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Prompt Pay of Clean Claims  
SB 418 and HB 610 comparison 

 
Your determination on which rules apply will be based on provider contract status:  Has the preferred provider’s contract with the 
complained-of carrier been renewed on or after 8-16-03?  If so, the column headed SB 418 and Related Rules will apply.  If not, the 
column headed HB 610 and Related Rules will apply. 

 
Please reference the rules for specific details. For any discrepancies between these reference materials and the rules, the rules prevail. 

 
Topic HB 610 and Related Rules SB 418 and Related Rules 

Applicability: 
Who has to 
comply? 

Applies to HMOs and to preferred provider benefit 
plans issued by an insurer.  Does not apply to the 
following: Self-funded ERISA plans, workers 
compensation coverage, government, school and 
church health plans, out-of-state insureds, Medicaid, 
Medicare + Choice HMOs, Medicare + Cost plans, 
Medicare Supplement plans, Health Select and 
Health Select Plus plans for state employees, federal 
employee plans, self-funded plans covering UT and 
A&M System employees, Tricare Standard 
(CHAMPUS), and Texas Association of School 
Boards coverages. 
 

Applies to HMOs and to preferred provider benefit plans and 
exclusive provider benefit plans issued by an insurer.  Does 
not apply to the following: Self-funded ERISA plans, 
workers compensation coverage, government, school and 
church health plans, out-of-state insureds, Medicaid, Medicare 
+ Choice HMOs, Medicare + Cost plans, Medicare 
Supplement plans, Health Select and Health Select Plus plans 
for state employees, federal employee plans, self-funded 
plans covering UT and A&M System employees, Tricare 
Standard (CHAMPUS), Texas Association of School Boards 
coverages, and the Children’s Health Insurance Program 
(CHIP) 

Claim Filing 
Deadline, 
Duplicate 
Claims 

No provision Preferred and nonpreferred physicians and providers must file 
claims within 95 days after provision of service or forfeit their 
right to payment unless late filing was the result of a properly 
certified catastrophic event.  (See 28 TAC §21.2819, 
Catastrophic Event) For hospitals, the 95 days starts on 
discharge date.  Claims timely filed with another carrier 
satisfies this claim filing requirement and addresses issues of 
misdirected claims as well as claims filed late to a secondary 
carrier because a provider was awaiting processing by 
primary carrier.  A physician or provider may not submit a 
duplicate claim until the applicable statutory claim payment 
period has expired.  If a duplicate is filed in contravention of 
this requirement, carrier is not subject to penalties with 
respect to the duplicate claim. 
 
28 Texas Administrative Code (TAC) §21.2806 
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Proof of receipt Receipt of claims: 
The 45-day claim processing period begins on date 
of claim receipt.  To create a rebuttable presumption 
of the receipt date providers may opt to use the 
claims mail log.  A preferred provider must maintain a 
log that identifies each claim in a submission, include 
a copy of the log with the relevant submitted claim(s), 
fax or electronically send a copy of the log to the 
payor on the date of claim submission and maintain a 
copy of the fax acknowledgment or proof of electronic 
submission.  If process is followed, claims sent by 
U.S. mail are presumed received on the 3rd business 
day following mailing, claims sent by U.S. mail, return 
receipt requested or by overnight delivery are 
presumed received on date of signed receipt, claims 
sent by fax (if allowed) are presumed received on the 
fax date if the dated proof of transmission form is 
retained, electronically submitted claims are 
presumed received on date of electronic confirmation 
of receipt by the carrier or its clearinghouse.  If no 
confirmation is given, the provider’s clearinghouse 
may confirm so long as claim contained the correct 
payor ID.  Hand-delivered claims are received on the 
delivery date. 
 
