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Texas law requires people who drive in Texas to 
pay for the accidents they cause. Most drivers 
do this by buying auto liability insurance. 
Liability insurance pays to repair or replace 
the other driver’s car and pays other people’s 
medical expenses when you are at fault in an 
accident.

If  you buy insurance to meet the state’s 
financial responsibility law, you must buy 
at least the minimum amount. The current 
minimum liability limits per accident are 
$30,000 for each injured person, up to a total 
of  $60,000 if  more than one person is injured, 
and $25,000 for property damage. This basic 
coverage is called 30/60/25 coverage.

Understanding Rates
When deciding what to charge you, insurance 
companies look at your driving record and 
other factors, including the type of  car you 
drive, where you live, your claims history, your 
insurance credit score, your age, and your car’s 
primary use (for pleasure or to drive to and 
from work).

If  you have any accidents, tickets, or claims on 
your driving record during the past three years, 
your rates may also be higher.

Auto insurance companies in Texas set their 
own rates. Although TDI doesn’t approve rates 
in advance, we can order a company to pay 
refunds to its policyholders if  we determine 
that its rates are too high.

How to Use this Guide
This guide can help you compare sample annual 
rates for companies that sell auto liability 
insurance in Texas. It includes companies in 
the top 25 insurer groups nationally and others 
that asked to be in the guide. The guide isn’t 
a complete list of  all companies selling auto 
insurance in your area, and you shouldn’t limit 
your search to only these companies.

The sample rates shown are estimates and 
aren’t the exact amount you will be quoted. 
Contact the companies or an agent for a quote 
based on your needs.

The sample rates are for minimum liability 
coverage only. Liability coverage doesn’t pay for 
damages to your own vehicle. 

You’ll need to add collision and comprehensive 
coverages to your policy to repair or replace 
your vehicle if  it’s damaged or stolen. If  you 
still owe money on your car, your lender will 
require you to have these coverages. You 
can also add coverage for medical payments, 
personal injury protection, uninsured/
underinsured motorist, towing and labor, and 
rental reimbursement to your policy for an 
additional premium.

Driver Profiles
The sample annual rates are based on driver 
profiles. The profiles may not match your 
situation exactly, but they are a way to compare 
prices. All of  the profiles are for people who 
drive their cars to work, live in a town or city, 
don’t have any traffic violations, and have 
average credit.
Driver 1: Single male, under age 25
Driver 2: Single female, under age 25
Driver 3: Single male, age 25-65

Driver 4: Single female, age 25-65
Driver 5: Married male, age 25-65
Driver 6: Married female, age 25-65
Driver 7: Single male, age 66 and older
Driver 8: Single female, age 66 and older
Driver 9: Married male, age 66 and older

Driver 10: Married female, age 66 and older

A.M. Best Rating
The A.M. Best rating shows the financial 
strength and operating performance of  each 
company. TDI has permission to reprint the 
ratings. A.M. Best’s ratings are subject to 
change and are current as of  the publication 
date. For current rating information, call A.M. 
Best at 1-908-439-2200 or visit its website at 
www.ambest.com.

Ratings Classifications
A++ and A+ mean Superior
A and A- mean Excellent
B++ and B+ mean Very Good
B and B- mean Fair
C++ and C+ mean Marginal
C and C- mean Weak
NR means the company was not rated by A.M. 
Best.

A.M. Best is not responsible for errors in 
presentation or content and does not endorse 
this publication in any way.

Complaint Index
The complaint index shows how consumer 
complaints filed against a company compare to 
other companies.

The average index is 1.00. A complaint index 
less than 1.00 means that a company received 
fewer complaints than average, and an index 
greater than 1.00 means that a company 
received more complaints than average.

A company’s complaint index can change 
throughout the year. For the current index, 

view the sample rate comparisons on our 
website at www.HelpInsure.com.

Shopping Tips
• Get price quotes from several companies 

because rates vary. Make sure the quotes are 
for the same coverages.

• Consider factors other than price, including a 
company’s financial rating, complaint index, 
and license status. Ask your agent whether 
you qualify for discounts. Discounts vary 
by company. Some companies may offer 
discounts if  you have multiple policies with 
the company, have a car alarm, or have 
completed a driver education course.

• Ask what coverages are included. Coverages 
and limits can vary from policy to policy. 
Choose a policy with the coverages you need 
and with limits that will adequately protect 
your assets.

• Consider buying more coverage. If  you are 
legally responsible for an accident, the basic 
liability limits may not be enough.

• Answer all questions on the application 
truthfully. Wrong information could result 
in an incorrect price quote or a denial or 
cancellation of  coverage.

• Don’t cancel a policy until you have a new 
policy in effect.

