
1 
The information contained in this document is general in nature. It is important to do your own research and analysis to ensure compliance with the Texas 
Workers’ Compensation Act and Texas Administrative Code rules. 

Avoiding Common Mistakes in Calculating Death Benefits 

Common Mistake How to Avoid the Mistake 

Basing the average weekly wage (AWW) on an incomplete Employer’s 
Wage Statement (DWC Form-003) 

DWC Form-003 is incomplete if the nonpecuniary wage information, 
Part 2, is left blank.  Either ”Yes” or” No” must be checked to state 
whether nonpecuniary benefits were provided. 

DWC Form-003 must state whether the employer will continue to pay 
nonpecuniary wages. Unless the insurance carrier verifies that the 
employer is continuing to pay them, the insurance carrier must assume 
that nonpecuniary wages are not continued. 

Basing the AWW on an incorrect DWC Form-003 
 
 
 
 
 

Do not include wages after the date of injury in the pay period, and 
gross wages amounts on DWC Form-003. 

Do not include the pay period when the employee was new and had 
not begun employment at the beginning of the pay period on DWC- 
Form-003. 

 Failing to adjust AWW to include nonpecuniary wages that were 
initially continued after the injury but discontinued after death 

Adjust the AWW to include nonpecuniary wages 
If:  

• DWC Form-003 is dated before the employee’s death; 
• DWC Form-003 indicates that nonpecuniary wages were 

continued after the injury; and  
• the initial AWW calculation did not include non-pecuniary wages. 

 

Using an incorrect calculation method when the injured employee was 
not employed for 13 weeks prior to the injury 

Initially, the insurance carrier may presume that the AWW is equal to 
the amount of the wages paid divided by the number of weeks for which 
the wages were earned. The insurance carrier then must get a complete 
DWC Form-003 using wages paid to a similar employee who performs 
similar services to determine the AWW accurately and adjust the benefit 
amount. 
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Common Mistake How to Avoid the Mistake 

Using the employee’s last paycheck to estimate the AWW but failing to 
get the DWC Form-003 to determine the AWW accurately and adjust the 
benefit amount 

If there is no information available about the employee’s hourly rate 
and standard work week then to expedite benefits, it is ok to use the 
employee’s last paycheck to estimate the AWW.  However, the insurance 
carrier must then get the DWC Form-003 to determine the AWW 
accurately and adjust the benefit amount. 

Failing to pay death benefits weekly without filing an Application for 
Division Approval of Change in Payment Period and/or Purchase of an 
Annuity for Death Benefits (DWC Form-031) 

To change the frequency of death benefits from weekly to monthly, 
the insurance carrier must file DWC Form-031 with DWC and get DWC’s 
approval. 

Calculating the monthly death benefit rate incorrectly Calculate the monthly death benefit rate by multiplying the weekly 
death benefit rate by 4.34821. 

Stopping payment early to a spouse after remarriage A remarried spouse is entitled to a lump-sum payment of 104 weeks of 
death benefits, unless the remarried spouse is a widow or widower of a 
first responder. After 104 weeks, distribute the benefit amount equally 
between the remaining eligible beneficiaries. 

Paying death benefits based on an incorrect percentage of the AWW Subject to the Maximum Weekly Benefit, the amount of a death 
benefit is equal to 75% of the employee’s AWW. 
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Common Mistake How to Avoid the Mistake 

Failing to make a payment to the Subsequent Injury Fund (SIF) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

An insurance carrier must pay the SIF if a compensable death occurs 
and there are no eligible beneficiaries.  

An insurance carrier must also pay the SIF if they’ve paid death 
benefits to all legal beneficiaries and all legal beneficiaries cease to be 
eligible for death benefits before the insurance carrier pays 364 weeks of 
benefits.  

• Nondependent parents are paid 104 weeks of benefits. The 
insurance carrier must pay the remaining 260 weeks of benefits to 
the SIF. 

• If a widow dies before getting 364 weeks of benefits and there are 
no other eligible beneficiaries, the insurance carrier must pay the 
SIF the remaining benefits up to 364 weeks. 
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