
Published by the
Texas Department of Insurance
July 2014

apc02.0714

Texas law requires people who drive in Texas to 
pay for the accidents they cause. Most drivers 
do this by buying auto liability insurance. 
Liability insurance pays to repair or replace 
the other driver’s car and pays other people’s 
medical expenses when you are at fault in an 
accident.

If  you buy insurance to meet the state’s 
financial responsibility law, you must buy 
at least the minimum amount. The current 
minimum liability limits per accident are 
$30,000 for each injured person, up to a total 
of  $60,000 if  more than one person is injured, 
and $25,000 for property damage. This basic 
coverage is called 30/60/25 coverage.

Understanding Rates
When deciding what to charge you, insurance 
companies look at your driving record and 
other factors, including the type of  car you 
drive, where you live, your claims history, your 
insurance credit score, your age, and your car’s 
primary use (for pleasure or to drive to and 
from work).

If  you have any accidents, tickets, or claims on 
your driving record during the past three years, 
your rates may also be higher.

Auto insurance companies in Texas set their 
own rates. Although TDI doesn’t approve rates 
in advance, we can order a company to pay 
refunds to its policyholders if  we determine 
that its rates are too high.

How to Use this Guide
This guide can help you compare sample annual 
rates for companies that sell auto liability 
insurance in Texas. It includes companies in 
the top 25 insurer groups nationally and others 
that asked to be in the guide. The guide isn’t 
a complete list of  all companies selling auto 
insurance in your area, and you shouldn’t limit 
your search to only these companies.

The sample rates shown are estimates and 
aren’t the exact amount you will be quoted. 
Contact the companies or an agent for a quote 
based on your needs.

The sample rates are for minimum liability 
coverage only. Liability coverage doesn’t pay for 
damages to your own vehicle. 

You’ll need to add collision and comprehensive 
coverages to your policy to repair or replace 
your vehicle if  it’s damaged or stolen. If  you 
still owe money on your car, your lender will 
require you to have these coverages. You 
can also add coverage for medical payments, 
personal injury protection, uninsured/
underinsured motorist, towing and labor, and 
rental reimbursement to your policy for an 
additional premium.

Driver Profiles
The sample annual rates are based on driver 
profiles. The profiles may not match your 
situation exactly, but they are a way to compare 
prices. All of  the profiles are for people who 
drive their cars to work, live in a town or city, 
don’t have any traffic violations, and have 
average credit.
Driver 1: Single male, under age 25
Driver 2: Single female, under age 25
Driver 3: Single male, age 25-65

Driver 4: Single female, age 25-65
Driver 5: Married male, age 25-65
Driver 6: Married female, age 25-65
Driver 7: Single male, age 66 and older
Driver 8: Single female, age 66 and older
Driver 9: Married male, age 66 and older

Driver 10: Married female, age 66 and older

A.M. Best Rating
The A.M. Best rating shows the financial 
strength and operating performance of  each 
company. TDI has permission to reprint the 
ratings. A.M. Best’s ratings are subject to 
change and are current as of  the publication 
date. For current rating information, call A.M. 
Best at 1-908-439-2200 or visit its website at 
www.ambest.com.

Ratings Classifications
A++ and A+ mean Superior
A and A- mean Excellent
B++ and B+ mean Very Good
B and B- mean Fair
C++ and C+ mean Marginal
C and C- mean Weak
NR means the company was not rated by A.M. 
Best.

A.M. Best is not responsible for errors in 
presentation or content and does not endorse 
this publication in any way.

Complaint Index
The complaint index shows how consumer 
complaints filed against a company compare to 
other companies.

The average index is 1.00. A complaint index 
less than 1.00 means that a company received 
fewer complaints than average, and an index 
greater than 1.00 means that a company 
received more complaints than average.

A company’s complaint index can change 
throughout the year. For the current index, 

view the sample rate comparisons on our 
website at www.HelpInsure.com.

Shopping Tips
• Get price quotes from several companies 

because rates vary. Make sure the quotes are 
for the same coverages.

• Consider factors other than price, including a 
company’s financial rating, complaint index, 
and license status. Ask your agent whether 
you qualify for discounts. Discounts vary 
by company. Some companies may offer 
discounts if  you have multiple policies with 
the company, have a car alarm, or have 
completed a driver education course.

• Ask what coverages are included. Coverages 
and limits can vary from policy to policy. 
Choose a policy with the coverages you need 
and with limits that will adequately protect 
your assets.

• Consider buying more coverage. If  you are 
legally responsible for an accident, the basic 
liability limits may not be enough.

• Answer all questions on the application 
truthfully. Wrong information could result 
in an incorrect price quote or a denial or 
cancellation of  coverage.

• Don’t cancel a policy until you have a new 
policy in effect.

