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No. 2021-6905 Texas Labor Code §§402.083 and 402.092

Official Order
of the
Texas Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation

Date: 7/8/2021

Subject Considered:

Protective Insurance Company
111 Congressional Boulevard, Suite 500
Carmel, Indiana 46032-5663

Consent Order
DWC Enforcement File Nos. 19471 and 19935

General remarks and official action taken:

This is a consent order with Protective Insurance Company (Protective Insurance). The
commissioner of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers” Compensation
(DWC) considers whether DWC should take disciplinary action against Protective
Insurance.

Waiver

Protective Insurance acknowledges that the Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws
provide certain rights. Protective Insurance waives all of these rights, and any other
procedural rights that apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.

Findings of Fact

1. Protective Insurance holds a certificate of authority issued by the Texas Department
of Insurance to transact the business of insurance pursuant to Tex. INS. CODE §§
801.051-801.053 and is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance in Texas,
including workers’ compensation/employers' liability insurance.



Commissioner’'s Order

Protective Insurance Company 2021-6905
DWC Enforcement File Nos. 19471 and 19935

Page 2 of 7

2. Protective Insurance was classified as “"poor” tier in the 2016 Performance Based

Oversight (PBO) assessment and “average” tier in the 2018 PBO assessment.
Protective Insurance was not selected to be tiered in the 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012,
or 2014 PBO assessments.

DWC Enforcement File No. 19471: Failure to Timely Pay Attorney Fees Ordered by DWC

3. On the following dates, DWC ordered Protective Insurance to pay attorney fees in
connection with legal services provided to an injured employee:

DWC ordered Protective Insurance to pay attorney fees in the amount of 25% of
each income benefit payment to the injured employee.

4. On _ a balance of- in attorney fees was outstanding.
5. On _ Protective Insurance issued a payment to the injured

employee for unpaid supplemental income benefits. Protective Insurance was
required to issue a payment for attorney fees to the injured employee’s attorney
the same day but did not issue payment unti]—, which was 112 days

late.

6. On _ Protective Insurance issued a payment to the injured

employee for unpaid supplemental income benefits. Protective Insurance was
required to issue a payment for attorney fees to the injured employee’s attorney
the same day but did not issue payment until—, which was 34 days

late.

DWC Enforcement File No. 19935: Failure to Pay Accrued Impairment Income Benefits
Based on a Designated Doctor Report

rd On _ Protective Insurance received a report from a designated
doctor (DD) in connection with a DD examination.

8. The DD determined that the injured employee reached maximum medical
improvement on _, with a Impairment rating.
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0. Protective Insurance was required to pay accrued impairment income benefits

10.

(1I1Bs) no later than five days after receiving the DD's report. The deadline to pay
Protective Insurance issued payment of 1IBs o_, which was 45 days

late.
Assessment of Sanction

Failure to timely pay attorney fees ordered by DWC makes it more difficult for
attorneys to provide adequate legal services to injured employees and is harmful
to the Texas workers’ compensation system.

Failure to provide income benefits in a timely and cost-effective manner is harmful
to injured employees and the Texas workers’ compensation system.

In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the following factors
in TeX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e):
e the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances,
consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act;
e the history and extent of previous administrative violations;
e theviolator's demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify
the consequences of the prohibited act;
e the penalty necessary to deter future violations;
e whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the delivery
of benefits to an injured employese;
e the history of compliance with electronic data interchange requirements;
e tothe extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting from the prohibited
act; and
e other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to:
o PBO assessments;
prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations;
self-report of the violation;
the size of the company or practice;
the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and
evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with
the Texas Workers' Compensation Act and DWC rules.

O O O O
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4, DWC found the following factors in Tex. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEx. ADMIN.
CopDE § 180.26(e) to be aggravating: the seriousness of the violation, including the
nature, circumstances, consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; the
history and extent of previous administrative violations; the penalty necessary to
deter future violations; and whether the administrative violation had a negative
impact on the delivery of benefits to an injured employee.

5. DWC found the following factors in Tex. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. ADMIN.
CoDE § 180.26(e) to be mitigating: promptness and earnestness in responding to
DWC; Protective Insurance substantially complied with Texas ADMIN CODE §
130.2(e)(3) in determining a ‘reasonable assessment’ of impairment rating; and
Protective Insurance, via retained counsel, has provided ongoing training to its
adjusters regarding income benefit deadlines.

