= hita Falls

= et

Finding Your-Way
to Prompt Pay

-0 il

1 kim



TDI's Strategy

m Education
e Helping you find the way

s Enforcement
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Applicability

m Applicable to:
e HMOs
e Insured PPO Plans

m Not applicable to:
e Self-funded ERISA plans
e Indemnity plans
e Medicaid, Medicare, Med Supp

e Government and school plans — except
HMO or fully insured PPO plans

e Children’s Health Insurance Program
(CHIP)
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L HB 610 — Key Provisions

m Contracted providers only

m Carrier-required additional clean claim
elements and attachments permitted
with 60-day notice

m Clean claim paid in 45 days
(electronically adjudicated pharmacy
claims in 21 days)

m Pay 85% of contracted rate on audited
claims

m Late payment penalty:
e Contract penalty
e Billed charges as defined by rule
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SB 418 - Key Dates

m August 16, 2003
e Emergency rules

m October 5, 2003
e Final rules
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SB 418/HB 610 Prompt Payment
Deadlines and Penalties
Decision Tree

LAty

As a Texas licensed physician or provider, did |
provide services to a person covered under an HMO
or insured PPO plan?

No
Yes
A E
Your services are not subject to Do you have a contract with an
Texas' prompt pay requirements. HMO or PPO?
No
Yes
4
Did | provide, on or after August 16, 2003, (a) services on Was my contract entered of last renewed on of
referral from an HMO, PPO, or a preferred provider after August 16, 2003?
because the services were not reasonably available in- g :
network or (b) emergency care services?
No No
Yes 4
Services provided on or after
& August 1, 2000, are subject to y

Your services are not A HB 610 and related rules. =

subject to SB 418 and Were services provided before or
related rules. after 10-5-037 \
Your services are subject to SB 418 and the Emergency
Before After rules until your contract renews on or after 10-5-03.
Once the contract renews on or after 10-5-03, your
& 4 services are subject to SB 418 and the Final rules.
Your services are Your services are
subject to SB 418 and subject to SB 418 and
the Emergency rules. the Final rules

Texas Department of Insurance
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SB 418 — Physicians and
Providers

m Contracted providers under
HMO plans, insured PPO plans

e Contract issue/renewal dates

m Non-contracted providers who
provided emergency and
referral services

m All non-contracted providers
regarding certain requirements
(e.g., claim filing deadlines)
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SB 418 - Delegated
Entities

m HMOs and insured PPOs are
responsible for SB 418
compliance, even when
delegated entities and PPO
networks are used

m Key contract date — carrier and
delegated entity
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A h:’_ﬂ% A m Final rules

e 95-day filing deadline
e Limit on clean claim elements

e Payment deadlines
m Non-electronic — 45 days
m Electronic — 30 days
m Affirmatively adjudicated pharmacy — 21
days
e Requests for additional information
deadlines
m From treating provider
m From third parties

Texas Department of Insurance
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Catastrophic Event:

m Business interruption of claims filing
Or processing activities
e More than 2 consecutive business
days
m Notice TDI within 5 days of the
catastrophe

= Sworn affidavit due within 10 days
of return to normal business
operations
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SB 418 — Key Provisions

m Duplicate claims

m Audits

m Coordination of benefits
m Overpayments

m Underpayments
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‘ Penalty Provisions
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m“{ “¥ = Graduated penalty

i
’,Wil %W e Later claim paid, greater amount owed
' e 1 - 45 days late

(50% - $100,000 maximum)
e 46 - 90 days late

(100% - $200,000 maximum)
e 91 or more days late

(100% - $200,000 maximum +

18% Interest)

"‘ = No contracted penalty rates
D e
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Penalty Provisions - continued

m Billed Charges (definition): The charges
for medical care or health care services
Included on a claim submitted by a
physician or provider. Billed charges
must comply with all other applicable
requirements of law, including:

e Texas Health and Safety Code §8311.0025
e Texas Occupations Code §105.002
e Texas Insurance Code Chapter 552

m Always recover full contracted rate in
addition to any applicable penalty

Texas Department of Insurance
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Late Payment Penalty
Calculation

