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Official Order
of the
Texas Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation

Date: 6/21/2022

Subject Considered:
Liberty Insurance Corporation
175 Berkley Street
Boston, Massachusetts 02116-5066

Consent Order
DWC Enforcement File Nos. 22062, 23852, 23996, 24151, 24281, 24760, 25521, 26593

General remarks and official action taken:

This is a consent order with Liberty Insurance Corporation (Respondent). The
commissioner of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers” Compensation
(DWC) considers whether DWC should take disciplinary action against Respondent.

Waiver

Respondent acknowledges that the Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws provide
certain rights. Respondent waives all of these rights, and any other procedural rights that
apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.

Findings of Fact

1. Respondent holds a certificate of authority issued by the Texas Department of
Insurance to transact the business of insurance pursuant to Tex. Ins. Code §§
801.051-801.053 and is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance in Texas,
including workers’ compensation/employers’ liability insurance.

2. Respondent was classified as “average” tier in the 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014,
2016, 2018, and 2020 Performance Based Oversight (PBO) assessments.



Commissioner’'s Order

2022-7348

Liberty Insurance Corporation
DWC Enforcement File Nos. 22062, 23852, 23996, 24151, 24281, 24760, 25521, and 26593
Page 2 of 10

Failure to Pay Accrued Income Benefits Based on a Designated Doctor Report

Eile No. 23996

3. _ Respondent received a designated doctor (DD) report in
connection with a DD examination. The DD determined that the injured employee
reached maximum medical improvement (MMI) on - with a i
impairment rating (IR).

4. Respondent was required to pay accrued impairment income benefits (I1Bs) no later
than five days after receiving the DD's report, or by

5. On- Respondent made a partial [IBs payment that was seven days late.

6. Respondent fully complied by paying the interest owed on the lIBs payment on

which was 91 days late.
File No. 24151

4 _ Respondent received a DD report in connection with a DD
examination. The DD determined that disability existed from _
through_ Respondent was required to pay accrued benefits no
later than five days after receiving the DD report, or byh

8. Respondent issued payment of temporary income benefits (TIBs) on -

which was 46 days late.
File No. 23852

9. _ a Benefit Review Conference was held. The Benefit Review
Officer ordered the injured employee to submit to a DD exam.

10. O the injured employee completed the DD exam.

11.  On Respondent received the DD report, which stated that disability
existed from throughi Respondent was required
to iai accrued benefits no later than five days after receiving the DD report, or by

12.  Respondent issued payment of TIBs on _Which was 93 days late.

Rev. 1/11/22
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File No. 24760
13.  On Respondent received a DD report stating that the injured
employee’s injury was work related and that the injured employee could return to

work with restrictions on
iaii accrued benefits no later than five days after

15.  Respondent issued payment of TIBs on _ which was 25 days late.

14. Respondent was required to
receipt of the DD report, or by

16.  Respondent provided the following information as mitigation: The injured
employee began working for a new employer after the date of injury but before
the DD exam delayed providing Respondent with a current wage statement.

File No. 26593

17. _ Respondent received a report from a certifying doctor in
connection with a certifying examination. The certifying doctor determined that
the injured employee reached MMI on with a IR. Respondent was
required to pay accrued IIBs benefits on

18.  Respondent issued payment of |IBs on _ which was 24 days late.

Failure of Insurance Carrier to Adiust the Average Weekly Wage

File No. 25521
19.  Respondent was required to pay TIBs to an injured employee for the periods of
through _The TIBs payment was due seven

days after the first day of the pay period.

20. Between ReSpondent failed to correctly
calculate the payment it made on Respond ent paid basec
on an estimated average weekly wage 0 . On
Respondent received an updated employer's wage statement that showed the
correct AWW was . Thus, the correct weekly benefit amount was

21.  On _Respondent issued the correct payment 14 days late.
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Failure to Timely Pay Attorney Fees Ordered by DWC

File No. 22062

22. DWC ordered Respondent to pay attorney fees in connection
with legal services provided to an injured employee in the amount of 25% of each
income benefit payment made to the injured employee.

