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of the
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DateGER 9.6 2049

Subject Considered:

THE INSURANCE COMPANY OF THE STATE OF PENNSYLVANIA
175 Water Street, Floor 18
New York, New York 10038-4976

CONSENT ORDER
TDI ENFORCEMENT FILE NO. 16289

General remarks and official action taken:

The commissioner of workers’ compensation (commissioner) considers whether disciplinary

action should be taken against The Insurance Company of the State of Pennsylvania (Pennsylvania
Insurance).

WAIVER

Pennsylvania Insurance acknowledges that the Texas Labor Code and other applicable laws
provide certain rights. Pennsylvania Insurance waives all of these rights and any other applicable
procedural rights in consideration of the entry of this consent order.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The commissioner makes the following findings of fact:

1. Pennsylvania Insurance holds a certificate of authority issued by the Texas Department of
Insurance to transact the business of insurance pursuant to TEX. INS. CODE §§ 801.051-
801.053, and is licensed to write multiple lines of insurance, including workers’
compensation/employers’ liability insurance in Texas.

2 Pennsylvania Insurance was classified as “average” tier in the 2007, 2009, 2010, 2014,
2016, and 2018 Performance Based Oversight (PBO) assessments. It was classified as
“high” tier in the 2012 PBO assessment.
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FAILURE TO TAKE FINAL ACTION ON A REQUEST FOR RECONSIDERATION

10.

11.

13.

on N B Pennsylvania Insurance received a complete request for
reconsideration of a medical bill from a health care provider for the dates of service [}

- oz

Pennsylvania Insurance was required to take action regarding payment or denial of the
reconsideration request no later than the 30th day after receipt of the request, which in this
case was on

Pennsylvania Insurance took action and issued payment to the health care provider on [}

B v hich was 42 days late.

FAILURE TO TIMELY PAY OR DISPUTE ON A MEDICAL BILL

Case 1

Pennsylvania Insurance received a complete medical bill for $ on for
medical services provided by the health care provider (HCP) on
Pennsylvania Insurance was required to take action on the medical bill within 45 days of

receipt,or by (RN

Pennsylvania Insurance issued payment to the HCP on [} |} ] JJEEIER vhich was 119
days late.

Case 2

Pennsylvania Insurance received a complete medical bill for $ on NG
IR for medical services provided by the HCP on

Pennsylvania Insurance was required to take action on the medical bill within 45 days of

receipt, o by [

Pennsylvania Insurance issued payment to the HCP on |||} R vhich was 28
days late.

ASSESSMENT OF SANCTION

Prompt payment of medical bills is imperative to the Texas Department of Insurance,
Division of Workers’ Compensation’s (DWC) goal of ensuring that injured employees
have access to prompt, high-quality medical care.

In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC appropriately and fully considered the
following factors set forth in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TeX. ADMIN. CODE §
180.26(e):
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14.

13

17.

e the seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, consequences,
extent, and gravity of the prohibited act;

the history and extent of previous administrative violations;
the demonstrated good faith of the violator, including actions taken to rectify the
consequences of the prohibited act;
the penalty necessary to deter future violations;
e whether the administrative violation has negative impact on the delivery of benefits to
an injured employee;
the history of compliance with electronic data interchange requirements;
other matters that justice may require, including but not limited to:
PBO assessments;
the promptness and earnestness of actions to prevent future violations;
self-report of the violation;
the size of the company or practice;
the effect of a sanction on the availability of health care; and
evidence of heightened awareness of the legal duty to comply with the Texas
Workers’ Compensation Act and DWC rules; and
* to the extent reasonable, the economic benefit resulting from the prohibited act.

000000

In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC found the following factors set forth in TEX.
LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(¢) to be aggravating: the
seriousness of the violation, including the nature, circumstances, consequences, extent, and

gravity of the prohibited act; and the history and extent of previous administrative
violations.