Visit HelpInsure.com
HelpInsure.com is a free service of  TDI and 
the Office of  Public Insurance Counsel to 
help you shop for auto insurance. The website 
lists sample rates for hundreds of  additional 
driver profiles that may more closely match 
your situation. You’ll also find information 
about discounts, detailed policy coverage 
comparisons, the percentage by which each 
company’s rates have changed over time, and 
shopping tips.



The sample rates are estimates. Contact an agent or company for a rate quote. Visit HelpInsure.com for additional profiles and more detailed information.

Unfair Discrimination
An insurance company can’t deny, refuse to 
renew, limit or charge more for coverage, or 
unfairly discriminate because of  your race, 
color, religion, or national origin. A company 
also may not discriminate because of  your age, 
gender, marital status, geographic location, or 
disability or partial disability, unless the refusal, 
limitation, or higher rate is based on sound 
underwriting or actuarial principles. This means 
the company must have valid evidence that you 
present a greater risk for a loss than drivers it is 
willing to insure.

For More Information or  
Assistance
For answers to general insurance questions, for 
information about filing an insurance-related 
complaint, or to report suspected insurance 
fraud, call the Consumer Help Line at 1-800-
252-3439 between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m., Central 
time, Monday-Friday, or visit our website at 
www.tdi.texas.gov.

For printed copies of  consumer publications, 
call the 24-hour Publications Order Line at 
1-800-599-SHOP (7467).

To report suspected arson or suspicious activity 
involving fires, call the State Fire Marshal’s 
24-hour Arson Hotline at 1-877-4FIRE45 (434-
7345).

The sample rates are estimates given to TDI by the 
companies listed. Your actual premium will be based 
on your individual circumstances and could be higher 
or lower than the sample rates shown. To get an exact 
premium quote, contact the company or an agent 
directly. Some companies may require you to meet 
eligibility requirements. Sample rates are provided for 
informational purposes only. TDI does not endorse any 
product, service, or company.