23. On the injured em

loyee requested a lump sum payment foi
the remaining benefits due between h through h

Respondent issued a lump sum payment to the injured employee on

24.  Respondent was required to issue payment for attorney fees in the amount of
on the same date as the payments issued to the injured employee.

25.  On

Respondent miscalculated and paid the attorney -

26.  On Respondent issued the outstanding payment of - to
the injured employee’s attorney, which was 16 days late.

Failure to Timely Comply with a Benefit Dispute Agqreement

File No. 24281

217. the parties signed a DWC Form 024, or Benefit Dispute

Agreement (BDA) for IIBs.

d to iai IIBs to the injured employee five days from

Respondent issued a partial payment IIBs, which was eight

28.  Respondent was require
executing the BDA, or on

29.  On
days late.

30. Resiondent fully complied by issuing an interest payment of 1I1Bs on -

, which was 64 days late.
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Assessment of Sanction

1. Violations of the statutes and rules governing the Texas workers' compensation
system have significant consequences on workers' compensation claims, the
benefits delivered to injured employees and the services provided by attorneys and
health care providers. DWC relies on insurance carriers to comply with the statutes
and rules to provide a fair and balanced system.

2. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the following factors
in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code & 180.26(e):
e the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances,
consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act;
e the history and extent of previous administrative violations;
e theviolator's demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify
the consequences of the prohibited act;
e the penalty necessary to deter future violations;
e whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the delivery
of benefits to an injured employese;
e the history of compliance with electronic data interchange requirements;
e tothe extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting from the prohibited
act; and
e other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to:
o PBO assessments;
prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations;
self-report of the violation;
the size of the company or practice;
the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and
evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with
the Texas Workers' Compensation Act and DWC rules.

O O O O

3. DWC found the following factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin.
Code § 180.26(e) to be aggravating: the seriousness of the violation, including the
nature, circumstances, consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; the
history and extent of previous administrative violations; the penalty necessary to
deter future violations; and whether the administrative violation had a negative
impact on the delivery of benefits to an injured employee.

Rev. 1/11/22 Confidential Information Redacted
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4, DWC found the following factors in Tex. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEx. ADMIN.
CopDE § 180.26(e) to be mitigating: other matters that justice may require, including,
but not limited to circumstances outside Respondent’s control in File No. 24760,
where the delay by the injured employee in providing a current wage statement
contributed to the delay in Respondent issuing IIBs. An additional mitigating factor
is the Respondent’s demonstration of good faith, including actions taken to rectify
the consequences of the prohibited act. In File No. 22062, Respondent made a
partial payment within seven days of the deadline. The payment made 91 days later
was for $11.47 in interest. In File No. 24281, Respondent also made a partial
payment eight days after the deadline. The payment made 64 days late was for
$2.96 in interest.

5. Respondent acknowledges communicating with DWC about the relevant statute
and rule violations alleged; that the facts establish that the administrative
violation(s) occurred; and that the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the
factors DWC considered under Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin.
Code § 180.26(e).

6. Respondent acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the
factors in Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(e).

Conclusions of Law

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code
§§ 402.001, 402.00114, 402.00116, 402.00128, 414.002, and 414.003.

2. The commissioner has the authority to dispose of this case informally pursuant to
Tex. Gov't Code § 2001.056, Tex. Lab. Code §§ 401.021 and 402.00128(b)(6)-(7), and
28 Tex. Admin. Code § 180.26(h) and (i).

3. Respondent has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to which it
may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, including, but not limited
to, issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary action, notice of
hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by the commissioner,
and judicial review.

4. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.021, the commissioner may assess an
administrative penalty against a person who commits an administrative violation.

