
No.  2023-8004

Official Order 
of the 

Texas Commissioner of Insurance 

Date:  06/02/2023 

Subjects Considered: 

Garrison Property and Casualty Insurance Company 
United Services Automobile Association  

USAA Casualty Insurance Company 
USAA General Indemnity Company  

9800 Fredericksburg Road 
San Antonio, Texas 78288 

Consent Order 
TDI Enforcement File Nos. 29106, 29107, 29110, 29118 

General remarks and official action taken: 

This is a consent order with Garrison Property and Casualty Insurance Company, United 
Services Automobile Association, USAA Casualty Insurance Company, and USAA General 
Indemnity Company (collectively, the USAA Companies). The department alleges the 
USAA Companies improperly used an applicant’s lack of prior insurance to determine 
personal automobile rates. The USAA Companies have agreed to pay an administrative 
penalty of $45,000. 

Waiver 

The USAA Companies acknowledge that the Texas Insurance Code and other applicable 
law provide certain rights. The USAA Companies waive all of these rights, and any other 
applicable procedural rights, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.  Pursuant 
to TEX. INS. CODE § 82.055(b), the USAA Companies agree to this consent order with the 
express reservation that they do not admit to a violation of the Texas Insurance Code or 
of a rule and that the existence of a violation is in dispute. 
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Findings of Fact 

1. Garrison Property and Casualty Insurance Company, USAA Casualty Insurance
Company, and USAA General Indemnity Company are domestic fire and casualty
insurance companies that hold a certificate of authority to transact business in
Texas.

2. United Services Automobile Association is a domestic reciprocal interinsurance
exchange holding a certificate of authority to transact business in Texas.

Rating Error – Lack of Prior Insurance 

3. Texas law, under 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 5.401(b), prohibits insurers from using an
applicant's lack of prior insurance in determining the appropriate rate for private
passenger automobile liability insurance where the applicant has not been
operating an uninsured motor vehicle in the state for more than 30 days during
the 12 months immediately preceding the date of the application.

4. The USAA Companies’ personal automobile rate filings considered a policyholder's
prior insurance, including any lapse in insurance over 30 days, in the companies’
tier placement guidelines. This affected the final premium a policyholder paid.

5. After objections from department staff in filing USAA-132305222, the USAA
Companies submitted filing USAA-132537847, which included amended tier
placement guidelines removing consideration of a policyholder’s prior insurance
lapse.

6. The USAA Companies represent they don’t have data to identify applicants whose
lapse in insurance coverage is not associated with unlawful vehicle operation.

Prior Disciplinary History 

7. In December 2019, the USAA Companies were issued a warning letter for a
separate violation of 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 5.401(b).

Conclusions of Law 

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter under TEX. INS. CODE
§§ 82.051–82.055, 84.021–84.044, and 801.052–801.053.
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2. The commissioner has the authority to informally dispose of this matter as set forth
in TEX. GOV’T CODE § 2001.056; TEX. INS. CODE §§ 36.104 and 82.055; and 28 TEX. ADMIN.
CODE § 1.47.

3. The USAA Companies have knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights
to which they may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, including,
but not limited to, issuance and service of notice of intention to institute
disciplinary action, notice of hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision,
rehearing by the commissioner, and judicial review.

4. The USAA Companies violated 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 5.401 by assigning a rate
consequence to an applicant’s lack of prior insurance without having specific
evidence that the applicant had been operating an uninsured motor vehicle in the
state for more than 30 days.

Order

It is ordered that the USAA Companies pay, jointly and severally, an administrative penalty 
of $45,000 within 30 days from the date of this order. The administrative penalty must be 
paid as instructed in the invoice, which the department will send after entry of this order. 

__________________________________________
Cassie Brown
Commissioner of Insurance

Recommended and reviewed by: 

________________________________________
Leah Gillum, Deputy Commissioner
Fraud and Enforcement Division

__________________________________________
Mandy R. Meesey, Associate Commissioner
Enforcement 
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