No. 2023-8436

Official Order
of the
Texas Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation

Date: 12/22/2023

Subject Considered:

State Farm Fire and Casualty Company
8222 North Belt Line Rd., Suite 200
Irving, Texas 75063-2220

Consent Order
DWC Enforcement File No. 32633

General remarks and official action taken:
This is a consent order with State Farm Fire and Casualty Company (Respondent). The
commissioner of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers” Compensation
(DWC) considers whether DWC should take disciplinary action against Respondent.
Waiver
Respondent acknowledges that the Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws provide
certain rights. Respondent waives all of these rights, and any other procedural rights that
apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.
Findings of Fact
1. Respondent holds a certificate of authority issued by the Texas Department of
Insurance to transact the business of insurance pursuant to Tex. Ins. Code §§
801.051-801.053 and is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance in Texas,

including workers’ compensation/employers’ liability insurance.

2. Respondent was not selected to be tiered in the last six years’ PBO assessments.
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DWC Audit No. MBP-23-108

3. on|l owc initiated DWC Audit No. MBP-23-108 to determine whether
Respondent complied with the Texas Labor Code and related rules on the timely
processing of initial medical bills and the timely and accurate reporting of
electronic data interchange (EDI) medical bill payment data to DWC.

4, The audit examined initial medical bills submitted to DWC between ,
and . DWC identified 100 bills for audit. A total of one bill failed to
meet selection criteria and was dropped from the audit sample. The remaining 99
bills were reviewed to determine Respondent’s compliance.

5. The audit focused on the timely and accurate processing of initial medical bills and
EDI reporting. The EDI portion of the audit focused on the timely and accurate
reporting of medical bill payment data and seven data elements reported to DWC
(Rendering Line Provider National Provider Identifier Number (NPI), Rendering Line
Provider State License Number, Referring Provider Last/Group Name, Referring
Provider State License Number, Billing Provider Federal Employer Identification
Number, Date Bill Received, and Date Bill Paid or Denied).

Failure to Timely Pay Medical Bills

6. Respondent failed to timely process 11% of the initial medical bills within 45 days
of receiving the bill (11 out of 99).

7. Specifically, Respondent issued payments to health care providers less than five
days late in five instances and more than 30 days late in six instances. One of the
payments was 88 days late, and two payments were over 100 days late, at 123 and
143 days.

Failure to Timely or Accurately Report EDI Medical Bill Payment Data to DWC

8. Respondent failed to timely report the Rendering Line Provider NPI for 28.28% of
the examined bills (28 out of 99).

0. Respondent failed to accurately report the Rendering Line Provider State License
Number for 9.09% of the examined bills (nine out of 99).




Commissioner’s Order 2023-8436

State Farm Fire and Casualty Company
DWC Enforcement File No. 32633
Page 3 of 7

10.  Respondent failed to accurately report the Referring Provider Last/Group Name for
4.04% of the examined bills (four out of 99).

11.  Respondent failed to accurately report the Referring Provider State License
Number for 3.03% of the examined bills (three out of 99).

12.  Respondent failed to accurately report the Date Bill Received for 6.06% of the
examined bills (six out of 99).

Assessment of Sanction

1. Prompt processing and payment of medical bills is imperative to DWC's goal of
ensuring that injured employees have access to prompt, high-quality medical care.

2. DWC relies on medical bill payment information insurance carriers submit for many
purposes, including, but not limited to, providing required information and reports
to the Legislature; ensuring that health care providers and insurance carriers
comply with DWC's medical policies and fee guidelines; creating medical fee
guidelines; adopting treatment and return-to-work guidelines; and detecting
patterns and practices in medical charges, payments, and protocols.

3. DWC relies on claims information insurance carriers submit for many purposes,
including, but not limited to, providing required information and reports to the
Legislature, ensuring that insurance carriers comply with the Texas Labor Code and
DWC rules, and detecting patterns and practices in actions taken on claims.

4. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the following factors
in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e):

e the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances,
consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act;

e the history and extent of previous administrative violations;

e theviolator's demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify
the consequences of the prohibited act;

e the penalty necessary to deter future violations;

e whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the delivery
of benefits to an injured employese;

e the history of compliance with EDI requirements;

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092
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e tothe extentreasonable, the economic benefit resulting from the prohibited
act; and
e other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to:
o PBO assessments;
prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations;
self-report of the violation;
the size of the company or practice;
the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and
evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with
the Texas Workers' Compensation Act and DWC rules.

0O O O O O

5. DWC found the following factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin.
Code § 180.26(e) to be aggravating: the seriousness of the violation, including the
nature, circumstances, consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act;
whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the delivery of
benefits to an injured employee; and other matters that justice may require,
including the size of the company or practice.

6. DWC considered as a matter of justice the fact that this violation was identified in
a DWC audit and not a complaint pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28
Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e). Additionally, DWC found the following factors
mitigating: the history and extent of previous administrative violations; and prompt
and earnest actions to prevent future violations. Specifically, Respondent has had
no violations within the past five years and instituted a comprehensive action plan
to address the source of the late payments, including: new weekly reports,
individual training for adjusters, and daily reports.

7. Respondent acknowledges communicating with DWC about the relevant statute
and rule violations alleged; that the facts establish that the administrative
violation(s) occurred; and that the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the
factors DWC considered under Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin.
Code § 180.26(e).

8. Respondent acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the
factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e).

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092
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Conclusions of Law

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code
§§ 402.001, 402.00114, 402.00116, 402.00128, and 414.002.

2. The commissioner has the authority to dispose of this case informally pursuant to
Tex. Gov't Code § 2001.056, Tex. Lab. Code §§ 401.021 and 402.00128(b)(6)-(7), and
28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(h) and (i).

3. Respondent has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to which it
may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, including, but not limited
to, issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary action, notice of
hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by the commissioner,
and judicial review.

4. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021, the commissioner may assess an
administrative penalty against a person who commits an administrative violation.

5. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(20), an insurance carrier or its
representative commits an administrative violation each time it violates a DWC rule.

6. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(22), an insurance carrier or its
representative commits an administrative violation each time it fails to comply with
a provision of the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act.

7. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.027 and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 133.240, insurance
carriers are required to timely process and take final action on a properly
completed medical bill within 45 days of receiving the bill.

8. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 415.002(a)(20) and 415.002(a)(22) each time
Respondent failed to timely process a properly completed medical bill within 45
days of receiving the bill.

9. Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 134.804(d), insurance carriers are responsible
for timely and accurately submitting medical EDI records to DWC.

10. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(20) each time Respondent failed
to submit timely and accurate medical EDI records to DWC.

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092
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Order

It is ordered that State Farm Fire and Casualty Company must pay an administrative
penalty of $2,000 within 30 days from the date the Commissioner signs the order.

After receiving an invoice, State Farm Fire and Casualty Company must pay the
administrative penalty by electronic transfer using the State Invoice Payment Service,
company check, cashier's check, or money order and make it payable to the “State of
Texas.” Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas Department of Insurance, Attn: DWC
Enforcement Section, MC AO-9999, P.O. Box 12030, Austin, Texas 78711-2030.

Jeff Nelson
Commissioner
TDI, Division of Workers" Compensation

Approved Form and Content:

Kathleen Kern

Staff Attorney, Enforcement
Compliance and Investigations

TDI, Division of Workers" Compensation

Confidential Information Redacted Texas
Labor Code §5402.083 and 402.092
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Unsworn Declaration
STATE OF _ 'llinois §
§
COUNTY OofF MclLean §

Pursuant to the Tex. Civ. Prac. and Rem. Code § 132.001(a), (b), and (d), my name is

5012 /;_OA'M .1 hold the position of Vice President Operations and am the
’ /
Stebhurized répresentative of State Farm Fire and Casualty Company. My business address
Is:
One State Farm Plaza _ Bloomington  McLean I . 61710-001 |
(Street) (City) (County) (State) (ZIP Code)

| am executing this declaration as part of my assigned duties and responsibilities. | declare
under penalty of perjury that the facts stated in this document are true and correct.

W A

Declarant

Executed on December 19 , 2023.






