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No.   2024-8778  

Official Order  
of the  

Texas Commissioner  of Workers’ Compensation 

Date:   8/12/2024  

Subject Considered:  
Indemnity Insurance Company of North America  

115 Wild Basin Road, Suite 207  
West  Lake Hills,  Texas  78746  

Consent Order  
DWC Enforcement File Nos. 33948, 33949,  34010, & 34218  

General remarks and  official action taken:  

This is a consent order with Indemnity Insurance Company of North America  
(Respondent). The  commissioner of  the Texas  Department of Insurance, Division of  
Workers’ Compensation (DWC)  considers whether  DWC should take  disciplinary action  
against Respondent.  

Waiver  

Respondent  acknowledges that the  Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws provide  
certain rights.  Respondent  waives all of these  rights, and any other procedural rights that 
apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.  

Findings of Fact  

1. Respondent  holds a certificate of authority  issued by the Texas Department of 
Insurance to transact  the business of insurance pursuant to Tex. Ins. Code §§ 
801.051-801.053 and  is licensed to write workers’ compensation/employers’ 
liability  insurance in Texas. 

2. Respondent  was classified as “average” tier in the 2018, 2020, and 2022 
Performance Based  Oversight (PBO) assessments. 
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Failure  to Timely Pay or Dispute Initial  Temporary Income Benefits  (TIBs)  

Enforcement File No.  33948  

3. On   Respondent  received  notice of an employee’s  workplace injury. 

4. The  injured employee’s  first day of disability  began on  The eighth 
day of disability accrued on  

5. Respondent  was required to initiate or dispute TIBs  either  15 days after  it received 
written notice of the injury or seven days after the accrual date,  whichever is later. 
In this case, the latest date  was . 

6. On  , Respondent  sent a PLN-11,  Notice  of Disputed Issue(s) and Refusal 
to Pay Benefits,  disputing TIBs, which was  51  days late. 

7. Due to the untimely denial,  Respondent was required to pay TIBs from 
, to   on  . 

8. On , Respondent paid $  in TIBs, which was  19 days late. 

9. On , Respondent paid $  in interest, which was  eight  days late 

Failure to  Timely Pay or Deny a Request for  Reimbursement of Travel  Expenses  

Enforcement File No. 33949  

10. On , Respondent received a request for reimbursement of travel 
expenses for  expenses  incurred  between  , to  . 

11. Respondent was required to respond by the 45th day  from receipt, or by 

12. On , Respondent  reimbursed  $ ■  to the requestor  107  days

-
 late. 
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Failure to Timely Pay Supplemental Income Benefits (SIBs) 

Enforcement File No. 340 7 0 

13. , Respondent received a Notice of Entitlement to SIBs, for the firs1 
Respondent was notified that the injured em lo ee was entitled tc 

per month. The first quarter of SIBs began on 

14. Respondent's payment for the first month of the first quarter was due by the 10th day
after Respondent received DWC's determination of entitlement or the seventh day of
the first quarter, whichever is later. In this case, the latest date was 

15. On , Respondent paid in SIBs. 

16. Between , and , Respondent paid in SIBs. 
Respondent underpaid the first month of the first quarter by 

17. On , Respondent paid in SIBs, which was 98 days late. 

18. Respondent's payment for the second month of the first quarter was due by the 
37th day of the first quarter, or by . Respondent's payment for the 
third month of the first quarter was due by the 67th day of the first quarter, or by 

. Respondent paid � in SIBs late, as follows: 

s Late 
a. 2 
b. 

19. On -
7

42 

, Respondent paid - in interest, which was 43 days late. 

Failure to Timely Comply with a Contested Case Hearing Decision and Order 

Enforcement File No. 342 7 8 

20. On , DWC issued a contested case hearing decision and order (CCH
D&O) requiring Respondent to pay benefits in accordance with the decision. 
Respondent received the CCH D&O on 

·Conf idential Information Redacted Tex.as 
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21. The CCH  D&O became final on  . On  ,  Respondent  timely 
filed  an appeal of the CCH  D&O. Respondent  was required to  comply with the CCH 
D&O within  five  days  of filing the  appeal. The d eadline to comply was  . 

22. On  , Respondent paid $  in benefits and  interest,  which was 
nine  days late. 

Assessment of Sanction  

1. Compliance with DWC orders is imperative to minimize disputes and resolve them 
promptly and fairly. In  addition, failure to provide income benefits in a timely and 
cost-effective manner is harmful to injured  employees and the Texas workers’ 
compensation system. 

