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Official Order 
of the 

Texas Commissioner of Insurance 

Date:  10/13/2020

Esurance Insurance Company 
650 Davis Street 

San Francisco, California 94111 

Consent Order 
TDI Enforcement File No. 21467 

General remarks and official action taken: 

The subject of this order is whether disciplinary action should be taken against Esurance 
Insurance Company (Esurance).  Esurance improperly used an applicant’s lack of prior 
insurance to determine personal automobile rates and self-reported a rating error 
related to a premium discount.  Esurance has agreed to pay restitution to the affected 
policyholders and a $200,000 administrative penalty.   

Waiver 

Esurance acknowledges that the Texas Insurance Code and other applicable law 
provide certain rights.  Esurance waives all of these rights, and any other applicable 
procedural rights, in consideration of the entry of this consent order.   

Findings of Fact 

1. Esurance is a foreign casualty insurance company that holds a certificate of
authority to transact business in Texas.
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Rating Error – Lack of Prior Insurance 
 
2. Pursuant to subsection (b) of 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 5.401, insurers may not use 

an applicant's lack of prior insurance in determining the appropriate rate for 
private passenger automobile liability insurance where such applicant has not 
been operating an uninsured motor vehicle in the state for more than 30 days 
during the 12 months immediately preceding the date of the application. 
 

3. Since at least 2015, Esurance’s personal automobile rate filings had Pre-Credit 
Tier placement factors that considered a policyholder’s prior insurance, 
including any lapse in insurance.  Assignment in the Pre-Credit Tier affected the 
final premium a policyholder paid.   
 

4. Additionally, Esurance’s Insurance History Score utilized two variables (Prior 
Insurance Lapse and Prior Insurance Length) that caused a rate consequence for 
lack of prior insurance of not more than 30 days. 
 

5. After objection from department staff in the fall of 2019, Esurance made a new 
rate filing that removed consideration of a policyholder’s lack of prior insurance 
in Pre-Credit Tier placement factors the Insurance History Score.  Esurance is 
implementing new programming to distinguish applicants whose lapse is 
associated with no unlawful vehicle operation.  That programming will be 
completed by February 28, 2021.  
 

6. Esurance estimates that the rating error has affected approximately 12,500 
policyholders with a premium impact of approximately $1.9 million. 
 

Implementation Error – Online Shopper Discount 
 
7. In May 2020, Esurance self-reported to TDI that it failed to implement a rule 

change made in its August 2018 rate filing due to a system error.  Specifically, 
Esurance failed to apply the online shopper discount to qualifying policyholders 
on a continuing basis after the first term.  The system error caused the discount 
to cease following the first policy term.   
 

8. The error occurred from August 15, 2018, through May 2019, when Esurance 
discovered and corrected the error.   
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9. Esurance identified 8,238 impacted policies and has already paid restitution to
the affected policyholders, with interest in the amount of 5 percent per annum.

Conclusions of Law 

1. The commissioner has jurisdiction over this matter pursuant to TEX. INS. CODE
§§ 82.051 – 82.055, 84.021– 84.044, and 801.052–801.053.

2. The commissioner has the authority to informally dispose of this matter as set
forth in TEX. GOV’T CODE § 2001.056; TEX. INS. CODE §§ 36.104 and 82.055; and 28
TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 1.47.

3. Esurance has knowingly and voluntarily waived all procedural rights to which it
may have been entitled regarding the entry of this order, including, but not
limited to, issuance and service of notice of intention to institute disciplinary
action, notice of hearing, a public hearing, a proposal for decision, rehearing by
the commissioner, and judicial review.

4. Esurance violated 28 TEX. ADMIN. CODE § 5.401 by assigning a rate consequence
to an applicant’s lack of prior insurance of not more than 30 days.

5. Pursuant to TEX. INS. CODE § 82.053, the commissioner is authorized to direct
Esurance to make complete restitution to each policyholder impacted by the
violations.