Company Name 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
A.M. Best 

Rating
Complaint 

Index
Phone Number

21st Century Centennial Insurance Co. $1,902 $1,588 $654 $612 $604 $646 $630 $607 $688 $673 A 2.38 1-877-310-5687
AAA Texas County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,086 979 452 453 425 425 482 473 464 459 A+ 1.95 1-866-487-4222
AIG Property Casualty Co. 1,307 1,307 617 617 617 617 528 528 528 528 A 0 1-877-638-4244
Allstate County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,799 1,577 848 805 829 817 591 591 803 803 A+ 0.83 1-800-255-7828
Allstate Fire And Casualty Insurance Co. 673 580 304 313 272 280 300 300 300 300 A+ 0.85 1-800-255-7828
Amica Mutual Insurance Co. 4,340 3,038 977 977 1,103 1,103 934 934 1,055 1,055 A++ 1.49 1-800-242-6422
Charter General Agency 2,964 2,421 789 770 765 750 811 797 787 773 A- 4.90 1-800-456-1919 
Criterion (GEICO) 1,208 1,439 1,208 1,276 1,325 1,476 1,500 1,276 1,433 1,510 A+ 0.10 1-800-841-3000
Direct General Insurance Co. 1,614 1,577 320 311 270 282 295 291 240 248 B 1.14 1-855-538-1853
Encompass Indemnity Co. 4,368 3,649 1,297 1,297 1,131 1,131 1,220 1,220 1,142 1,142 A+ 2.65  1-847-402-5000 
Esurance Insurance Co. 4,440 3,510 1,236 1,214 1,072 1,024 1,398 1,204 1,132 1,128 A+ 0.92 1-800-378-7262
Esurance 4,110 3,254 1,164 1,144 1,016 970 1,312 1,134 1,070 1,064 A+ 1.75 1-800-378-7262
Farm Bureau County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,586 2,007 778 778 778 778 778 778 778 778 A 0 1-800-772-6535 
Farmers Texas County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,994 1,708 518 513 422 418 514 430 477 355 A 1.04 1-800-327-6377
Fireman's Fund Insurance Co. 1,560 1,344 577 592 514 493 558 558 558 558 A 0 1-800-227-1700
Foremost County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,426 1,217 689 687 530 522 551 549 454 454 A 0.57  1-616-942-3000 
Garrison Property and Casualty Insurance Co. 1,649 1,437 438 438 381 388 435 428 408 412 NR 1.59  1-800-531-8111 
GEICO Advantage Insurance Co. 1,172 1,210 1,172 1,238 1,286 1,432 1,186 1,238 1,390 1,466 A++ 0.32 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Choice Insurance Co. 1,211 1,397 1,211 1,275 1,481 1,598 1,456 1,275 1,296 1,535 A++ 0.18 1-800-861-8380
GEICO County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,545 1,682 348 380 333 333 338 366 338 338 A++ 0 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Indemnity Co. 1,184 975 458 472 426 445 458 485 458 467 A++ 1.15 1-800-861-8380
GEICO Secure Insurance Co. 1,421 1,773 1,421 1,499 1,879 1,914 1,752 1,499 1,535 1,945 A++ 1.41 1-800-861-8380
General Automobile Insurance Co., Inc., The 3,024 2,606 974 854 769 726 1,410 923 880 889 A- 10.46 1-800-280-1466
Government Employees Insurance Co. 1,309 975 248 245 219 219 271 258 231 231 A++ 1.20 1-800-861-8380
Hartford Fire General Agency Program 1,861 1,795 579 583 562 564 555 558 562 564 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Hartford Underwriters General Agency 2,102 2,027 644 648 624 627 617 619 625 627 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Hartford of Texas General Agency 2,990 2,774 1,390 1,390 1,334 1,334 1,338 1,346 1,330 1,338 A- 1.85 1-800-624-5578
Kemper General Agency 1,444 1,231 529 528 489 497 513 487 492 466 NR 1.75  1-800-792-3224 
Liberty County Mutual Insurance Co. 1,853 1,717 610 634 562 589 710 662 644 622 A 1.72 1-800-344-0197 
Lone Star General Agency - Nationwide 1,765 1,371 565 554 527 527 527 527 501 480 A+ 0.10 1-800-882-2822 
Loya Insurance Co. 2,582 1,970 1,022 954 766 690 978 810 798 682 NR 3.05 1-800-554-0595
Leader Managing General Agency 2,742 2,388 714 723 581 579 816 756 671 611 A 0.15 1-800-782-2040
Merastar Insurance Co. 2,504 1,942 670 638 604 604 604 574 574 542 A- 0  1-800-637-2782
Mercury County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,644 2,236 774 784 654 644 832 762 698 652 A- 3.78 1-800-503-3724
Metropolitan Lloyds Insurance Co. of Texas 2,261 1,839 877 669 669 651 649 649 709 574 A 7.40 1-800-422-4272
National General Assurance Co. 2,234 2,123 824 973 712 598 860 841 626 471 A- 7.98 1-800-462-2123
National General Insurance Co. 3,349 2,816 1,120 1,089 896 896 1,128 917 730 554 A- 7.11 1-800-526-0332 
National Surety Corporation 1,182 1,018 438 449 390 374 423 423 423 423 A 0 1-800-227-1700
Nationwide Agribusiness Insurance Co. 2,066 1,590 550 550 514 502 514 508 485 455 A+ 0 1-800-882-2822 
Progressive County Mutual - Direct Rates 2,773 2,419 621 647 571 579 615 621 570 563 A+ 1.15 1-800-776-4737 
Progressive County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,941 2,623 565 573 479 488 538 534 477 451 A+ 1.15 1-800-776-4737
Safe Auto Insurance Co. 1,848 1,700 552 552 460 464 756 584 542 482 NR 0 1-800-723-3288
Safeco General Agency - Safeco 5,078 4,388 715 701 672 619 713 631 733 554 NR 1.75 1-800-792-3224
State Farm County Mutual Insurance Co. 2,392 1,853 718 718 718 718 622 622 622 622 A++ 1.46 1-800-252-1932 
State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Co. 2,012 1,559 604 604 604 604 523 523 523 523 A++ 0.53 1-800-252-1932
Texas Automobile Insurance Plan Association 1,922 1,497 665 665 665 665 665 665 665 665 NR 0 1-866-321-9154
Texas Farm Bureau Mutual Insurance Co. 1,790 1,389 539 539 539 539 539 539 539 539 A- 0.94 1-800-772-6535 
Titan Insurance Services, Inc. - Nationwide 1,518 1,261 692 694 575 553 649 583 588 462 NR 1.75 1-800-848-2687
Trinity Universal Insurance Co. 1,429 1,169 616 633 600 600 519 519 524 519 A- 1.23 1-800-321-5344
Titan Insurance Services, Inc. 2,684 2,142 883 917 780 731 707 661 756 649 A+ 0.10 1-800-848-2687
Travelers Quantum Automobile 1,636 1,274 660 634 675 648 622 592 645 615 NR 0.78 1-800-676-5603 
United Services Automobile Association 927 810 304 304 266 270 302 297 284 287 A++ 0.79 1-800-531-8722
USAA Casualty Insurance Co. 1,127 984 354 354 308 313 352 346 330 333 A++ 0.76 1-800-531-8111
USAA General Indemnity Co. 1,426 1,243 472 472 426 434 453 445 441 445 A++ 1.21 1-800-531-8111
Unitrin Direct General Agency 2,384 1,979 872 872 834 834 872 872 834 834 A- 4.90 1-800-456-1919 
Unitrin Direct P&C 2,464 2,020 666 648 644 586 1,092 894 880 798 A- 1.75 1-800-792-3224 

AUTO PROFILES & SAMPLE ANNUAL RATES