2. Failure to provide income benefits  in a timely  and cost-effective manner is harmful 
to injured employees and the Texas  workers’  compensation system. 

3. Failing to timely respond to a reimbursement request increases the likelihood of 
disputes and impedes  efforts to resolve them promptly and fairly. Further, failure 
to timely act on a reimbursement request is economically harmful and circumvents 
the Texas  workers’ compensation system and th e roles of  its  system participants. 

4. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the  following factors 
in  Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e): 

• the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, 
consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; 

• the history and extent of previous administrative violations; 
• the violator’s demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify 

the consequences of the prohibited act; 
• the penalty necessary to deter future violations; 
• whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the  delivery 

of benefits to an injured employee; 
• the history of compliance with  electronic data interchange requirements; 
• to the extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting  from the prohibited 

act; and 
• other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to: 

o PBO assessments; 
o prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations; 

Information Redacted Texas 
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o self-report of the violation; 
o the size of the company or practice; 
o the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and 
o evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with 

the Texas  Workers’ Compensation Act and DWC rules. 

5. DWC found the following factors in Tex. Lab.  Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. 
Code  § 180.26(e) to be aggravating:  the seriousness of the violation, including the 
nature, circumstances,  consequences, extent,  and gravity of the prohibited act;  the 
history and extent of previous administrative violations;  the penalty necessary to 
deter future violations; whether the administrative violation had a n egative impact 
on the delivery of benefits to an  injured employee; to the extent reasonable, the 
economic benefit resulting from the prohibited act;  and other matters that justice 
may require, including  the size of the company or practice  and evidence of 
heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with the  Texas Workers’ 
Compensation Act and DWC rules. 

6. DWC  is aware of no mitigating factors  pursuant to  Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 
28 Tex. Admin. Code  § 180.26(e). 

7. Respondent acknowledges communicating with DWC about the relevant statute 
and rule violations alleged; that the facts establish that the administrative 
violation(s) occurred; and that the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the 
factors DWC considered under Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. 
Code § 180.26(e). 

8. Respondent  acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the 
factors in  Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e). 

Conclusions of Law  

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this  matter pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code 
§§ 402.001;  402.00114;  402.00116;  402.00128;  414.002;  and 414.003. 

2. The commissioner has  the authority to dispose of this  case informally pursuant to 
Tex. Gov’t Code § 2001.056;  Tex. Lab. Code  §§ 401.021;  402.00128(b)(6)-(7);  and 28 
Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(h)  and (i). 
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3. Respondent  has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to  which it 
may have been entitled regarding the entry of  this order, including, but not limited 
to,  issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary action, notice of 
hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by the commissioner, 
and judicial review. 

4. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021,  the commissioner may assess an 
administrative penalty  against a person who commits an administrative violation. 

5. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(20), an insurance  carrier or its 
representative commits an administrative violation each time  it violates a DWC rule. 

6. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(22), an insurance  carrier or its 
representative commits an administrative violation each time it fails to comply with 
a provision of the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act. 

Failure to Timely  Pay or Dispute Initial  TIBs  

Enforcement File No. 33948  

7. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code §§ 408.081; 408.082; 409.021; and 28 Tex. Admin. Code 
§§ 124.3 and 124.7, an insurance carrier is required to initiate payment of TIBs no 
later than the 15th day after it receives written notice of the injury or the seventh 
day after the accrual date, unless the insurance carrier notifies DWC and the injured 
employee in writing of its refusal to pay. 

8. Pursuant to Tex.  Lab. Code  §§ 408.081; 409.023; and 415.002(a)(16), an insurance 
carrier must pay benefits weekly, as and when the benefits accrue, without order 
from the commissioner. 

9. Respondent  violated Tex. Lab. Code  §§ 409.021;  415.002(a)(16),  (20),  and  (22); and 
28 Tex. Admin. Code §§  124.3 and 124.7 by failing  to timely  pay or  dispute initial 
TIBs. 