Rev. 1/11/22 Confidential Information Redacted
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5. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(20) and (22), an insurance carrier or its
representative commits an administrative violation each time it violates the Texas
Workers’ Compensation Act or a DWC rule.

7. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code 8§ 408.081, 409.023, and 415.002(a)(16), an insurance
carrier must pay benefits weekly, as and when the benefits accrue, without order

from the commissioner.

Failure to Pay Accrued Impairment Income Benefits Based on a Desighated Doctor Report

8. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 408.0041(f), an insurance carrier must pay benefits
based on the opinion of the DD during any pending dispute.

9. Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 127.10(h), an insurance carrier must pay all
benefits in accordance with the DD report for the issues in dispute no later than
five days after receiving the report.

10. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 409.023 and 415.002(a)(16), (20), and (22)
by failing to timely and accurately pay accrued income benefits in accordance with

the DD report no later than five days after receiving the report.

Failure of Insurance Carrier to Adjust the Average Weekly Wage

11. Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 128.1(e), if an insurance carrier is notified that
the employee's AWW is different than what the carrier had previously determined
(either as a result of subsection (c)(2) of this section, receipt of an updated wage
statement, or by operation of other adjustments permitted/required under this
title), the carrier shall adjust the AWW and begin payment of benefits based upon
the adjusted AWW no later than the first payment due at least seven days following
the date the carrier receives the new information regarding the AWW.

12.  Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §408.081 and 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 128.1(e)
by failing to timely and accurately pay accrued income benefits.
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Failure to Timely Pay Attorney Fees Ordered by DWC

13. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code 88 415.021(a) and 415.0035(e), an insurance carrier
commits an administrative violation if it violates, fails to comply with, or refuses to
comply with a DWC order.

14.  Pursuant to 28 Tex. Admin. Code § 152.1(c), insurance carriers are required to pay
attorney fees ordered by DWC. The insurance carrier must begin payment out of
the approved income benefits by mailing a check to the attorney within seven days
after receiving the order. As the insurance carrier pays income benefits, it must pay
attorney fees until the fees are completely paid or income benefits cease.

15. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 415.002(a)(20), 415.021(a), and 415.0035(¢e)
by failing to timely comply with a DWC order to pay attorney fees.

Failure to Timely Comply with a Benefit Dispute Agreement

16. Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.002(a)(17), an insurance carrier or its
representative commits an administrative violation if it fails to pay an order
awarding benefits.

17.  Pursuant to Tex. Lab. Code § 415.010, a person commits a violation if they breach
a provision of an agreement approved by DWC.

18. Respondent violated Tex. Lab. Code §§ 415.002(a)(17), (20), and (22) and 415.010
by failing to timely comply with a BDA.
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Order

It is ordered that Liberty Insurance Corporation must pay an administrative penalty of
$20,000 within 30 days from the date of this order. Liberty Insurance Corporation must
pay the administrative penalty by company check, cashier’'s check, or money order and
make it payable to the “State of Texas.” Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas
Department of Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement Section, MC AO-9999, P.O. Box 12030,
Austin, Texas 78711-2030.

Dan Paschal, J.D.

Deputy Commissioner

Policy & Customer Services

TDI, Division of Workers" Compensation

Approved Form and Content:

Amy Norman

Staff Attorney, Enforcement
Compliance and Investigations

TDI, Division of Workers" Compensation
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Unsworn Declaration

STATE OF Texas §
§
COUNTY OF Collin §

Pursuant to the Tex. Civ. Prac. and Rem. Code § 132.001(a), (b), and (d), my name is

Michael Potter . | hold the position of Complex Director and am the
authorized representative of Liberty Insurance Corporation. My business address is:

7900 Windrose Ave ~ Plano . Collin ~Texas 75024 )

(Street) (City) (County) (State) (ZIP Code)

| am executing this declaration as part of my assigned duties and responsibilities. | declare
under penalty of perjury that the facts stated in this document are true and correct.

Declarant

Executed onJune 20th . 2022.
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