
 
 
To:  Texas Workers’ Compensation System Participants  
 
From: Cassie Brown, Commissioner of Workers’ Compensation  
 
Date: March 27, 2020 
 
RE:  COVID-19: Division of Workers’ Compensation Operations - Update 
 
The Division of Workers’ Compensation (DWC) continues to monitor the latest 
developments on COVID-19 and the recommended social distancing measures as we 
consider the potential impact it may have on the delivery of benefits in the Texas workers’ 
compensation system. 
 
Today, we are announcing these additional steps regarding operations: 
 
Filing fees and payments   
If a DWC filing requires a payment by check, such as DWC Form-155, Request for Record 
Check or DWC Form-156, Prospective Employment Authorization and Certification, you 
may submit it without payment.  
 
Signatures and sworn statements, affidavits, and notarization 
You may submit filings and consent orders with electronic signatures and without sworn 
statements, affidavits, or notarization until further notice. This includes:  

• DWC Form-153, Request for Copies of Confidential Claimant Information;  
• DWC Form-155, Request for Record Check; and  
• DWC Form-156, Prospective Employment Authorization and Certification.  

 
In addition, until further notice, DWC will also accept these forms by fax, without the need 
to mail the original form. Fax these forms to 512-804-4146. 
 
As a reminder, there are criminal penalties for filing false information on a government 
document. Under Business and Commerce Code Section 322.009, an electronic record or 
signature is attributable to the named person. 
 
 
 

https://gcc01.safelinks.protection.outlook.com/?url=https%3A%2F%2Fstatutes.capitol.texas.gov%2FDocs%2FBC%2Fhtm%2FBC.322.htm%23322.009&data=02%7C01%7CJoseph.McElrath%40tdi.texas.gov%7Cc0e9219697144ad095eb08d7d19b22ed%7C6c600c887a50421a9817a970a01aed2a%7C0%7C0%7C637208336548099610&sdata=uomdT17MZnV8wf1gduB8OJohh1BARqTvRu8i2fIeJoY%3D&reserved=0
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Austin representative boxes 
Effective Wednesday, April 1, 2020, DWC will initiate electronic carrier representative 
boxes. As a result, DWC will no longer accept hand-delivered documents from carriers 
at the Metro service window. In addition, DWC will no longer give a paper date-stamped 
receipt copy of its documents. These changes will be in effect until further notice. 
 
DWC will provide documents normally placed in the carrier boxes through a secure file 
transfer protocol (SFTP) box. The Austin representative will be able to get documents 
from DWC and give all documents to DWC for the insurance carriers they represent 
through this process. Austin representatives can get a date-stamped receipt copy of their 
documents through the SFTP box, or they can use DWC’s fax-back receipt service.  
 
Signing for documents 
DWC currently requires insurance carrier Austin representatives, or their authorized 
couriers, to sign for receipt of contested case hearing decision and orders and Appeals 
Panel decisions. As of today, DWC will no longer require a signature for these orders.  
 
DWC also requires insurance carrier Austin representatives, or their authorized couriers, 
to sign for receipt of medical fee disputes, medical fee dispute decision and orders, and 
approved or denied DWC Form-064, Medical Interlocutory Order Requests. As of today, 
DWC will no longer require a signature for these items.  
 
SFTP and fax-back receipts 
Sometimes, faxes over 40 pages long can be interrupted. You should break your fax into 
sections and place a cover page on each section. Identify the claim number and which 
section you are faxing (for example, Section 1 of 4, Section 2 of 4, and so on). 
 
For more information about SFTP or fax-back receipts, contact Theol Jackman at 512-804-
4308 or theol.jackman@tdi.texas.gov. 
 
New claims reporting codes for COVID-19 
DWC encourages workers’ compensation insurance carriers to begin using the new 
International Association of Industrial Accident Boards and Commissions codes for 
electronic data interchange (EDI) claims reports: “cause of injury” code 83 – Pandemic and 
“nature of injury” code 83 – COVID-19 on April 1, 2020. 
 
The codes should be used for COVID-19 injuries occurring on or after December 1, 2019. 
DWC has updated its claims EDI collection systems to accept these new code values. 

mailto:theol.jackman@tdi.texas.gov
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Insurance carriers should contact their trading partners to discuss reporting these new 
codes. For questions, contact Martha Luevano at 512-804-4858 or  
martha.luevano@tdi.texas.gov. 
 
We are all working in a continually changing environment. We will provide frequent 
updates with new information when necessary. 
 
Please refer to the DWC COVID-19 resource page, sign up for our GovDelivery email 
service, and follow us on social media for periodic updates. 
 
 

mailto:martha.luevano@tdi.texas.gov
https://www.tdi.texas.gov/wc/information/coronavirus.html
https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXINSUR/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXINSUR_31
https://public.govdelivery.com/accounts/TXINSUR/subscriber/new?topic_id=TXINSUR_31
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