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2021-6733No. _________________ 

Official  Order  

of  the  

Texas Commissioner of  Workers’ Compensation  

Date:  _03-18-2021___________________  

Subject Considered:  

New  Hampshire Insurance  Company  

P.O. Box 25974  

Overland Park, Kansas   66225-5974  

Consent Order  

DWC Enforcement File  No. 21012  

General remarks and official action taken: 

This is a consent order with New Hampshire Insurance Company (New Hampshire). The 

commissioner of the Texas Department of Insurance, Division of Workers’ Compensation 
(DWC) considers whether DWC should take disciplinary action against New Hampshire. 

Waiver 

New Hampshire acknowledges that the Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws 

provide certain rights. New Hampshire waives all of these rights, and any other procedural 

rights that apply, in consideration of the entry of this consent order. 

Findings of Fact 

1. New Hampshire holds a certificate of authority issued by the Texas Department of 

Insurance to transact the business of insurance pursuant to TEX. INS. CODE §§ 

801.051-801.053 and is licensed to write workers’ compensation/employers’ 
liability insurance in Texas. 

2. New Hampshire was classified as “poor” tier in the 2007 Performance Based 
Oversight (PBO) assessment. New Hampshire was classified as “average” tier in the 
2009, 2010, 2012, 2014, 2016, and 2018 PBO assessments. 
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. 

Failure to Timely Comply with a Final or Binding Contested Case Hearing Decision and 

Order 

3. On , DWC issued a contested case hearing decision and order (CCH 

D&O) requiring New Hampshire to pay benefits in accordance with the decision. 

New Hampshire received the CCH D&O on 

4. The CCH D&O became final on . New Hampshire was required to 

comply with the CCH D&O within 20 days. The deadline to comply was , 

. 

5. New Hampshire paid benefits and interest on , which was 18 days 

late. 

Assessment of Sanction 

1. Compliance with DWC orders is imperative to minimize disputes and resolve them 

promptly and fairly. In addition, failure to provide income benefits in a timely and 

cost-effective manner is harmful to injured employees and the Texas workers’ 
compensation system. 

2. In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC fully considered the following factors 

in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e): 

• the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, 

consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; 

• the history and extent of previous administrative violations; 

• the violator’s demonstration of good faith, including actions it took to rectify 
the consequences of the prohibited act; 

• the penalty necessary to deter future violations; 

• whether the administrative violation had a negative impact on the delivery 

of benefits to an injured employee; 

• the history of compliance with electronic data interchange requirements; 

• to the extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting from the prohibited 

act; and 

• other matters that justice may require, including, but not limited to: 

o PBO assessments; 

o prompt and earnest actions to prevent future violations; 

o self-report of the violation; 
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o the size of the company or practice; 

o the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and 

o evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with 

the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act and DWC rules. 

3. DWC found the following factors in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. 

CODE § 180.26(e) to be aggravating: the seriousness of the violation, including the 

nature, circumstances, consequences, extent, and gravity of the prohibited act; the 

history and extent of previous administrative violations; the penalty necessary to 

deter future violations; the size of the company or practice; and other matters that 

justice may require. 

4. DWC found the following factors in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. 

CODE § 180.26(e) to be mitigating: the violator’s demonstration of good faith, 

including actions it took to rectify the consequences of the prohibited act. 

5. New Hampshire acknowledges it communicated with DWC about the relevant 

statutes and rules it violated; the facts establish that the administrative violation 

occurred; and the proposed sanction is appropriate, including the factors DWC 

considered under TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e). 

6. New Hampshire acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the 

factors in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e). 

Conclusions of Law 

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE 

§§ 402.001, 402.00114, 402.00116, and 402.00128. 

2. The commissioner has the authority to dispose of this case informally pursuant to 

TEX. GOV’T CODE § 2001.056, TEX. LAB. CODE §§ 401.021 and 402.00128(b)(7), and 28 

TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(h). 

3. New Hampshire has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to 

which it may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, including, but 

not limited to, issuance and service of notice of intent to institute disciplinary 

action, notice of hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, a rehearing by 

the commissioner, and judicial review. 
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4. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021, the commissioner may assess an 

administrative penalty against a person who commits an administrative violation. 

5. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(20), an insurance carrier or its representative 

commits an administrative violation each time it violates a DWC rule. 

6. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(22), an insurance carrier or its representative 

commits an administrative violation each time it fails to comply with a provision of 

the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act. 

7. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE §§ 415.0035(e) and 415.021(a), an insurance carrier 

commits an administrative violation if it violates, fails to comply with, or refuses to 

comply with a DWC order. 

8. Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 410.169 and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 142.16, a party is 

required to comply with a CCH D&O within 20 days of the order becoming final. 

However, if the CCH D&O involves benefits, a party must comply no later than the 

fifth day after filing a written request for appeal. 

9. New Hampshire violated TEX. LAB. CODE §§ 415.002(a)(20), 415.002(a)(22), 

415.0035(e), and 415.021 when it failed to timely comply with a DWC order for 

benefits. 
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Order 

It is ordered that New Hampshire Insurance Company must pay an administrative 

penalty of $3,500 within 30 days from the date of this order. New Hampshire Insurance 

Company must pay the administrative penalty by company check, cashier’s check or 

money order and make it payable to the “State of Texas.” Mail the administrative 

penalty to the Texas Department of Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement Section, MC AO-

9999, P.O. Box 12030, Austin, Texas 78711-2030. 

Cassie Brown 

Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation 

Approved Form and Content: 

Tyrus Housh 

Staff Attorney, Enforcement 

Compliance and Investigations 

Division of Workers’ Compensation 
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Affidavit 

STATE  OF _____________Connecticut ____  § 
§ 

COUNTY  OF __________Hartford ____ § 

Before  me,  the  undersigned  authority,  personally  appeared  ______________________________,  
who  being  by  me  duly  sworn,  deposed  as  follows: 

“My  name  is  ___Peter _____Macdonald __________________________.  I am of  sound  mind,  capable  of  making  this  
statement,  and  have  personal knowledge  of  these  facts  which  are  true  and  correct. 

I hold  the  office  of  ____Vice ___President ________________________ and  am the  authorized  representative  of  
New  Hampshire  Insurance  Company.  I  am duly  authorized  by  the  organization  to  execute  
this  statement. 

New  Hampshire  Insurance  Company  has  knowingly  and  voluntarily  entered  into  this 
consent  order  and  agrees  with  and  consents  to  the  issuance  and  service  of  this  consent  
order.” 

___________________________________ 
Affiant 

SWORN  TO  AND SUBSCRIBED  before  me  on  ________________________,  2021.  

(NOTARY  SEAL) 

__________________________________________ 
Signature  of  Notary  Public 

__________________________________________ 
Printed  Name  of  Notary  Public 

__________________________________________ 
Commission Expiration 
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