Formula:
m Billed charges
m Minus the contracted rate

m Multiplied by the percentage for
the applicable statutory claim
payment period

m Equals the amount of the
penalty payment
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k Calculation Example

AT
,,

H= .. Late Payment Penalty

Paid on or before the 45" day

after the end of the applicable
statutory claim payment period:

m Billed charges = $15,000

m Minus contracted rate of $10,000
m Equals $5,000

= Multiplied by 50%

m $2,500 = penalty payment
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H,; .. Underpayment Penalty

.k Calculation

Formula:
m Amount underpaid on the contracted rate
m Divided by the amount of the contract rate

= Multiplied by the billed charges minus the
contracted rate

m Equals the “underpaid amount”

m Multiplied by the percentage for the applicable
statutory claim payment period

m Equals the penalty payment
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"“ Calculation Example

H= Underpayment Penalty

For a clean claim paid on or before the 45%
day after the end of the applicable
statutory claim period:

Billed charges = $1,500
Amount of contracted rate = $1,000
Amount paid timely = $800

Amount underpaid on contracted rate =
$200

$200 / $1,000 (= 20%) X $1,500-$1000 =
$100

m Multiply by 50%
m $50 = penalty payment
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‘ Administrative Penalty

m TDI collects data to monitor
compliance

m 98% compliance
e Institutional claims
e Non-institutional
e Quarterly computation

m Less than 98% compliance may
result in fines of $1,000 per claim
per day

= Individual violations — other
remedies may apply
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Preauthorization

m Definition: A determination by an HMO or
preferred provider carrier that medical
care or health care services proposed to
be provided to an enrollee are medically
necessary and appropriate
28 TAC 8§819.1703

m May not be required by the carrier for
certain procedures

m Once service is preauthorized, carrier
may not deny nor reduce payment based
on medical necessity or appropriateness
of care

Texas Department of Insurance
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\‘.‘“ Preauthorization - continued

S 1 m Response deadlines
'ﬁ | g e Life-threatening condition or post-
% stabilization - 1 hour

e Concurrent hospitalization - 24
hours

e All other requests - 3 calendar
days
m Preauthorization/Verification
combination
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;m,m. Verification Requests and
\‘.‘“ Eligibility Inquiries
s PN

I
R s ﬁ m Verification
'F l e Guarantee of payment: “cannot
~ reduce or deny payment....”

e Exceptions: misrepresentation
and failure to perform

m Eligibility confirmation
e Not a guarantee of payment
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l Verification
Wf{ .
\/

m Definition: A guarantee by an HMO or
preferred provider carrier that the HMO or
preferred provider carrier will pay for
proposed medical care or health care
services if the services are rendered within
the required timeframe to the patient for
whom the services are proposed. The term
Includes pre-certification, certification, re-
certification and any other term that would be
a reliable representation by an HMO or
preferred provider carrier to a physician or
provider Iif the request for the pre-certification,
certification, re-certification, or representation
includes the requirements of 819.1724(d) of
this title (relating to Verification). 28 TAC §
19.1703(37)
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Verification Bulletin
N.v

m All carriers subject to SB 418 must make
a good faith effort to entertain requests for
verification rather than adopting a
corporate policy of no verifications. If the
carrier is unable to verify, it may decline
so long as it states the specific reason for
the declination. Such reason, according
to the statute, must be specific to the
request for the proposed service rather
than a blanket refusal. Carriers should
review their verification procedures to
ensure that they are compliant with this
requirement.

| IR

Texas Department of Insurance



l Verification - continued

m Copay/deductible: HMO or preferred provider
carrier shall specify any applicable
deductibles, copayments, or coinsurance for
which the enrollee/insured is responsible
28 TAC §19.1724())(7)

m Duration: Effective for 30 days or longer if
specified by the carrier

m Declination: A response to a request for
verification in which an HMO or preferred
provider carrier does not issue a verification
for proposed medical care or health care
services. A declination is not necessarily a
determination that a claim resulting from the
proposed services will not ultimately be paid.