Receipt of other communication:  Not Addressed 
 
 

Receipt of claims & written communication: 
Communications and claims may be sent by U.S. mail first 
class or return receipt requested or by overnight delivery, 
electronically, fax transmission, or hand delivery.  Sender 
must maintain proof of any electronically submitted 
communication, fax transmission, or copy of the receipt of 
hand delivery.  Communications and claims sent by first class 
mail are presumed received on the 5th calendar day.  Those 
sent via overnight delivery or U.S. mail return receipt 
requested are received on the delivery receipt date, as are 
communications and claims that are hand delivered.  A faxed 
claim is presumed received on the date of the transmission 
acknowledgement but a fax transmitted after a recipient’s 
normal business hours is presumed received on the next 
business day.  An electronically submitted communication is 
presumed received on the submission date, while an 
electronically submitted claim is presumed received on the 
date of electronic confirmation of receipt by the carrier or its 
clearinghouse.  If no confirmation is given within 24 hours, the 
preferred provider’s clearinghouse shall provide the 
confirmation if it can show that the claim contained the correct 
payor identification.  To provide proof of submission and 
establish date of receipt the sender may choose to maintain a 
mail log.  If used, the sender shall fax or electronically transmit 
a copy of the mail log at the time of submission and include a 
copy with the relevant communication (claim).  The log shall 
identify each separate claim, request for information or 
response included in a batch communication and shall include 
the following information: claimant’s name, address, telephone 
number, and federal tax ID number; name of addressee; 
carrier name; designated address; date of mailing or hand 
delivery; subscriber name and ID number; patient name; dates 
of service or occurrence; delivery method and claim number, if 
applicable.  Carriers and providers can agree to any other 
method of establishing a presumption of claims receipt. 
 
28 TAC §21.2816 
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Effect of filing a 
clean claim 

Upon receipt of clean claim at designated address 
carrier must within the statutory claim payment 
period: (1) pay the total amount of the claim in 
accordance with the contract, (2) deny the entire 
claim and notify the provider why the claim will not be 
paid, (3) audit the entire claim, pay 85% of contracted 
rate and notify the provider that claim is being 
audited, (4) pay a portion of the claim and deny or 
audit the remainder, paying  85% of the audited 
portion.  For electronically submitted and 
electronically paid prescription claims, carrier must 
pay within 21 calendar days after clean claim is 
adjudicated. 
 
28 TAC §21.2807 
 

Upon receipt of clean claim at designated address and within 
the statutory claim payment period the carrier must: (1) pay the 
total amount of the claim in accordance with the contract, (2) 
deny the entire claim and notify the provider why the claim will 
not be paid, (3) audit the entire claim, pay 100% of contracted 
rate and notify the provider that claim is being audited, (4) pay a 
portion of the claim and deny or audit the remainder, paying 
100% of the audited portion.  
  
Carriers must pay prescription claims within 21 calendar days or 
18 calendar days if filed electronically, after the claim is 
affirmatively adjudicated. 
 
 
28 TAC §21.2807 

Deficient Claims Must notify provider of deficient claim within 45 days 
of receipt and within 21 days of receipt of deficient 
pharmacy claim. 
 
 
28 TAC §21.2808 

Must notify preferred provider of deficient claim within 45 days of 
receipt of claim, within 30 days of receipt of electronic claim, 
within 21 days of receipt of pharmacy claim, and 18 days of 
receipt of electronic pharmacy claim. 
 
28 TAC §21.2808 
 

Statutory Claim 
Payment Period 

45 days for payment, denial, or audit of non-
pharmacy clean claim 
21 days for payment of pharmacy claims. 
 
 
 
 
28 TAC §21.2802(25) 

In addition to any extended periods permitted under §21.2804 
or §21.2819, carrier has 45 days for payment, denial or audit of 
non-electronic clean claims; 30 days for electronic, non-
pharmacy clean claims, 21 days after affirmative adjudication for 
pharmacy claims, 18 days after affirmative adjudication for 
electronic pharmacy claims. 
 
28 TAC §21.2802(33) 
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Clean Claim, 
Defined 
 

A clean claim consists of: 
data elements on HCFA 1500 and UB92 claim forms 
that are required or conditionally required by TDI 
rules.  It must also include properly noticed additional 
data elements and attachments.  Claims to secondary 
carriers must disclose amounts paid by the primary 
carrier.  Data elements must be  
complete, legible and accurate.  Additional data 
elements or information does not render the claim 
deficient. 
 
 
 
 
28 TAC §21.2803 

A clean claim consists of data elements on CMS 1500 and UB 
04* claim forms that are required or conditionally required by 
TDI rules for non-electronic claims.  Claims to secondary 
carriers must disclose amounts paid by the primary carrier.  
Electronic claims must comply with all federal laws applicable to 
electronic claims, implementation guides, companion guides, 
and trading partner agreements.  Data elements must be 
complete, legible, and accurate.  Additional data elements or 
information does not render the claim deficient. 
 