Visit HelpInsure.com
HelpInsure.com is a free service of  TDI and 
the Office of  Public Insurance Counsel to 
help you shop for auto insurance. The website 
lists sample rates for hundreds of  additional 
driver profiles that may more closely match 
your situation. You’ll also find information 
about discounts, detailed policy coverage 
comparisons, the percentage by which each 
company’s rates have changed over time, and 
shopping tips.
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The sample rates are estimates. Contact an agent or company for a rate quote. Visit HelpInsure.com for additional profiles and more detailed information.

Unfair Discrimination
An insurance company can’t deny, refuse to 
renew, limit or charge more for coverage, or 
unfairly discriminate because of  your race, 
color, religion, or national origin. A company 
also may not discriminate because of  your age, 
gender, marital status, geographic location, or 
disability or partial disability, unless the refusal, 
limitation, or higher rate is based on sound 
underwriting or actuarial principles. This means 
the company must have valid evidence that you 
present a greater risk for a loss than drivers it is 
willing to insure.

For More Information or  
Assistance
For answers to general insurance questions, for 
information about filing an insurance-related 
complaint, or to report suspected insurance 
fraud, call the Consumer Help Line at 1-800-
252-3439 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Central 
time, Monday-Friday, or visit our website at 
www.tdi.texas.gov.

For printed copies of  consumer publications, 
call the 24-hour Publications Order Line at 
1-800-599-SHOP (7467).

To report suspected arson or suspicious activity 
involving fires, call the State Fire Marshal’s 24-
hour Arson Hotline at 1-877-4FIRE45 (434-
7345).

The sample rates are estimates given to TDI by the 
companies listed. Your actual premium will be based 
on your individual circumstances and could be higher 
or lower than the sample rates shown. To get an exact 
premium quote, contact the company or an agent 
directly. Some companies may require you to meet 
eligibility requirements. Sample rates are provided for 
informational purposes only. TDI does not endorse any 
product, service, or company.