28 TAC § 19.1703(9)

Texas Department of Insurance
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\‘. Verification - continued

m Verification response times - without
delay, not to exceed:

e Life-threatening condition or post-
stabilization - 1 hour

e Concurrent hospitalization - 24 hours
e All other requests - 5 calendar days

® Required information for verification
requests and responses
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. .. Preauthorization & Verification
\ '“ Requests
W 2 N

m Toll-free numbers

m Required availability of
personnel
e 6 a.m. - 6 p.m., Monday — Friday

e 9 a.m. — noon, Saturday, Sunday,
& legal holidays

e Dental/vision HMOs: 8 a.m. —
5:00 p.m., Monday — Friday
(except for legal holidays)
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basiari ., Preauthorization & Verification

'“ Requests - continued

m After hours and weekend calls

e After the start of the next time period
requiring telephone personnel, carrier
must acknowledge the call within

m Life-threatening condition or post-
stabilization - 1 hour

m Concurrent hospitalization - 24 hours

m All other -
e 3 calendar days (Preauthorization)
e 2 calendar days (Verification)
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‘ Coordination of Benefits

T“{i{ A
R s m If enrollee has other coverage,
'pml these fields are required:

e 11d (CMS 1500) — Disclosure of other
coverage

e 9a-d (CMS 1500) — Name and
address of other coverage

e 29 (CMS 1500) — Payments by other
carrier

e 54 (UB-92) — Payments by other carrier
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Coordination of Benefits

m Physician or provider may submit a
written statement that demonstrates
a good-faith but unsuccessful effort
to obtain information about other
Insurance

m Health plans may require by
contract that physicians maintain
Information about other coverage In
their office records
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.““ Coordination of Benefits

m 95-day filing deadline for claim
to secondary payer begins
when the physician or provider
receives payment from the
primary carrier

m If primary carrier’'s payment

date Is not available, proof of
. timely filing with the primary
.. payer Is adequate
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Fee Schedules

m Provide within 30 days of
request

m Software identification
m 90 days notice for change
m NO retroactive effect

it
¥Ean Antonio

S S

Texas Department of Insurance




3

il r:H'rfa FﬁHq 25

o
3

Fraud

m Material misrepresentation

m Faillure to perform services

m Unreasonable charges
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Fraud - continued

m TIC §701.051

Insurers must report suspected
fraud to TDI

m Report fraud

e Call the TDI Fraud Hotline
888-327-8818

e Use the form on TDI's Website

N www.tdi.state.tx.us/fraud/onlinereport.ntml
A
’ ‘ LILLE
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Fraud - continued
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m Issues relating to billed charges:
e Definition of billed charges

e Concerns about overcharges

m Texas Health and Safety Code 8311.0025
Texas Department of Health

m Texas Occupations Code §105.002
Texas State Board of Medical Examiners
e Investigations of fraud
m TAC §21.2804; TIC 8541.060

Texas Department of Insurance



L ID Cards

m For coverages effective on or
after January 1, 2004, ID cards
Issued after that date must
include:

e “TDI” or “DOI”
e Name of insured/enrollee

e Initial date of eligibility, or toll-free
number to obtain that date
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Required E-filing: Waiver

m Provider can request waiver of
requirement to file claims
electronically

m Provider can appeal denial of
waliver or conditions

m TDI process permits telephone
conferences to consider
appeals
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\‘. Recent Legislation & Rules

® SB 50 - Batch rejections

® SB 51 - Changes to
preauthorization and
verification availability for
dental and vision HMOs

® SB 1149 - Eligibility information
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Additional Recent Rule Activity

® Underpayment penalty
calculation clarification

® Date clarification re: Annual
verification reporting

® Proposed rule: SB 51 —
Continuation of group coverage
after losing group membership
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\ Provider Claims Data Reports
N

m Carriers report provider claims data
guarterly
e January — March data due 5/15
e April — May data due 8/15
e July — September data due 11/15
e October — December data due 2/15

m Reasons for declinations are
reported once a year on 8/15

m Since 3" quarter 2004: Includes
pharmacy claims

0 i -
an Antonio Texas Department of Insurance

S S



¥i\ichta Falls | -
-1?‘ Recent disciplinary action
S\ e
»ﬁ‘:{m United Healthcare Ins. Co. &
United Healthcare of Texas, Inc.
. Erroneous prompt pay data reports
- Complaint log/records incomplete
.+ $4 million fine