*Not all data elements on these forms are required for all 
providers.  Refer to rule language for these exceptions.   
 
 
28 TAC §21.2803 

Coordination 
or non- 
duplication of 
Benefits 

For policies that contain a coordination or 
nonduplication of benefits provision or a variable 
deductible provision, the amount paid by the primary 
carrier is a clean claim element for a claim submitted 
to a secondary carrier. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
28 TAC §21.2803(e) 

For policies that contain a coordination of benefits (COB), 
nonduplication of benefits, or variable deductible provision, the 
amount paid by the primary carrier is a clean claim element for a 
claim submitted to a secondary carrier.  Carriers can require that 
providers maintain and furnish updated information about a 
patient’s coverage under other health benefit plans.  Carriers 
cannot otherwise require a preferred provider to investigate 
COB of other health benefit plan coverage.  When filing an 
electronic claim requiring COB, the secondary payor shall rely 
on the primary payor’s information submitted on the claim.  
Primary payors may submit information electronically to 
secondary payors using the ASC X12N 837 format and in 
compliance with 28 TAC §21.2803(e). 
 
28 TAC §21.2803(c)& (e) 
 

Additional 
information 
requested from 
treating provider 

No provision Carrier is allowed one request to a treating preferred provider for 
additional information within 30 days of clean claims receipt.  
Request must be written, be specific to claim or related episode 
of care, specifically describe the clinical and other information 
requested, be relevant and necessary for claim resolution, and 
be for information contained or in the process of being 
incorporated in to patient’s medical or billing record maintained 
by the preferred provider.  Request for additional information 
stops the claim clock until the carrier receives (1) the requested 
information or (2) the provider’s written response that 
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information is not in provider’s medical/billing record.  Upon 
receiving a response, carrier must act on the claim on or before 
the later of the 15th day after receiving response or the latest 
date for adjudicating claim under 28 TAC §21.2807 (Effect of 
filing clean claim).  Either response must include (1) a copy of 
the carrier’s request for additional information or (2) the patient’s 
name and ID number, the carrier’s claim number, date of service 
and name of treating preferred provider and is subject to 28 
TAC §21.2816 (Date of Receipt).  If the request is submitted per 
federal electronic transaction requirements, the provider must 
respond in accordance with the requirements to resume the 
payment period.   
 
28 TAC §21.2804 
 

Additional 
information 
requested from 
sources other 
than treating 
provider 

No provision Carrier can request information from a source other than the 
treating provider but must disclose the source’s name to the 
treating provider.  This request does not stop the claim clock.  A 
response under this section is subject to 28 TAC §21.2816 
(Date of Receipt.) 
 
28 TAC §21.2805 
 

Audit Procedures If claims determination cannot be made within 45 
days after clean claim receipt, carrier must pay 85% 
of claim at contracted rate and notify provider that 
claim is being audited.  Upon completion, if additional 
payment is due, the carrier must pay within 30 days 
after completing the audit. 
 
28 TAC §21.2809 
 

If claims determination cannot be made within the applicable 
statutory claims payment period, carrier must pay 100% of 
contracted rate (less copayments, deductibles, etc.) before 
expiration of applicable payment period and must notify provider 
on the EOB that claim is being audited.  Carrier can request 
additional information and continue investigation. 
 
28 TAC §21.2809 
 

Audit Period Carrier can continue investigation for 180 days after 
claim is received.  If still cannot adjudicate claim, 
carrier must pay remaining 15% but can continue to 
investigate claim and obtain refund if it is determined 
that the claim was not payable.   
 
 
28 TAC §21.2809 
 

Carrier must complete audit in 180 days, give written notice of 
audit results, list specific claims paid and not paid, and list 
specific claims and amounts for which refund is due.  Carrier 
must give basis and specific reasons for refund request.  Carrier 
is entitled to complete refund if preferred provider fails to timely 
respond to a request for additional information. 
 
28 TAC §21.2809 
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Time frames for 
Refunds  

If audit reveals claim is not payable, provider must 
refund payment within 30 days after later of (1) 
notification of audit results or (2) expiration of 
patient/subscriber appeal rights if appeal is filed 
within the 30-day refund period.  Chargebacks are 
allowed but audit notification must state that carrier 
will charge back unless provider contacts carrier to 
arrange for reimbursement. 
 
