Fire Safety Inspection Request Form

Important

The State Fire Marshal's Office (SFMO) will not perform inspections in areas served by local governments with certified inspectors. Before submitting this form, contact your local fire inspection authority to learn whether they do fire safety inspections. If they do, please schedule your inspection through them. A refund will not be made for failure to verify a local fire marshal is available.

Instructions

- Use this form to request a fire safety inspection from SFMO. Only the owner, tenant, or chief administrator of a building may request an inspection.
- Please print or type your information.
- Complete all areas of the request form with necessary information.
- All fees are nonrefundable, except for overpayments resulting from mistakes of law or fact.
- If you have any questions about this form or the inspection process, please contact SFMO at FireInspection@tdi.texas.gov.

1. Building to be inspected (please type or print legibly)

Name of building or	facility			
Street address				
City	State	ZIP	County	
Number of buildings to be inspected		Property type (restaurant, office, etc.)		
Owner/Contact nam	e			
Email		Pho	one	

2. Building type and fee

If multiple building types apply, check the box with the largest fee.

\$ 75	\$ 100	\$ 150	\$ 200	\$ 300
Licensed child / adult day care facility Licensed foster home with fewer than seven children	Licensed nursing home Licensed assisted living or board and care facility School / educational facility Head Start Licensed foster home with seven or more children	Apartment building Hotel / motel Lodging / rooming house Assembly occupancy Business Retail shop or store	☐ Industrial facility ☐ Storage facility ☐ City / county ☐ Jail ☐ Private prison / ☐ jail ☐ Hospital	Other building 50,000 sq. ft. or larger

3. Number of buildings to be inspected.

This includes support buildings such as boiler houses, maintenance shops, and repair shops. There is a \$25 fee for each additional building after the first.

	x \$25	= \$	
Number of additional buildings	Fee for each additional building	Total additional fees	

4. Reinspection

One reinspection, if necessary, will be included in the cost of the original request. If additional inspections become necessary because of noncompliance, each subsequent inspection will require a separate Inspection Request Form SF259 and the necessary fee.

5. Inspection date

Once this form and payment are received and processed by TDI, an inspector will be assigned, and they will contact the owner to schedule the inspection.

6. Payment

Pay by check or money order payable to the Texas Department of Insurance. Mail your completed application, additional documents, and payment to the following mailing address:

State Fire Marshal's Office PO Box 12107 Austin, Texas 78711-2107

Your rights

You can request information we have about you by emailing OpenRecords@tdi.texas.gov or writing to: Public Information Coordinator, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 12030 (mail code GC-ORO) Austin, Texas 78711-2030. You also have the right to ask that we fix information we have about you that is wrong. To ask for a correction, send (1) your name, mailing address, and your phone number, (2) details about what needs to be fixed, and (3) the reason or proof showing why the information is wrong. Send this by email to RecordCorrections@tdi.texas.gov or by mail to: Record Correction Request, Texas Department of Insurance, P.O. Box 12030 (mail code CO-AAL-CC), Austin, Texas 78711-2030.