- Quarterly compliance checks, with
additional fines possible

- Independent audit
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“ TACCP
-

m Technical Advisory Committee on
Claims Processing

m 2005 & 2006 meetings

e Rules to implement new legislation
e Prompt pay data summary

e Coding and bundling standards

e National provider identifiers

e CMS claim form revisions

e Silent/rental PPOs

e Standard contract language
m http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/consumer/ccwg.html
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Reference Materials

m TDI Web site

e Physician/Provider Resource
page

e Rules page
e FAQSs page

e Physician/Provider Complaint
form
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; Agent, Consumer, Industry News, Workers Compensation and Assistance from the Texas Department o - Microsoft Internet Explorer - |ﬁ' |1|

File Edit View Favaorites Tools Help

Texas Department of Insurance
Division of Workers' Comp Home
Office of Injured Employee Counsel H 0 m e Pa g e

TDETWEC Transition Provider Networks Commissioner of Insurance Mike Geeslin

[Agent]Business]consumer]poctor]industry] Fraud]stateFirettarshal fworkerscomp]

o # la About TDI 1 Audiocasts ¥ Codes & Rules X Compact ¥ Events X Forms
Website FAQs

Agent Lookup x Company Lookup x News X line Services x Popular Links

Popular :
L—'"{ij 'v;l; faxt eyt %‘r
mall

w PANL % Emal % roe % only % HOME = emailus = glossary * help = sitemap = TDInsight

ice of Injured
TDI Online

Select Topic & Link Selact Topic & Link

Lnnkup ! Search

® Agent Search
= Attormey for

service | Eera AL Bl ANl I W 00000
u Bills of Rights = About TDI
» Bulletins = Agent/Adjuster
= Codes / Rules MNEW! Revised 2006 Texras Standardized Credentialing Application - Effective - :“""d e
. P ~ ) .
= Complaint Form July 1, 2006, Use of the application form by hospitals, HMOs and PPOs is . B::I'eﬁn:;:url':
e ambleintDats required for credentialing and recredentialing of physicians. Hospitals and e ——
: Eon:""':'gl Ed health plans may use this application for the credentialing of other health u Business
n Espafiol
» Enforcements care professionals, as well, Development
= FAQ Search . 7 L] Eompénv
= Forms Health Website! - TexasHealthOptions.com cens=ing
. . . = Commercial
= HMOs & service of the State of Texas - with links to » Consumer
N Dat“h government & other Web sites to help Texans a Data Calls
: ;:::T;?::'t shop for health insurance m Dates & Deadlinas
= Doctor/Provider

= Keyword Search X X . "
n News Mew Publications for Injured Workers = Fire Marshal
= SDR Contract : :D'ﬂ:u _t

Admin New TOI LR BIFeeds Now Available! raud Tni
= TDI Lists = Health
= UR Agents = Homeowner
m Windcbommn Protected in Event of Hurricane? = Industry LI
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File  Edit ‘iew Favorites Tools  Help

Texas Department of Insurance
o Physician/Provider

TDI-TWCC Transition Provider Networks

Information & Advice for Physicians and Providers

[roent]ousiness] Consumer] Doctor [ industry | Fraud | StateFirerarshal

o @ Ia About TDI # Audiocasts @ Codes & Rules ¥ Compact X Events X Forms
Website FAQs