28 TAC §21.2809 

If audit reveals that a refund is due from the preferred provider, 
the carrier must furnish the preferred provider with a refund 
request and an appeal opportunity pursuant to §21.2818 
(Overpayment of Claims).  The refund is due in 30 days after 
the later of the date that (1) the physician or provider receives 
notice of the audit results; or (2) any appeal rights of the 
provider are exhausted. 
 
 
28 TAC §21.2809 
 

Overpayment of 
claims 

Refunds of audit payments are addressed in 28 TAC 
§21.2809 (Time Frames for Refunds).  HB 610 did 
not address other types of refunds. 

Carriers may recover overpayments or audit payments but must 
give notice by the 180th day after overpayment was made or 
give earlier notice of audit results as required by 28 TAC 
§21.2809.  Notice must be in writing, for specific amounts, give 
notice of appeal rights, and describe methods by which carrier 
intends to recover the refund.  A provider has 45 days to file a 
written dispute with the carrier’s refund request, which triggers 
the appeal process.  Carrier cannot recover overpayments until 
later of (1) 45 days after notification (30th day after notification 
for audits) or (2) the date provider appeal rights have been 
exhausted, if physician has not made prior arrangements for 
repayment. 
Note: If a carrier is a secondary payor but inadvertently pays as 
primary, it must seek a refund from HMO or insurer who is the 
primary carrier.  However, if the correct primary carrier is a self-
funded ERISA plan or other non-insured plan, the carrier may 
seek a refund of overpayment from the provider who received 
the incorrect payment.  The provisions of 28 TAC §21.2818 do 
not affect a carrier’s ability to recover overpayment in case of a 
provider’s fraud or material misrepresentation. 
 
28 TAC §21.2818 
 

Claims procedures Carrier must disclose the mailing address, physical 
address, and phone number where claims are to be 
sent for processing.  Also applies if claims 
processing is delegated.  Must give 60-day advance 
notice in writing to preferred providers of any 
changes to claim processors or claim filing address. 
28 TAC §21.2811 
 

Carrier must disclose mailing address, physical address, and 
phone number where claims are to be sent for processing.  Also 
applies if claims processing is delegated.  Must give 60-day 
advance notice in writing to preferred providers of any changes 
to claim processors or claim filing addresses.   
 
28 TAC §21.2811 
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Denial prohibited 
for change of 
address 

After change of address or change in claim 
processors, carrier cannot premise denial on failure 
to timely file unless carrier has given the notice as 
required by 28 TAC §21.2811. 
28 TAC §21.2812 

After change of address or change in claim processors, carrier 
cannot premise denial on failure to timely file unless carrier has 
given the notice as required by 28 TAC §21.2811. 
 
28 TAC §21.2812 
 

Requirements 
applicable to other 
contracting entities 

A carrier’s responsibility to comply with all 
requirements cannot be limited or diminished by any 
contract or delegation agreement for processing of 
claims or for issuing preauthorizations. 
 
28 TAC §21.2813 

A carrier’s responsibility to comply with all requirements is not 
limited or diminished by any contract or delegation agreement 
for processing of claims or for issuing verifications or 
preauthorizations. 
 
28 TAC §21.2813 
 

Penalties 
 
Applicable 
Statutory Claim 
Payment Period 
is: 
 
18 days for 
electronic 
pharmacy claim 
 
21 days for 
pharmacy claim 
 
30 days for 
electronic claim 
 
45 days for paper 
claim 
 
Or extended 
periods provided 
under §21.2804 
and §21.2819 

Carriers who fail to correctly pay or audit claim within 
the statutory claim payment period are liable for 
100% of billed charges (as defined) or the 
contracted penalty rate.  (Amounts already paid and 
amounts for non-covered services may be deducted 
from the penalty.)  Carrier may also be subject to 
administrative penalties of up to $1,000 for each day 
a claim remains unpaid. 
 
28 TAC §21.2815 

Late payment penalties: 
(1) If claim is paid on or before 45th day after applicable 
statutory claim payment period (as defined), carrier must pay 
contracted rate plus the lesser of 50% of difference between 
contracted rate and billed charges or $100,000. 
 
(2) If claim is paid on or after the 46th day but before 91st day 
after applicable statutory claims payment period, carrier 
must pay the contracted rate plus the lesser of 100% of the 
difference between contracted and billed charge or $200,000. 
 