In assessing the sanction for this case, DWC found the following factors set forth in TEX.
LaB. CoDE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e) to be mitigating: the
demonstrated good faith of the violator, including actions taken to rectify the consequences
of the prohibited act; the penalty necessary to deter future violations; and other matters that
justice may require, including an overpayment to the HCP that was not recouped.

Pennsylvania Insurance acknowledges that DWC and Pennsylvania Insurance have
communicated regarding the relevant statutes and rules violated; the facts establishing that
the administrative violation occurred; and the appropriateness of the proposed sanction,

including how DWC considered the factors under TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28
TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e).

Pennsylvania Insurance acknowledges that, in assessing the sanction, DWC considered the
factors set forth in TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021(c) and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(e).

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

The commissioner of workers’ compensation makes the following conclusions of law:

1.

The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE §§

402.001, 402.00111, 402.00114, 402.00116, 402.00128, 414.002, 414.003, 415.002, and
415.021.
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The commissioner of workers’ compensation has authority to informally dispose of this
matter as set forth under TEX. Gov't CopgE § 2001.056, TEX. LAB. CODE §
402.00128(b)(7), and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 180.26(h).

Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.021, the commissioner of workers’ compensation may
assess an administrative penalty against a person who commits an administrative violation.

Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(20) and (22), an insurance carrier or its
representative commits an administrative violation each time it violates a commissioner’s
rule or fails to comply with a provision of the Texas Workers’ Compensation Act.

Pursuant to 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 133.250, an insurance carrier is required to take final
action on a complete request for reconsideration of the insurance carrier’s action on a
medical bill within 30 days of receipt of the request for reconsideration. The insurance
carrier shall provide an explanation of benefits for all items included in a reconsideration
request in the form and format prescribed by DWC.

Pennsylvania Insurance violated TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(a)(20) each time it failed to
timely take final action on a request for reconsideration of a medical bill action within 30
days of receipt.

Pursuant to TEX. LAB. CODE § 408.027 and 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 133.240, insurance
carriers are required to take final action on a complete medical bill not later than the 45th
day after the date of receipt by the insurance carrier of the medical bill.

Pennsylvania Insurance violated TEX. LAB. CODE § 415.002(20) and (22) each time it failed
to take final action on a complete medical bill.
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ORDER

The Insurance Company of the State of Pennsylvania is ORDERED to pay an administrative
penalty of $9,000 within 30 days from the date of this consent order.

The administrative penalty must be paid by company check, cashier’s check, or money order made
payable to the “State of Texas.” Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas Department of
Insurance, Attn: DWC Enforcement, MC 9999, P.O. Box 149104, Austin, Texas, 78714-9104,

Amouww—

Cassie Brown p/¢ 7/
Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation

Approved as to Form and Content:

Staff Attorney, DWC Enforcement
Texas Department of Insurance
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AFFIDAVIT

STATE OF New York

§
§
COUNTY OF New York §

Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared the affiant, who being by me duly
sworn, deposed as follows:

“My name is _Peter Macdonald . I am of sound mind, capable of making this
statement, and have personal knowledge of these facts which are true and correct.

1 hold the office of _ Vice President , and am the authorized representative of The
Insurance Company of the State of Pennsylvania. 1 am duly authorized by said organization to
execute this statement.

The Insurance Company of the State of Pennsylvania waives rights provided by the Texas Labor
Code and other applicable laws, and acknowledges the jurisdiction of the Texas commissioner of
workers’ compensation.

The Insurance Company of the State of Pennsylvania is voluntarily entering into this consent order.
The Insurance Company of the State of Pennsylvania consents to the issuance and service of this
consent order.”

(2 tlanele)

Affiant

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me on &]59’& 15 ,2019.

(NOTARY SEAL) %W{ )

Signature of N&taryﬂublic
e e ot Now Yok ; @
P e vinososios ChasiphaS” KoehS
Comemiselon mmm Printed Name of Notary Public

ﬂ/]q,@éf}( 10VL |

My Commission Expires:
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