Information Redacted Texas 

Lab-or Code §§402.083 and 402.092 



 
 

  
  

Commissioner’s Order 
Indemnity Insurance Company of North America 
DWC Enforcement File Nos. 33948, 33949, 34010, & 34218 
Page 7 of 10 

2024-8778 

Failure to  Timely Pay or Deny a Request for  Reimbursement of Travel  Expenses  

Enforcement File No. 33949  

10. Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 134.110, an insurance carrier shall pay or deny 
an injured employee’s properly completed request for reimbursement within 45 
days of receipt. If the insurance carrier does not reimburse the full amount 
requested, partial payment or denial of payment shall include a plain language 
explanation of the reason for the reduction or denial. 

11. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(20) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 
134.110 by failing to timely act on a request for reimbursement. 

Failure to  Timely  Pay  SIBs  

Enforcement File No. 34010  

12. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.144, SIBs are calculated quarterly and paid 
monthly. 

13. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.145, an insurance carrier must pay SIBs no later 
than the seventh day after the employee's impairment income  benefit period 
expires and must continue to pay the benefits in a timely  manner. 

14. Pursuant to Tex. Lab.  Code § 409.023, an insurance carrier must continue to pay 
benefits promptly as and when benefits accrue without a final decision, order, or 
other action from the commissioner, except as otherwise provided. 

15. Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 130.107, an insurance carrier  must make the 
first payment of  SIBs for the quarter by the 10th day after receiving a DWC 
determination of entitlement or the  seventh day of the quarter. An insurance carrier 
must make the second payment by the  37th day of the quarter  and the third 
payment by the  67th day of the quarter. 

16. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 408.145, 409.023, and 415. 002(a)(20) and 
(22) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 130.107 each time it paid  SIBs late. 
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Failure to Timely Pay Interest  

File Nos.  33948 &  34010  

17. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.064 and 28 Tex. Admin. Code  § 126.12(b), accrued 
but unpaid income benefits and interest shall be paid in a lump sum. 

18. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§  408.064 and  415.002(a)(20) and (22)  and28 
Tex. Admin. Code  § 126.12(b)  each time it failed to pay interest with  accrued but 
unpaid income benefits. 

Failure to Timely Comply with a  CCH D&O  

Enforcement File No. 34218  

19. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code  §§ 415.0035(e) and 415.021(a), an insurance carrier 
commits an administrative violation if it violates, fails to comply with, or refuses to 
comply with a DWC order. 

20. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 410.169 and 28 Tex. Admin. Code §  142.16, a party is 
required to comply with a CCH D&O within 20 days of the order becoming final. 
However, if the CCH D&O involves benefits, a party must comply no  later than the 
fifth day after filing a written request for appeal. 

21. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 410.169,  415.002(a)(20)  and (22), 
415.0035(e),  and  415.021 and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 142.16  by failing  to timely 
comply with a  DWC order for benefits. 
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Order  

It is ordered that Indemnity Insurance Company of North America  must pay an  
administrative penalty  of $23,200  within 30 days  from  when  the Commissioner signs the  
order.  

After receiving an invoice,  Indemnity Insurance Company of North America  must pay the  
administrative penalty by  electronic transfer using the State Invoice Payment Service,  
company check, cashier’s check,  or money order and make it payable to the “State of  
Texas.” Mail the administrative penalty to the  Texas Department of Insurance, Attn: DWC  
Enforcement Section, MC  AO-9999, PO Box 12030, Austin, Texas 78711-2030.  

__________________________________________ 
Jeff Nelson 
Commissioner 
TDI, Division of Workers’ Compensation 

Approved Form and Content: 

Tyrus Housh 
Staff Attorney, Enforcement 
Compliance and Investigations 
TDI, Division of Workers’ Compensation 
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Unsworn Declaration 

STATE OF _________________ § 
§ 

COUNTY OF ______________ § 

Pursuant to the Tex. Civ. Prac. and Rem. Code § 132.001(a), (b), and (d), my name is 
__________________________. I hold the position of __________________________ and am the 
authorized representative of Indemnity Insurance Company of North America. My 
business address is: 
___________________________________, ________________, __________, _______, ____________. 
(Street) (City) (County) (State) (ZIP Code) 

I am executing this declaration as part of my assigned duties and responsibilities. I declare 
under penalty of perjury that the facts stated in this document are true and correct. 

Declarant 

Executed on_______________________, 2024. 

Delaware

New Castle

Daniel S. Hawthorne VP, Quality Assurance & Compliance

1 Beaver Valley Road Wilmington New Castle Delaware 19803

 July 18
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