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Date:   8/14/2024  

Subject Considered:  
Hartford Underwriters Insurance Company  

1 Hartford Plaza  
Hartford, Connecticut  06155-0001  

Consent Order  
DWC Enforcement File  No.  34391  

General remarks and  official action taken:  

This is a consent order with  Hartford Underwriters Insurance Company  (Respondent). The 
commissioner of  the  Texas  Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’  Compensation 
(DWC)  considers whether  DWC should take  disciplinary action against  Respondent.  

Waiver  

Respondent  acknowledges that the  Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws provide  
certain rights.  Respondent  waives all of these  rights, and any other procedural rights that 
apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.  

Findings of Fact  

1. Respondent  holds a certificate of authority  issued by the Texas Department of 
Insurance to transact  the business of insurance pursuant to Tex. Ins. Code §§ 
801.051-801.053 and is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance  in Texas, 
including workers’ compensation/employers’ liability  insurance. 

2. Respondent  was classified as  “average” tier  in the 2022 and 2020  Performance 
Based Oversight (PBO) assessments.  Respondent was  classified as “high” tier in the 
2018  PBO assessment. 
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DWC Audit No. IBA-24-111 

3. On  , DWC initiated DWC Audit No. IBA-24-111  to determine whether 
Respondent  complied  with the  Texas Labor Code and related rules  on the timely 
payment of lifetime  income benefits  and death benefits  as  well as timely 
submitting  claim data to DWC. 

4. The audit examined death benefit  payments that Respondent  reported issuing 
between  ,  and .  DWC identified one  lifetime income benefit 
and 10 death benefit  claims for audit  to determine Respondent’s  compliance. 

5. The audit focused on the  accuracy of  Respondent’s  payment of  lifetime income 
benefits and death benefits,  as well as timely  submitting claim data to DWC. The 
electronic data interchange (EDI) portion of the audit focused on timely  reporting 
death benefit  terminations. 

Failure to Timely Pay Accurate  Lifetime Income  Benefits  

6. Respondent failed to timely pay accurate  lifetime income benefits  for  100% of 
examined payments  (1  out of  1). 

7. Specifically, Respondent  underpaid  the beneficiary  by $  over  112 weeks. 

Failure to Timely Pay  Accurate  Death Benefits  

8. Respondent  failed to  timely  pay  accurate  death benefits  for  30% of examined 
payments (3  out of  10). 

9. Specifically,  Respondent  underpaid  beneficiaries  by $  over  450 weeks, 
which included accrued interest. 

Failure to  

• 
Timely  Report Claim Data to DWC  

10. Respondent f• ailed to report to DWC two annual  lifetime income benefit  increases 
for  and . 

11. Respondent  failed to timely report the total number of  death benefit  terminations 
for  20% of examined payments (2  out of  10). 

·Conf idential Information Redacted Texas 

Lab-or Gode §§402.083 and 402.092 



 
 

  
  

Commissioner’s Order 
Hartford Underwriters Insurance Company 
DWC Enforcement File No. 34391 
Page 3 of 8 

2024-8785

12. Specifically,  Respondent  filed a suspension of death benefits with DWC  1,776 days 
late in one instance and 13 days  late  in the other instance. 

Assessment of Sanction  

1. Failure to provide  death benefits  or  lifetime income  benefits  in a timely and cost-
effective manner is harmful to injured employees  or  beneficiaries  under particularly 
stressful circumstances,  and increases the likelihood of disputes in  the Texas 
workers’ compensation system. 

2. DWC relies on  the claims information insurance carriers  submit for  many purposes, 
including  protecting beneficiaries,  providing required information and reports to 
the Legislature, ensuring compliance  with the Texas Labor Code and DWC rules, 
and detecting patterns  and practices in claim  handling that provoke improvements 
in the Texas workers’ compensation system. 

3. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the  following factors 
in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e): 

• the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, 
consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; 

• the history and extent of previous administrative violations; 
• the violator’s demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify 

the consequences of the prohibited act; 
• the penalty necessary to deter future violations; 
• whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the  delivery 

of benefits to an injured employee  or their beneficiaries; 
• the history of compliance with EDI  requirements; 
• to the extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting  from the prohibited 

act; and 
• other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to: 

o PBO assessments; 
o prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations; 
o self-report of the violation; 
o the size of the company or practice; 
o the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and 
o evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with 

the Texas Workers’  Compensation Act and DWC rules. 

Information Redacted Texas 
Labor Code §§402.083 and 402.092 



 
 

  
  

Commissioner’s Order 
Hartford Underwriters Insurance Company 
DWC Enforcement File No. 34391 
Page 4 of 8 

2024-8785

4. DWC found the following factors in Tex. Lab.  Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. 
Code  § 180.26(e) to be  aggravating: the seriousness of the violation, including the 
nature, circumstances,  consequences, extent,  and gravity of the prohibited act; the 
history and extent of previous administrative violations; the penalty necessary to 
deter future violations; whether the administrative violation had a negative impact 
on the delivery of benefits to an injured employee  or their beneficiaries; the history 
of compliance with EDI requirements; and other matters that justice may require, 
including the size of the company or practice. 

5. As a matter of justice,  DWC  considered as  mitigating the fact  that this matter 
results  from a DWC audit and not a  system participant complaint  pursuant to Tex. 
Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e). 

6. Respondent acknowledges  communicating with DWC about the relevant statute and 
rule violations alleged; that the facts  establish that the administrative  violation(s) 
occurred;  and  that the proposed sanction is  appropriate, including  the  factors DWC 
considered under  Tex.  Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28  Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e). 

7. Respondent  acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the 
factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e). 

Conclusions of Law  

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this  matter pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code 
§§ 402.001, 402.00114,  402.00116, 402.00128,  409.021, 414.002,  and 414.003. 

2. The commissioner has  the authority to dispose of this  case informally pursuant to 
Tex. Gov’t Code § 2001.056, Tex.  Lab. Code §§  401.021 and 402.00128(b)(6)-(7), and 
28 Tex. Admin. Code §  180.26(h)  and (i). 

3. Respondent has knowingly and  voluntarily waived all procedural rights to  which it 
may have been entitled regarding the entry of  this order, including, but not limited 
to, issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary action, notice of 
hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by the commissioner, 
and judicial review. 

4. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021,  the commissioner may assess an 
administrative penalty  against a person who commits an administrative violation. 

Information Redacted Texas 
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5. Pursuant to Tex. Lab.  Code §§ 408.081, 409.023, and 415.002(a)(16), an insurance 
carrier must pay benefits weekly, as and when the benefits accrue, without order 
from the commissioner. 

6. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(20)  and (22), an insurance carrier or its 
representative commits an administrative violation each time  it violates a DWC rule 
or a provision of the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act. 

Failure to  Timely Pay Accurate LIBs  

7. Pursuant to Tex. Lab.  Code § 408.161(a) and (b), an insurance carrier must pay 
accurate  LIBs  to the employee until his or her death. Under Tex. Lab. Code § 
408.161(c), the amount of  LIBs  is equal to 75%  percent of the employee’s average 
weekly  wage  and  increased  3%  each  year. 

8. Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 131.1(a) and (c),  the insurance carrier must 
initiate the payment of  LIBs  without a final decision or order from the commissioner 
if the employee is eligible. The insurance carrier  must  initiate the first payment of 
LIBs on or before the 15th day after the date it reasonably believes the injured 
employee is  eligible. 

9. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 409.023 and 415.002(a)(16),  (20), and (22) 
when it failed to pay accurate LIBs. 

Failure to  Timely Pay Accurate  Death Benefits  

10. Pursuant to Tex. Lab.  Code § 408.061(d), a  weekly  death benefit  may not exceed 
100% of the state average weekly wage rounded to the nearest whole dollar. 