Company Name 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
A.M. Best 

Rating
Complaint 

Index
Phone Number

21st Century Centennial Insurance Co. $2,007 $1,674 $687 $643 $635 $680 $663 $637 $724 $707 A 2.38 1-877-310-5687
AAA Texas County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,324 1,195 556 557 524 524 578 570 561 551 A+ 1.95 1-866-487-4222
AIG Property Casualty Co. 1,487 1,487 646 646 646 646 534 534 534 534 A 0 1-877-638-4244
Allstate County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,738 1,529 822 784 807 791 572 572 780 780 A+ 0.83 1-800-255-7828
Allstate Fire And Casualty Insurance Co. 630 544 284 294 254 262 280 280 280 280 A+ 0.85 1-800-255-7828
Amica Mutual Insurance Co. 6,280 4,396 1,411 1,411 1,594 1,594 1,350 1,350 1,525 1,525 A++ 1.49 1-800-242-6422
Charter General Agency 3,372 2,727 892 870 874 854 918 899 899 880 A- 4.90 1-800-456-1919 
Criterion (GEICO) 1,399 1,736 1,399 1,508 1,657 1,939 1,803 1,508 1,791 1,999 A+ 0.10 1-800-841-3000
Direct General Insurance Co. 1,857 1,816 369 362 307 323 343 335 277 286 B 1.14 1-855-538-1853
Encompass Indemnity Co. 4,447 3,715 1,321 1,321 1,151 1,151 1,242 1,242 1,163 1,163 A+ 2.65  1-847-402-5000 
Esurance Insurance Co. 4,288 3,392 1,202 1,182 1,048 998 1,358 1,172 1,104 1,098 A+ 0.92 1-800-378-7262
Esurance 3,922 3,108 1,124 1,108 984 940 1,266 1,098 1,036 1,028 A+ 1.75 1-800-378-7262
Farm Bureau County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,546 1,976 767 767 767 767 767 767 767 767 A 0 1-800-772-6535 
Farmers Texas County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,078 1,774 541 536 444 440 546 451 500 374 A 1.04 1-800-327-6377
Fireman's Fund Insurance Co. 1,434 1,236 530 544 472 453 513 513 513 513 A 0 1-800-227-1700
Foremost County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,450 1,241 700 700 537 528 560 556 461 460 A 0.57  1-616-942-3000 
Garrison Property and Casualty Insurance Co. 1,605 1,399 415 415 363 369 412 405 389 392 NR 1.59  1-800-531-8111 
GEICO Advantage Insurance Co. 1,359 1,484 1,359 1,466 1,610 1,884 1,444 1,466 1,740 1,942 A++ 0.32 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Choice Insurance Co. 1,362 1,686 1,362 1,462 1,826 2,072 1,751 1,462 1,567 1,997 A++ 0.18 1-800-861-8380
GEICO County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,713 1,863 378 411 360 360 367 397 371 371 A++ 0 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Indemnity Co. 1,667 1,304 645 664 570 594 645 683 613 625 A++ 1.15 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Secure Insurance Co. 1,644 2,137 1,644 1,768 2,314 2,458 2,089 1,768 1,908 2,526 A++ 1.41 1-800-861-8380
General Automobile Insurance Co., Inc., The 3,362 2,896 1,083 950 855 807 1,567 1,026 978 988 A- 10.46 1-800-280-1466
Government Employees Insurance Co. 1,698 1,403 305 287 256 256 334 302 270 270 A++ 1.20 1-800-861-8380
Hartford Fire General Agency Program 1,846 1,770 561 556 551 545 534 528 537 531 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Hartford Underwriters General Agency 2,194 2,103 648 642 635 627 616 608 620 612 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Hartford of Texas General Agency 3,032 2,756 1,444 1,444 1,410 1,410 1,390 1,402 1,384 1,398 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Kemper General Agency 1,662 1,410 605 601 556 563 587 558 569 530 NR 1.75  1-800-792-3224 
Liberty County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,252 2,092 732 757 676 708 845 793 766 743 A 1.72 1-800-344-0197 
Lone Star General Agency - Nationwide 2,978 2,294 891 872 826 826 826 826 780 743 A+ 0.10 1-800-882-2822 
Loya Insurance Co. 2,378 1,818 950 890 718 650 910 758 750 638 NR 3.05 1-800-554-0595
Leader Managing General Agency 2,759 2,406 718 728 585 582 821 761 676 615 A 0.15 1-800-782-2040
Merastar Insurance Co. 2,620 2,032 700 668 632 632 632 600 600 568 A- 0  1-800-637-2782
Mercury County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,588 2,188 760 772 644 632 814 748 686 640 A- 3.78 1-800-503-3724
Metropolitan Lloyds Insurance Co. of Texas 1,967 1,600 763 580 580 565 565 565 615 497 A 7.40 1-800-422-4272
National General Assurance Co. 2,113 2,008 779 921 673 565 814 795 592 445 A- 7.98 1-800-462-2123
National General Insurance Co. 3,155 2,653 1,055 1,026 844 844 1,063 863 688 522 A- 7.11 1-800-526-0332 
National Surety Corporation 1,087 937 402 413 358 344 389 389 389 389 A 0 1-800-227-1700
Nationwide Agribusiness Insurance Co. 2,800 2,148 724 724 676 660 676 668 635 595 A+ 0 1-800-882-2822 
Progressive County Mutual - Direct Rates 2,814 2,440 624 650 570 580 618 623 574 560 A+ 1.15 1-800-776-4737 
Progressive County Mutual Insurance Co. 3,035 2,689 570 577 480 488 545 537 483 449 A+ 1.15 1-800-776-4737
Safe Auto Insurance Co. 2,168 1,994 646 646 540 544 888 682 636 564 NR 0 1-800-723-3288
Safeco General Agency - Safeco 4,964 4,273 732 714 688 636 718 633 753 563 NR 1.75 1-800-792-3224
State Farm County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,368 1,835 711 711 711 711 616 616 616 616 A++ 1.46 1-800-252-1932 
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co. 1,992 1,543 598 598 598 598 518 518 518 518 A++ 0.53 1-800-252-1932
Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association 2,303 1,794 797 797 797 797 797 797 797 797 NR 0 1-866-321-9154
Texas Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co. 1,980 1,536 595 595 595 595 595 595 595 595 A- 0.94 1-800-772-6535 
Titan Insurance Services, Inc. - Nationwide 1,432 1,186 659 660 550 527 612 553 553 435 NR 1.75 1-800-848-2687
Trinity Universal Insurance Co. 1,709 1,398 737 756 717 717 620 620 626 620 A- 1.23 1-800-321-5344
Titan Insurance Services, Inc. 2,844 2,285 940 986 832 782 749 692 816 698 A+ 0.10 1-800-848-2687
Travelers Quantum Automobile 1,434 1,116 589 565 603 579 557 529 580 552 NR 0.78 1-800-676-5603 
United Services Automobile Association 932 814 301 301 263 268 299 294 282 284 A++ 0.79 1-800-531-8722
USAA Casualty Insurance Co. 1,067 932 328 328 287 292 326 320 307 310 A++ 0.76 1-800-531-8111
USAA General Indemnity Co. 1,180 1,029 392 392 354 361 376 370 366 370 A++ 1.21 1-800-531-8111
Unitrin Direct General Agency 2,442 2,027 872 872 834 834 872 872 834 834 A- 4.90 1-800-456-1919 
Unitrin Direct P&C 2,476 2,028 666 650 646 588 1,096 898 884 798 A- 1.75 1-800-792-3224 
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