Agent Lookup » Company Lookup » News » Online Services ® Popular Links

Popular T
Lin i
= opnnt m SAul = e w bal m ok HOME = emailus = glogsary = help = sitemap = TDInsight
[RSS XML Information & Advice for Physicians and Salect Topic & Link
SOEERCEECIL Providers Oniine
L ookup / Search S | Bttt
_______ E—— Spotlight This Section
m AgentSearch | e RN
" Attmey for e
Service
n et o i
= Bulletins PO
m codes / Rules Latest News - l:on;plai_ntrlnfo
= Complaint Form L] Ere entialing
= Complaint Data = Links to Health plans* Mational Provider Identifier (MP1) information = File Complaint
: Eon:"u':'gl = » Workers® Comp Reform f TDI-TWCC Transition = Forms
n Espaiiol . -
m Enforcements = Workers® Compensation Metworks = HEBGLO FAQ
= FAD Search m Workers” Compensation Metworks Informal Working Group = JUA Resources
= Liability Insurers
F . . .
: H‘::I'J": In Texas, physicians and providers are entitled to prompt = MedMal Guide
= Industey Data payment for medical and health care services. Senate Bill o " News
= Insurer Search 418 (78th Regular Legislative Session - 2003) and House = PPO/HMOD List
= Jobs | Bids Bill 510 (7&th Legislative Session - 1999) detail specific - :h""“'fp_t "a"p i
-
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" News health maintenance organizations to pay clean claims = Publications
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Reference Materials

m Rules page

Proposed rules for 2006 - Microsoft Internet Explorer

File Edit Wiew Favorites Tools Help

Proposed and Adopted Rules
for 2006

DISGLAIMER:

The following proposed and adopted rules are provided as a courtesy by the Texas Department of Insurance. While TDI
makes every effort to ensure the accuracy and completeness of this information, the official version of proposed and
adopted rules are those filed with the Secretary of State, which is the repository of official TDI rules. Those rules can be
accessed directly from the Texas Register, Office of Secretary of State.

With respect to the following documents, or other documents available from this site or others to which it links, TDI and the
State of Texas make no warranty as to their accuracy, completeness, reliability, timeliness, or usefulness.

Submission of Comments: Written comments on proposed rules must be received no later than & p.m. on the date stated
in the preamble of each proposed rule,

Froposed and Adopted Rules - 2006 | Proposed and Adopted Rules - 2005 | Proposed and Adopted Rules - 2004
Proposed and Adopted Rules - 2003 | Proposed and Adopted Rules - 2002 | Proposed and Adopted Rules - 2001
FProposed and Adopted Rules - 2000

DWC Rules Page
Proposed and Adopted Rules - 2006

Subject Section Proposal Proposal Adoption Adoption Effective
Mumber Filed Fuhlished Filed Fuhlished Date

Texas Windstarm Insurance Assaciation Division 7 05-26-

R " . 5.4607
Inspections forWwindstorm and Hail Insurance [a[=}
Filings Made-Easy - Rate and Rate Manual, Reduced Filing
Requirements for Certain Insurers, Undenwriting Guideline 5.9310,
Filing Requirements for Personal Auto, Residential Property 59332, 05-15-
&\Workers' Compensation Ingurance, Filing Transmittal 5.8340, CER 05-26-06
Farm & Requirements for Propery & Casualty Form, Rate, 5.8341, =
Rule, Underwriting Guidelines & Credit Scoring Model 5.9357
Filings
Motice of Availability of Coverage under the Texas Health 21.2302- 04-17- 05-05-06
Insurance Risk Pool 21.2306 o5
Risk-Based Capital and Surplus T.401 % 04-21-06
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FAQs

s SB 418 FAQs

Q: Both SB 418 and the rules say they apply to contracts entered into or
renewed on or after the effective date, However, many contracts have
"evargresn’ clauses that allow the contract to remain in force unless a
party elects to terminate. Do the new law and rules apply to these
contracts?y

A: The department is aware that certain physician and provider contracts
may be "evergreen’ contracts that do not renew, Whether a contract is an
"evergresn’ contract is a determination that must be made with reference
to the specific language of each contract, However, if your contract does
include a renew al provision, including an automatic renewal, SB 418 is
applicable once the contrack is renewed on ar after August 16, 2003 (for
the emergency rules) or October 5, 2002 (for the final rules), The
department suggests that parties consult an attorney regarding a contract
that appears to be "evergreen.”

Mail Log

Q: 521.2816(h) - The rules have changed the wording from "must
maintain” to "may choose to maintain a mail log”. If the choice is made not
to maintain a log, would the provider ™ s computer-generated logs of claims
filing now become acceptable proof of timely filing? What provisions are
made for altered computer-generated logs?