6. Protective Insurance acknowledges it communicated with DWC about the relevant
statutes and rules it violated; the facts establish that the administrative violation
occurred; and the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the factors DWC
considered under Tex. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e).

7. Protective Insurance acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC
considered the factors in Tex. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 Tex. ADMIN. CODE §
180.26(e).

Conclusions of Law

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to Tex. LAB. CODE
§§ 402.001, 402.00114, 402.00116, 402.00128, 414.002, and 415.021.

2. The commissioner has the authority to dispose of this case informally pursuant to
Tex. Gov'T CoDE § 2001.056, Tex. LAB. CoDE §§ 401.021 and 402.00128(b)(7), and 28
Tex. ADMIN. CoDE § 180.26(h).

3. Protective Insurance has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to
which it may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, including, but
not limited to, issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary
action, notice of hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by
the commissioner, and judicial review.
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4. Pursuant to Tex. LaB. CoDE § 415.021, the commissioner may assess an

10.

11.

12.

administrative penalty against a person who commits an administrative violation.

Pursuant to Tex. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(20) and (22), an insurance carrier or its
representative commits an administrative violation each time it violates a DWC rule
or fails to comply with a provision of the Texas Workers' Compensation Act.

Pursuant to Tex. LAB. CODE 88 415.021(a) and 415.0035(e), an insurance carrier
commits an administrative violation if it violates, fails to comply with, or refuses to
comply with a DWC order.

Pursuant to 28 Tex. ADMIN. CODE § 152.1(c), insurance carriers are required to pay
attorney fees ordered by DWC. The insurance carrier must begin payment out of
the approved income benefits by mailing a check to the attorney within seven days
after receiving the order. As the insurance carrier pays income benefits, it must pay
attorney fees until the fees have been completely paid or income benefits cease.

Protective Insurance violated Tex. LAB. CODE 88§ 415.002(a)(20), 415.021(a), and
415.0035(e) when it failed to timely comply with a DWC order to pay attorney fees.

Pursuant to Tex. LAB. CoDE &8 408.081, 409.023, and 415.002(a)(16), an insurance
carrier must pay benefits weekly, as and when the benefits accrue, without order
from the commissioner.

Pursuant to Tex. LAB. CODE § 408.0041(f), the insurance carrier must pay benefits
based on the opinion of the DD during any pending dispute.

Pursuant to 28 Tex. ADMIN. CoDE § 127.10(h), the insurance carrier must pay all
benefits in accordance with the DD's report for the issues in dispute no later than
five days after receiving the report.

Protective Insurance violated Tex. LAB. CODE §§ 409.023 and 415.002(a)(16), (20), and
(22) when it failed to timely pay accrued income benefits in accordance with the
DD's report no later than five days after receiving the report.
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Order

It is ordered that Protective Insurance Company must pay an administrative penalty of
$8,500 within 30 days from the date of this order. Protective Insurance Company must
pay the administrative penalty by company check, cashier’'s check, or money order and
make it payable to the “State of Texas.” Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas
Department of Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement Section, MC AO-9999, P.O. Box 12030,

Austin, Texas 78711-2030.

Cassie Brown
Commissioner of Workers” Compensation

Approved Form and Content:

%c«é@go'@ ArtHeer

Mackenzie Arthur

Staff Attorney, Enforcement
Compliance and Investigations
Division of Workers" Compensation
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counTY ofF _[ttndrclcs §

Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared X ey GU\ Js teiv)
who being by me duly sworn, deposed as follows:

“My name is ‘J(-»ré »M"f CO (G"S-]x@ »7) 1 am of sound mind, capable of making this
statement, and have personal knowledge of these facts which are true and correct.

I hold the offite of M (YM m.S and am the authorized representative of
Protective Insurance Company. | am duly authorized by the organization to execute this
statement.

Protective Insurance Company has knowingly and voluntarily entered into this consent
order and agrees with and consents to the issuance and service of this consent order.”

oy Hone

Efﬁant |

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on Mm} 4 2020 2001

(NOTARY SEAL)
iy,

r f&v p:::, 4, BROOKE K. STURGEON Slgnature of Notary Public
S wtnee 8%, Wotary Public, State of indlana
SOCEALIOE  tewcatom ool @Wu 4
s {SEALI®: R
Z % s » & Commission Number 702078 JP
s L& WyConmiiion B Printed Name of Notary*Public

7, VD | AN ¥

g June 26. 2025

June 20,2678

Commission Expiration
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