No. 2024-8791

Official Order
of the
Texas Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation

Date: 8/21/2024

Subject Considered:
Chadwick D. Lee
1000 Heritage Center Circle
Round Rock, Texas 78664-4463

Consent Order
DWC Enforcement File No. 31886

General remarks and official action taken:
This is a consent order with Chadwick D. Lee (Respondent). The commissioner of the Texas
Department of Insurance, Division of Workers" Compensation (DWC) considers whether
DWC should take disciplinary action against Respondent.
Waiver
Respondent acknowledges that the Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws provide
certain rights. Respondent waives all of these rights, and any other procedural rights that
apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.
Findings of Fact

1. Respondent is an attorney operating in the Texas workers' compensation system.

Respondent was admitted to practice law on November 5, 1993, under Texas State

Bar number 00787886.

2. Respondent was not selected to be tiered in any Performance Based Oversight
(PBO) assessments.
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Failure to Timely Comply with a Contested Case Hearing Decision and Order (CCH D&OQO)

10.

11.

In -, Respondent represented an injured employee who was awarded
Supplemental Income Benefits (SIBs) after the insurance carrier contested DWC's
determination that the injured employee was entitled to SIBs.

On - DWC issued an Attorney Fee Order awarding $- in

attorney fees to Respondent. Because the injured employee was successful in the
dispute, the fees were to be paid directly from the insurance carrier rather than the
claimant's recovery.

| the insurance carrier issued four checks in the amounts of
. The total amount paid to Respondent was

The insurance carrier disputed the Attorneys’ Fee Order. The dispute proceeded to
a contested case hearing.

on [N 0/ C issued a CCH D&O awarding Respondent S in
attorney’s fees and ordering Respondent to reimburse the insurance carrier for any
fees collected in excess of the $- awarded to him, in accordance with the
decision. Respondent was required to reimburse the insurance carrier

Respondent received the CCH D&O on _
The CCH D&O became final on — Respondent was required to

comply with the CCH D&O withn 20 days of the CCH D&O becoming final. The
deadine to comply wes [N

oI
On _, Respondent comilied with the CCH D&O 1,857 days late

. Respondent partially reimbursed the insurance carrier

when he reimbursed an additional to the insurance carrier.

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §§402.083 and 402.092
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Assessment of Sanction

1. Compliance with DWC orders is imperative to minimize disputes and resolve them
promptly and fairly. In addition, failure to provide income benefits in a timely and
cost-effective manner is harmful to injured employees and the Texas workers’
compensation system.

2. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the following factors
in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e):
e the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances,
consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act;
e the history and extent of previous administrative violations;
e theviolator's demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify
the consequences of the prohibited act;
e the penalty necessary to deter future violations;
e whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the delivery
of benefits to an injured employee;
e the history of compliance with electronic data interchange requirements;
e tothe extentreasonable, the economic benefit resulting from the prohibited
act; and
e other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to:
o PBO assessments;
prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations;
self-report of the violation;
the size of the company or practice;
the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and
evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with
the Texas Workers' Compensation Act and DWC rules.

O O O O

3. DWC found the following factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin.
Code § 180.26(e) to be aggravating: the seriousness of the violation, including the
nature, circumstances, consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; the
history and extent of previous administrative violations, which includes a recent
consent order involving withholding improperly-obtained attorney fees; the
penalty necessary to deter future violations; the economic benefit of the violation
to Respondent; and other matters that justice may require, including evidence of
heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with the Texas Workers'

Compensation Act and DWC rules.
Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092
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4, DWC found the following factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin.
Code § 180.26(e) to be mitigating: other matters that justice may require, including
the size of the company or practice.

5. Respondent acknowledges communicating with DWC about the relevant statute
and rule violations alleged; that the facts establish that the administrative
violation(s) occurred; and that the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the
factors DWC considered under Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin.
Code § 180.26(e).

6. Respondent acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the
factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e).

Conclusions of Law

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code
§§ 402.001, 402.00114, 402.00116, 402.00128, 414.002, and 414.003.

2. The commissioner has the authority to dispose of this case informally pursuant to
Tex. Gov't Code § 2001.056, Tex. Lab. Code §§ 401.021 and 402.00128(b)(6)-(7), and
28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(h) and (i).

3. Respondent has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to which it
may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, including, but not limited
to, issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary action, notice of
hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by the commissioner,
and judicial review.

4. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 410.169 and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 142.16, a party is
required to comply with a CCH D&O within 20 days of the order becoming final.

5. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.001(10), a representative of an employee commits
an administrative violation each time the person violates a DWC rule.

6. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.001(11), a representative of an employee commits
an administrative violation each time the person fails to comply with this subtitle.

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092
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7. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(a), a person commits an administrative
violation if he violates, fails to comply with, or refuses to comply with a DWC order.

8. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021, the commissioner may assess an
administrative penalty against a person who commits an administrative violation.

9. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 410.169; 415.001(10) and (11); 415.021(a);
and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 142.16 by failing to timely comply with a DWC order.

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092
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1.

Order

It is ordered that Chadwick D. Lee, J.D., must pay an administrative penalty of
$10,000 by electronic transfer using the State Invoice Payment Service, company
check, cashier's check, or money order and make it payable to the “State of Texas.”
Respondent must mail the administrative penalty to the Texas Department of
Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement Section, MC AO-9999, PO Box 12030, Austin,
Texas 78711-2030. The administrative penalty must be paid pursuant to the
following schedule:

a. Respondent shall pay at least $5,000 within 30 days from the date of this
order.

b. Respondent must pay the entire $10,000 administrative penalty the earlier
of 180 days from date of this order or by February 28, 2025.

It is also ordered that Respondent attend and successfully complete at least six
hours of continuing legal or worker's compensation education in the topic of
ETHICS within 180 days from the date of this Order. Respondent must request
approval for each course from DWC prior to enroliment. To obtain approval for a
course, Respondent must submit in writing to Enforcement information on the
course, including a reasonably detailed description of the course content,
including the course location and dates of instruction. Confirmation of the
attendance and completion of any continuing education course must be provided
to DWC within 14 days of completion. You may email confirmation of your
successful completion of the course(s) to DWC Enforcement@tdi.texas.gov.

Jeff Nelson
Commissioner
TDI, Division of Workers" Compensation

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092
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Approved Form and Content:

Daniel Garcia

Staff Attorney, Enforcement
Compliance and Investigations

TDI, Division of Workers" Compensation
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Unsworn Declaration
STATEOF /C A A5 §
§
COUNTY Of L//tl/AaM s op/ §

F?suant to the Tex. Civ. Prac. and Rem. Code § 132.001(a), (b), and (d), my name is
__/_f_/’ffﬁﬂﬁffﬁé_—v_zléfﬁl hold the position of ZELES/DEAT T and am the

authorized representative of Chadwick D. Lee. My business address is:

(000 [fel!/IAGE (HTELK Lrows Lo Lr 5 TX | IELE

(Street) (City) (County) (State) (ZIP Codle)

I'am executing this declaration as part of my assigned duties and responsibilities. | declare

under penalty of perjury that the facts stated in this document are true and correct.
- / 3 s

Executed on  / /?’ 2024,

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092