A: If the provider " s computer-generated printout is carrier-specific and

&
j:b'start| | & 3§

TDI - SB 418 FAQs - Microsoft Internet Explorer = |
File  Edit Wiew Fawvoribkes Tools  Help | ," |
SB 418 FAQs Salact Toplc & Link ﬂ
Online
Effective Date and "Evergreen" Contracts This Section

B Company Listings

m Complaint Info

= Consumer Advice

B Consumer Issues

= Consumer
Publications

Consumer
Services

Data Calls

En Espaniol
File Complaint
Forms
Publications
Reports
Required Reports
Senior Issues
StormnLink
Voluntary
Inspecton
Program

= Worishops

By Coverages
Aubo
Commercial
Health

,— l_ ,— l_ l_ |i:J Local inkranet

=]
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Reference Materials

<} Texas Department of Insurance Physician / Provider Complaint Form - Microsoft Internet Explorer

m Physician/Provider Complaint form

_18] X

File Edit “iew Faworites Tools Help

.l|

1

Texas Department of Insurance

Physician / Provider Complaint Form

Texas Department of Insurance
PO Box 149091
Austin, Texas 78714-9091

Email; ConsumerProtection@itdi.state tx. us
hain Mumber: (512 463-55 (800 252-3439
Fax Mumber. (512)°475-1771

En Espafiol: Forma En Linea | Forma Facil de Imprimir (BETFY | (FDEY
? asy Print Form (BETF] | {F'DF}

MNotice

TOI uses information disclosed in this form to help resolve your complaint. Resolution may require TDI
to share this information with the person or company named in your complaint. Although by law much
of the information you submit may be considered public record, portions may be confidential. For
example, you may include private information protected by the doctrine of common law privacy,
medical records protected by the Medical Practice Act, or an e-mail address provided for the purpose
of communicating electronically with TDI which is protected by the Texas Public Information Act.
Sharing this information for purposes of processing your complaint does not waive these confidentiality
protections. However, you may affirmatively consent to release of your e-mail address in response to a
public information reguest ar inguiry.

In addition, the Health Insurance Portahility and Accountability Act (HIPAA) allows doctors and health
care providers to provide information about a person’s health care to health oversight agencies such as

I

F] I_ I_ l_ l_ E [%J Local intranet
& 5tart| | & & m
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Do You Know the Way
to Prompt Pay?

= Www.tdi.state.tx.us

m 800-252-3439

Texas Department of Insurance


http://www.tdi.state.tx.us/

	Finding Your Way to Prompt Pay
	TDI’s Strategy
	Applicability
	HB 610 – Key Provisions
	SB 418 - Key Dates	
	SB 418/HB 610 Prompt Payment Deadlines and Penalties �Decision Tree�
	SB 418 – Physicians and Providers
	SB 418 – Delegated�Entities		
	SB 418 – Key Provisions
	SB 418 – Key Provisions
	SB 418 – Key Provisions
	Penalty Provisions
	Penalty Provisions - continued
	Late Payment Penalty Calculation
	Late Payment Penalty Calculation Example
	Underpayment Penalty Calculation
	Underpayment Penalty Calculation Example
	Administrative Penalty
	Preauthorization
	Preauthorization - continued
	Verification Requests and Eligibility Inquiries
	Verification
	Verification Bulletin
	Verification - continued
	Verification - continued
	Preauthorization & Verification Requests
	Preauthorization & Verification Requests - continued
	Coordination of Benefits
	Coordination of Benefits
	Coordination of Benefits
	Fee Schedules
	Fraud
	Fraud - continued	
	Fraud - continued	
	ID Cards
	Required E-filing: Waiver		
	Recent Legislation & Rules
	Additional Recent Rule Activity
	Provider Claims Data Reports
	Recent disciplinary action
	TACCP
	Reference Materials
	TDI Web Site	
	Reference Materials
	Reference Materials
	FAQs
	Reference Materials
	Do You Know the Way �to Prompt Pay?

