurance Co. 1,223 1,519 1,223 1,289 1,610 1,643 1,501 1,289 1,323 1,670 A++ 1.41 1-800-861-8380
General Automobile Insurance Co., Inc., The 2,432 2,095 783 687 618 584 1,134 742 708 714 A- 10.46 1-800-280-1466
Government Employees Insurance Co. 1,274 1,108 282 252 213 213 308 265 224 224 A++ 1.20 1-800-861-8380
Hartford Fire General Agency Program 1,242 1,200 431 432 422 421 411 411 414 414 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Hartford Underwriters General Agency 1,395 1,346 471 473 460 460 449 449 453 453 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Hartford of Texas General Agency 2,044 1,896 1,008 1,008 976 976 974 980 970 976 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Kemper General Agency 1,271 1,083 469 468 434 441 455 433 437 414 NR 1.75  1-800-792-3224 
Liberty County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,998 1,863 648 671 604 632 748 706 682 663 A 1.72 1-800-344-0197 
Lone Star General Agency - Nationwide 1,614 1,257 524 515 491 491 491 491 466 447 A+ 0.10 1-800-882-2822 
Loya Insurance Co. 2,058 1,582 842 790 642 582 806 678 670 578 NR 3.05 1-800-554-0595
Leader Managing General Agency 2,740 2,380 712 723 581 579 815 756 670 611 A 0.15 1-800-782-2040
Merastar Insurance Co. 1,668 1,296 446 428 402 402 402 382 382 360 A- 0  1-800-637-2782
Mercury County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,944 1,646 588 596 504 494 630 580 534 500 A- 3.78 1-800-503-3724
Metropolitan Lloyds Insurance Co. of Texas 1,636 1,336 637 485 485 473 471 471 515 414 A 7.40 1-800-422-4272
National General Assurance Co. 1,531 1,454 564 667 488 410 589 576 429 323 A- 7.98 1-800-462-2123
National General Insurance Co. 2,240 1,884 749 728 599 599 754 613 488 371 A- 7.11 1-800-526-0332 
National Surety Corporation 798 692 294 302 261 250 283 283 283 283 A 0 1-800-227-1700
Nationwide Agribusiness Insurance Co. 1,906 1,468 512 512 479 468 479 474 452 425 A+ 0 1-800-882-2822 
Progressive County Mutual - Direct Rates 1,889 1,662 496 512 463 468 492 494 463 458 A+ 1.15 1-800-776-4737 
Progressive County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,346 2,097 468 475 402 408 448 444 400 379 A+ 1.15 1-800-776-4737
Safe Auto Insurance Co. 1,500 1,380 448 448 374 376 614 474 440 392 NR 0 1-800-723-3288
Safeco General Agency - Safeco 3,708 3,202 525 514 494 455 522 462 538 407 NR 1.75 1-800-792-3224
State Farm County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,054 1,591 617 617 617 617 534 534 534 534 A++ 1.46 1-800-252-1932 
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co. 1,728 1,339 519 519 519 519 449 449 449 449 A++ 0.53 1-800-252-1932
Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association 1,450 1,130 502 502 502 502 502 502 502 502 NR 0 1-866-321-9154
Texas Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co. 1,185 920 355 355 355 355 355 355 355 355 A- 0.94 1-800-772-6535 
Titan Insurance Services, Inc. - Nationwide 1,358 1,127 619 621 515 494 580 521 526 413 NR 1.75 1-800-848-2687
Trinity Universal Insurance Co. 1,061 868 458 470 446 446 386 386 390 386 A- 1.23 1-800-321-5344
Titan Insurance Services, Inc. 2,170 1,739 716 748 633 594 572 531 618 529 A+ 0.10 1-800-848-2687
Travelers Quantum Automobile 1,486 1,165 608 586 622 600 576 547 599 570 NR 0.78 1-800-676-5603 
United Services Automobile Association 663 581 225 225 198 201 224 221 211 213 A++ 0.79 1-800-531-8722
USAA Casualty Insurance Co. 961 840 306 306 267 271 304 299 286 288 A++ 0.76 1-800-531-8111
USAA General Indemnity Co. 1,066 931 360 360 325 331 345 339 336 339 A++ 1.21 1-800-531-8111
Unitrin Direct General Agency 1,762 1,466 872 872 834 834 872 872 834 834 A- 4.90 1-800-456-1919 
Unitrin Direct P&C 1,850 1,532 566 554 552 510 870 728 722 660 A- 1.75 1-800-792-3224 
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