11. Pursuant to Tex. Lab.  Code § 408.181(a) and (b), an insurance carrier must pay 
accurate  death benefits  to a legal beneficiary.  The amount of a  death benefit  is 
equal to 75% of the employee’s average weekly wage. 

12. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 409.021 and 28 Tex. Admin. Code §§ 124.3 and 124.7, 
an insurance carrier is required to initiate payment of  death  benefits no later than 
the 15th day after it receives written notice of the injury or the seventh day after 
the accrual date. It must also  notify DWC in writing of its initiation of income or 
death benefit  payments in the manner DWC rules prescribe. 

Information Redacted Texas 
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13. Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 124.2(e)(4)-(6), the  insurance carrier must notify 
DWC and the  claimant of any  changes, resumptions, or terminations involving 
death benefits. 

14. Pursuant to  28  Tex. Admin. Code § 132.17(f), an insurance  carrier must  initiate 
payment of death benefits  to eligible claimants. If  the insurance  carrier believes a 
claimant is not eligible, it  must  file a notice of dispute of eligibility in  the form and 
manner  DWC prescribes. 

15. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§  408.181; 409.021;  415.002(a)(16),  (20),  and 
(22); and 28 Tex. Admin. Code §§ 124.3;124.7; and 132.17  each time Respondent 
failed to timely pay accurate  death benefits. 

Failure to  Timely Report Claim Data to DWC  

16. Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 124.2(a) and (b), insurance carriers are required 
to notify DWC and the injured employee of actions taken or events  occurring in a 
claim, as  specified by rule in the  form and manner DWC prescribes. Inherent in this 
duty is the requirement that insurance carriers report this information accurately. 

17. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(20) each time it failed to timely 
or accurately notify DWC and the  injured employee of actions it took  or events that 
occurred in a claim, as  specified by rule in the form and manner  DWC  prescribed. 

Information Redacted Texas 
Labor Code §§402.083 and 402.092 



 
 

  
  

Commissioner’s Order 
Hartford Underwriters Insurance Company 
DWC Enforcement File No. 34391 
Page 7 of 8 

 
 

 
   

 

 
 

 
  

   

________________________________________ 

2024-8785

Order  

It is ordered that Hartford Underwriters Insurance Company  must pay a  $19,000  
administrative penalty  within 30 days  from the date  the Commissioner signs the order.  

After receiving an invoice,  Hartford Underwriters Insurance Company  must pay the  
administrative penalty by  electronic transfer using the State Invoice Payment Service,  
company check, cashier’s check,  or money order and make it payable to the “State of  
Texas.” Mail the administrative penalty to the  Texas Department of Insurance, Attn: DWC  
Enforcement Section, MC  AO-9999, PO Box 12030, Austin, Texas 78711-2030.  

__________________________________________ 
Jeff Nelson 
Commissioner 
TDI, Division of Workers’ Compensation 

Approved Form and Content: 

Stephen Jewell 
Staff Attorney, Enforcement 
Compliance and Investigations 
TDI, Division of Workers’ Compensation 

Information Redacted Texas 
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Unsworn Declaration 

STATE OF CALIFORNIA § 

§ 

COUNTY OF SACRAMENTO § 

Pursuant to the Tex. Civ. Prac. and Rem. Code § 132.001(a), (b), and (d), my name is 

Julie Riddle. I hold the position of Assistant Director, Claim Compliance and am the 

authorized representative of Hartford Underwriters Insurance Company. My business 

address is: 

1415 W. Diehl Road, Naperville, DuPage, IL, 60563. 

(Street) (City) (County) (State) (ZIP Code) 

I am executing this declaration as part of my assigned duties and responsibilities. I declare 

under penalty of perjury that the facts stated in this document are true and correct. 

Julie Riddle 
Declarant 

Executed on July 19, 2024. 

Information Redacted Texas 
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