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General remarks and official action taken: 

This is a consent order with New Hampshire Insurance Company (New Hampshire 
Insurance). The commissioner of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ 
Compensation (DWC) considers whether DWC should take disciplinary action against New 
Hampshire Insurance. 

Waiver 

New Hampshire Insurance acknowledges that the Texas Labor Code and other applicable 
laws provide certain rights. New Hampshire Insurance waives all of these rights, and any 
other procedural rights that apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order. 

Findings of Fact 

1. New Hampshire Insurance holds a certificate of authority issued by the Texas 
Department of Insurance to transact the business of insurance pursuant to TEX. INS. 
CODE §§ 801.051-801.053 and is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance in 
Texas, including workers’ compensation/employers’ liability insurance. 
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2. New Hampshire Insurance was classified as “poor” tier in the 2007 Performance 
Based Oversight (PBO) assessment. New Hampshire Insurance was classified as 
“average” tier in the 2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, 2018, and 2020 PBO 
assessments. 

Failure to Timely Initiate Payment of Temporary Income Benefits 

3. On New Hampshire Insurance received notice of an injury to an 
employee. 

4. The first day of disability for the injured employee began on The eighth 
day of disability accrued on 

5. New Hampshire Insurance was required to initiate or dispute temporary income 
benefits (TIBs) either 15 days after it received written notice of the injury or seven 
days after the accrual date, whichever is later. In this case, the latest date was 

6. 

-
New Hampshire  Insur

-
ance issued the initial TIBs payment totaling on

 which was 41 days  late. Two other identical payments were 
made on the same day for the two-week period of through 

for a total of 

Assessment of Sanction 

1. Failure to provide appropriate income benefits in a timely and cost-effective 
manner is harmful to injured employees and the Texas workers’ compensation 
system. 

2. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the following factors 
in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e): 

•  the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, 
consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; 

•  the history and extent of previous administrative violations; 
•  the violator’s demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify 

the consequences of the prohibited act; 
•  the penalty necessary to deter future violations; 
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•  whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the delivery 
of benefits to an injured employee; 

•  the history of compliance with electronic data interchange requirements; 
•  to the extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting from the prohibited 

act; and 
•  other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to: 

o  PBO assessments; 
o  prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations; 
o  self-report of the violation; 
o  the size of the company or practice; 
o  the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and 
o  evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with 

the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act and DWC rules. 

3. DWC found the following factors in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. 
CODE § 180.26(e) to be aggravating: the seriousness of the violation, including the 
nature, circumstances, consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; the 
history and extent of previous administrative violations; whether the administrative 
violation had a negative impact on the delivery of benefits to an injured employee; 
and other matters that justice may require, including the size of the company or 
practice. 

4. DWC found the following factors in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. 
CODE § 180.26(e) to be mitigating: New Hampshire Insurance’s demonstration of 
good faith, including actions it took to rectify the consequences of the prohibited 
act; the penalty necessary to deter future violations; other matters that justice may 
require, including, but not limited to prompt and earnest actions to prevent future 
violations. 

5. New Hampshire Insurance acknowledges it communicated with DWC about the 
relevant statutes and rules it violated; the facts establish that the administrative 
violation occurred; and the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the factors 
DWC considered under TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 
180.26(e). 

6. New Hampshire Insurance acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC 
considered the factors in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 
180.26(e). 
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Conclusions of Law 

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE 
§§ 402.001, 402.00114, 402.00116, 402.00128, 414.002, 414.003, 415.002, and 
415.021. 

2. The commissioner has the authority to dispose of this case informally pursuant to 
TEX. GOV’T CODE § 2001.056, TEX. LAB. CODE §§ 401.021 and 402.00128(b)(6)-(7), and 
28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(h) and (i). 

3. New Hampshire Insurance has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural 
rights to which it may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, 
including, but not limited to, issuance and service of notice of intent to institute 
disciplinary action, notice of hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a 
rehearing by the commissioner, and judicial review. 

4. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021, the commissioner may assess an 
administrative penalty against a person who commits an administrative violation. 

5. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(20), an insurance carrier or its representative 
commits an administrative violation each time it violates a DWC rule. 

6. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 409.021(e) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 124.3, an insurance 
carrier or its representative commits an administrative violation if it fails to pay 
benefits, file a Notice of Denial on the compensability of a claim, or, as applicable 
pursuant to §409.021(a-3), file a Notice of Continuing Investigation within 15 days 
after it receives written notice of the injury. 

7. New Hampshire Insurance violated TEX. LAB. CODE §§ 409.021 and 415.002(a)(20) 
each time it failed to timely initiate payment of TIBs. 
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Order 

It is ordered that New Hampshire Insurance Company must pay an administrative penalty 
of $4,500 within 30 days from the date of this order. New Hampshire Insurance Company 
must pay the administrative penalty by company check, cashier’s check, or money order 
and make it payable to the “State of Texas.” Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas 
Department of Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement Section, MC AO-9999, P.O. Box 12030, 
Austin, Texas 78711-2030. 

__________________________________________ 
Dan Paschal, J.D. 
Deputy Commissioner 
Policy & Customer Services 
TDI, Division of Workers’ Compensation 

Approved Form and Content: 

Van Moreland 
Staff Attorney, Enforcement 
Compliance and Investigations 
TDI, Division of Workers’ Compensation 
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Unsworn Declaration  

ConnecticutSTATE OF _________________ § 
§ 

COUNTY OF ______________ §Hartford 

Pursuant to the TEX. CIV. PRAC. AND REM. CODE § 132.001(a), (b), and (d), my name is 
__________________________. I hold the position of __________________________ and am the Peter Macdonald Vice President 
authorized representative of New Hampshire Insurance Company. My business address 
is: 

30 Hudson Street Jersey City Hudson NJ 07302___________________________________, ________________, __________, _______, ____________. 

(Street) (City) (County) (State) (ZIP Code) 

I am executing this declaration as part of my assigned duties and responsibilities. I declare 
under penalty of perjury that the facts stated in this document are true and correct. 

Declarant 

Executed on________________, 2021. 
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