(3) If claim is paid on or after the 91st day after the applicable 
statutory claim payment period, carrier must pay the 
contracted rate plus the penalty specified in paragraph 2 plus 
18% annual interest on the penalty amount. 
 
 
Changes applicable to claims paid on or after 1-1-2010:  
 
Non-institutional Providers:  18% interest on penalty will be 
paid to the Texas Health Insurance Pool. 
 
Institutional Providers: One-half of all late payment 
penalties and interest on penalties will be paid to the Texas 
Health Insurance Pool. 
 

  



Texas Department of Insurance 
9/17/2015       8 

Penalties 
(continued from 
previous page) 

 Underpayment penalties: 
(1) If balance of claim is paid on or before the 45th day after 
applicable statutory claim payment period, carrier must pay 
contracted amount owed plus the lesser of 50% of the 
underpaid amount or $100,000. 
 
(2) If balance of claim is paid on or after the 46th day but before 
the 91st day after the applicable statutory claim payment 
period, carrier must pay contracted amount owed plus the 
lesser of 100% of the underpaid amount or $200,000. 
 
 (3) If balance of claim is paid on or after the 91st day after the 
applicable statutory claim payment period, carrier must pay 
the contracted rate plus the penalty specified in paragraph 2 
plus 18% annual interest on the penalty amount. 
 

The Underpaid Amount is calculated on the ratio of the amount 
underpaid on the contracted rate to the contracted rate as 
applied to the billed charges submitted on the claim minus the 
contracted rate.  See the rule for an example of this calculation. 
 

A carrier is not liable for a penalty if failure to timely pay was 
due to a certified catastrophic event.  When a catastrophic event 
prevents timely payment, the statutory payment deadline is 
extended only for the time a certified catastrophe interrupted 
business operations.  A carrier is not liable for a penalty for a 
claim that is underpaid if (1) the provider notifies the carrier of 
the underpayment more than 270 days after the payment 
receipt date and (2) the carrier pays the balance within 30 days 
after receiving notice of the underpayment. 
 

Changes applicable to claims paid on or after 1-1-2010:  
Non-Institutional Provider:  No change 
 

Institutional Providers: One-half of all underpayment 
penalties and interest on penalties will be paid to the Texas 
Health Insurance Pool. 
 

EOBs must show contracted rate, billed charges, and penalties. 
 
28 TAC §21.2815 
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I. D. Cards No provision   I D card or other similar document must include the name of 
enrollee or insured, first date of eligibility under plan or toll free 
number for obtaining this information, and the letters “TDI” or 
“DOI” displayed on the front.  Effective January 1, 2004, for 
plans issued or renewed on or after that date. 
 
28 TAC §21.2820 
 

Catastrophic event No provision If carrier or physician or provider is unable to meet regulatory 
deadlines due to a catastrophic event (see definition at 28 TAC 
§21.2802(4)), entity must notify TDI within 5 days of the event.  
Within 10 days after return to normal business operations, entity 
must provide certification in form of a sworn affidavit that 
identifies the nature of event, and the length of interruption of 
claims submission or processing.  A valid certification under this 
section tolls the deadlines stated in 28 TAC §21.2804, 
§21.2806, §21.2808, §21.2809 and §21.2815 for the number of 
days identified in the certification. 
 
28 TAC §21.2819  
 

Terms of Contracts Contracts cannot contain provisions that extend 
stated time periods or waive a physician or 
provider’s right to recover attorney’s fees. 
 
28 TAC §21.2817 

Unless otherwise set forth in rules, contracts cannot contain 
provisions that extend stated time periods or that waive a 
provider’s right to recover attorney’s fees and court costs. 
 
28 TAC §21.2817 
 

Reporting 
requirements 

No provision Required reporting to TDI.  Refer to rule for details. 
 
28 TAC §21.2821 
 

Applicability of 
Verification to 
Certain Non-
Contracting 
Physicians and 
Providers 

No provision Provisions relating to Verification and Effect of filing a Clean 
Claim apply to a nonpreferred physician or provider who 
furnishes (1) emergency care or its attendant episode of care as 
required by state or federal law; or (2) care at the request of a 
carrier or a preferred, physician or provider because services 
are not reasonably available from a network provider. 
 
28 TAC §21.2823 
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