Order 

Esurance is ordered to comply with the following: 

a. Esurance must identify all personal automobile insurance policies issued
in Texas with effective dates from January 1, 2015, through February 28,
2021 (the “Review Period”).

b. For each policy in the Review Period, Esurance must use all available
information to identify any policy that was illegally surcharged as
discussed above.  The illegal surcharge is the Overcharge.

c. Esurance must pay restitution in the form of a company check or account
credit to each policyholder identified in the Review Period as having an
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Overcharge (the “Qualifying Policyholders”).  The restitution check and/or 
account credit must include both the dollar amount of the overcharge, 
plus simple interest due on the overcharge.  The rate of interest is 5 
percent per annum. 

d. Esurance must mail the restitution checks and/or issue the account
credits to the Qualifying Policyholders on or before April 15, 2021.

e. Any restitution checks that are returned to Esurance with an address
correction must be promptly resent to the correct address.  Funds from
any restitution checks that are returned thereafter for incorrect addresses
and from checks that are not negotiated must be reported and delivered
to the comptroller pursuant to the procedures and deadlines set forth in
TEX. PROP. CODE §§ 72.001 et. seq., 73.001 et. seq., and 74.001 et. seq.
Esurance must copy the department on any correspondence pertaining
to presumed abandoned funds that is sent to the comptroller.

f. On or before July 15, 2021, Esurance must report the restitution paid to
the Qualifying Policyholders by submitting a complete and sortable
electronic spreadsheet to the department.  The spreadsheet must contain
the following information:

i. policy number;
ii. policyholder name;
iii. policyholder address;
iv. effective date of the policy;
v. expiration date of the policy;
vi. amount of Overcharge;
vii. dollar amount of simple interest;
viii. amount of Overcharge and interest;
ix. date(s) of mailing of restitution check or credits;
x. the total sum of all Overcharges;
xi. the total sum of all simple interest; and,
xii. the total sum of all restitution paid (total Overcharges plus the

total of the simple interest).

g. Esurance must send all submissions required under the terms of this
order by email to:  EnforcementReports@tdi.texas.gov.
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Esurance is further ordered to make the restitution as agreed in Finding of Fact No. 9. 
On or before December 1, 2020, Esurance must report the restitution paid as agreed in 
Finding of Fact No. 9 by submitting a complete and sortable electronic spreadsheet to 
the department.  The spreadsheet must contain the following information: 

i. policy number;
ii. policyholder name;
iii. policyholder address;
iv. effective date of the policy;
v. expiration date of the policy;
vi. amount of Overcharge;
vii. dollar amount of simple interest;
viii. amount of Overcharge and interest;
ix. date(s) of mailing of restitution check or credits;
x. the total sum of all Overcharges;
xi. the total sum of all simple interest; and,
xii. the total sum of all restitution paid (total Overcharges plus the

total of the simple interest).

Esurance is further ordered to pay an administrative penalty of $200,000.  The 
administrative penalty must be paid within 30 days from the date of this order.  The 
administrative penalty must be paid by cashier’s check or money order made payable 
to the “State of Texas.”  Mail the administrative penalty to the Texas Department of 
Insurance, Attn: Enforcement Section, Division 60851, MC 9999, P.O. Box 149104, 
Austin, Texas 78714-9104.  

Commissioner of Insurance 

By:  _______________________________ 
Doug Slape 
Chief Deputy Commissioner 
TEX. GOV’T CODE § 601.002 
Commissioner's Order No. 2018-5528 
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Recommended and reviewed by:

__________________________________________ 
Leah Gillum, Deputy Commissioner 
Enforcement Division 

__________________________________________ 
Mandy R. Meesey, Associate Commissioner 
Enforcement Division 

__________________________
d
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Affidavit 

STATE OF _____________ § 
§ 

COUNTY OF ___________ § 

“My name is .  I am of sound mind, capable of making this 
statement, and have personal knowledge of these facts which are true and correct. 

I hold the office of , and am the authorized representative of Esurance 
Insurance Company.  I am duly authorized by said organization to execute this 
statement. 

Esurance Insurance Company has knowingly and voluntarily entered into the 
foregoing consent order and agree with and consent to the issuance and service of 
the same by the commissioner of insurance of the state of Texas.” 

___________________________________ ___________________________________ 
Affiant  Date 
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